Green Tea

Green tea helps in burn fat and boosts metabolism,
The recent study reported that
3 – 5 cups of green tea per day can help you burn more than 70 calories per day,
which amounts to 7 pounds per year…

Re: Green Tea

hmmmm so if someone drinks like 15-25 cups a day that would be 35 lbs a year.

^ Hmm anything in excess is bad for you obviously. I drink about 3 or 4 cups of green tea everyday and can vouch for the fact that I have lost weight, even though I did not want to...

I agree, anything in excess is not good
so what is considered excess green tea? :)

it's true but it has to be the warm green tea and not the cold drink that you get with lipton. I noticed that i tended to lose weight when i did drink the hot/warm green tea and the opposite happened when i drank the cold bottled version of it........weird but true

yeah, its all the sugar in the bottled green teas..
don't think it has anything to do with temperature

Just like black tea, green tea also contains caffeine. It has lower levels of it but still I would not have more than 4 cups per day. That is because I find it does suppress your appetite a little.

Those cold green tea flavoured granules are pretty much useless IMO!

i was drinking the diet one with zero sugar though

If you make green tea at home, what's the best brand to buy?

^ I'd have to say "Saleem Caravan"... You can get it from any Iranian/Afghani store. Also, the Japanese green tea is pretty good.

Depends where you live. Here