Re: Greg Chappel vs Bob Woolmer : The coming showdown
bhut zada phuthtee hay afridi say kya:D
I see. The hindians still haven't gotten over what he did to them in the 5th ODI.
i love pak-india wars(even in forums)!. btw this started out as woolmer vs chappel!
indian team will be killed byt pakistanis...
i think indian team has the most idiotic bowling attack...and pak must win this series....indian players r nothing but media created "heros of super flops"
Yes thats why "the Prince" is still in the team. Indo-Pak games can make you a hero and these games can end one's career as well. Ganguly's position and leadership was questioned (very seriously) when he failed to perform against Pak last year. No, struggling to find his form, he is supposed to face in-form Shoaib and Rana.
But besides this "royal" issue, India and Pakistan are both quality sides and this series will be as interesting as any other series in the past. It will place two of history's most accomplished players, Inzy and Tendulkar against each other. While Yousuf and Dravid can show their class. Pak may have better bowling options but then India has (relatively) better batting options.
And as the title of this thread suggests, both teams are trained by seasoned personnel, who love to experiment and put their best to win games.
Its going to be a killer series.
awwww… you said it but you dont mean it, hain na?
No doubt that most of the players selected in the team are safarashi tattu, but still they are not that bad players..Off course peeps like Sachin, ganguly and laxman should ponder about their roles in the team…Indian team can loose as much as they want, but the next time they win anything, the media and public is gonna ga ga over them..heck, we haven’t won anything substantial since 83 world cup, but still public supports them…it’s the whole system and loosing to pakistani team wouldn’t make a difference..what happened last year, jeez, we lost the series in our own backyard…
so to wrap it up, Indian team ain’t gonna loose that badly…It would be no doubt one of the most hard fought series in the recent times…whatever happened in the past ain’t gonna matter…
Jindi
^I am always amazed by the amount of "bhaao" we Indians give to our Cricket team. Open any Indian news website for example - and at least one of the top news items will almost always have something to do with Indian Cricket.....no matter how inconsequential. At one time I noted that India's one-day match against Zimbabwe (yes, Zimbabwe !) got higher priority in Hindustan Times than 30 CRPF Personnels killed by Naxals in Madhya Pradesh.
One would think, we are world beaters in Cricket (like Brazil in Soccer) but the fact is - the Indian cricket team is a very mediocre team with only a couple of gifted individuals (and even they do not peform consistently). Any team that has Agarkar as the "key" fast bowler cannot be anything but mediocre. How many one day tournaments have we won in recent years or even before ?
Occasionally...we will have a team come over to India to play some matches on under-prepared pitches where our spinners (led by Kumble) will wreck havoc and the media will go gaga with "Team India" and "Men in Blue" crap.
I know the above would be music to the ears of my Pak friends here....but wtf, I am just stating facts.
Some 1 bhai, believe me but we know that they are all facts and its not something that we don’t know. Most of us actually agree what you said in your second last paragraph about TEAM INDIA and MEN IN BLUE. And that is what we make fun of. Due to that some of the indian fans state that we have problem when Indian team performs well.
Believe me if the Indian team is presented properly and gracefully in front of the world, just like any other team, than no one will have no issues or problems with that.
Having said that obviously when we play against each other than it doesn’t matter which team is mediocre. You can’t do anything about the media hype and attention which both teams get during Pak/India series.
My take on this.-
Its granted Indian media over hypes the team India thing. Actually everybody knows that. But we want to be entertained. What is the use of having only depressing news on tv and news papers. We need something positive in life. India is not a homogeneous country where one language, one culture, one religion binds the people. It’s a conglomeration of states which pull each other in different ways. Only some things binds them to be Indian in true sense, when one goes to a foreign country, one joins different wings of Indian Army, and one cheers for the Indian cricket team. For a website or for a Newspaper what sells best are news items which reach a wider audience. Naxal attack in Andhra, MP and Jharkhand are known problem, like wise the killing of innocents in Kashmir and Assam. A bomb that goes off in Assam or in Kashmir is met with some indifference from general public. Because the frequency of such news item make people indifferent. (well I can give you the example of Iraq here).Unless a major catastrophe strikes people becomes indifferent to such news items.
Cricket is played all over India. Anything related to cricket is a news value. If there is 125 days of Indian cricket, and in those only 40% is India’s winning percentage , still then the team has done a decent job. It has brought smile to billion or more people in those 50 days. In 1983 Indians were completely written off and still won the worldcup. In the last world cup India was not one of the best team but could manage a second position. So there is hope that Indian team could manage to play like a unit and come through. Whatever the ratio of winning to loosing against Pakistan, Indians hope that will not count just like the last tour to Pakistan. And again what is wrong in hoping. If India did not win , we will just say that we will see them when they come to India. That’s what the newspapers do that’s what the tv stations do give us hope.
Then coming to the selectors- Its indeed bad that we have a zonal representation. I think there should be a proper way to search talent in this country. Every village child has a dream to make it to the team. Though there are clubs in district level or even village level nobody really gets though all this hierarchical system. I think its still the feudal set up that is causing such a problem. But having said that, selectors managed to find likes of Sachin or a Dravid once in a while,but both come from big cities like Bombay and Banglore. But still we see some kind of transperancy when we have Irfan , Kaif or Dhoni or sehwag in the team.At lease these people may not have a proper shifarish to get in the good books of the selectors and are taken based only on merit.
Then mediocre team, which team is superlative in this world. Australians went down to England. England was defeated by the Pakistanies. So does that mean that Pakistan team is the best team. On a given day any team could be world beaters. England showed that and now Pakistan.
Why cant we hope then that Indian team could do that against pakistan.
Some1 bhai.. have a positive outlook and dont tell me you dont want India to win..:)
Vineshvk Bhai,
I dont think me or anyone else could have said it any better, Bhool Jao Some1 Bhai ko, He was in the same class as Agarkar, and had the crap beaten out of him by Agarkar, hence the enimity:D
Waise hats off to your line of thoughts, consistency in presentation, eloquent pen man ship, and saying what I wanted to say all along:p
Aejaz
^ thanks bhai sab.. hopefully i can make Some1 bhai hope that India could win some matches in Pakistan with or without Agarkar.
(1) I did not say that India has to win every match to justify the craze for the game in the country. I had a team like Australia in mind - thoroughly professional outfit and a team that has won the WC 4 times (but "professionalism" is the operative word). Here we have a politicized board making complete fools of cricket-loving public.....and making mountains of mullah out of public adulation for the players....the lack of team's performance notwithstanding.
(2) Sorry...but I don't agree with the theory that depressing news should be blacked out . This is the same theory that launched a thousand Govinda movies (who wants to see depressing movies anyways). So are you saying that the news of soldiers dying in Kashmir/North-East/etc be buried under the news of Dhoni drinking 20 litres of buffalo milk or marital problems of Karisma Kapoor. Media delivers what people want...that is correct...but unfortunately this also tells us where our priorities are as a nation. No wonder then...Ganguly's selection was considered worthy of parliamentary discussion. Not so Satyendra Dubey's murder.
Obviously, we are digressing from the subject of this thread...so I will stop right here.
If Agarkar can learn to flip his ears back and forth, especially during his run up, that could become a major distraction for the pakistani batsmen. You might think i'm joking but i believe baat may dum haiy.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
^ok i give up..i cant convince some1 to support india..:(
Whatever you said is true.But thats not the way India works. A thorough professional side is distant dream. But you have to see that in the light of life in India. Things are not that organized.Even the thought about a foreign coach was looked down when it first came up. Now half of the team is foreign.Atleast now we could say that the team is managed professionally.
Varnacular press does a decent job in every state to highlight the need of the people and also such brutalities. I dont know much about north India.. but i can fairly confidently say that in south Indian states do give importance to such genuine news, more than cricket or bollywood gossips. The hindu, the new indian express are some news paper which i think is readable for english news.. I only look for cricketing news in other news papers.:)
I agree with what you said vineshvk. Currently international cricket has become highly competive, as you said on a given day any team can be world beaters. But not all of them start calling their team MEN IN YELLOW, OR MEN IN GREEN. Don’t get me wrong here. There is nothing wrong in having such names. But only funny part is that these names vanish during most of the season when they are not performing well and than occasionally appear when they win. Either they should be not there at all or if they are there, then it should be consistent. Otherwise it proves that during the lean period even media and people believes that their team is not performing as a unit, thats why there is no TEAM INDIA OR MEN IN BLUE CHANT.
I think some people are a bit too hung up on this “team india” or “men in blue” thing.Firstly these slogans are created by large MN companies especially cola companies who have invested millions in sponsorships and they have to create hysteria and slogans like these to get their money’s worth. As has been mentioned, money involved with Indian cricket is huge so these things are expected.
Also it is natural that a victory is celebrated vocally and all these superlatives are used more frequently and people tend to go over the top.As they say success has many fathers but failure is an orphan.but that happens everywhere(including pakistan). people will read 10 articles or news items when there team has won and only 1 when they have lost. So take the chill pill bhaiyo.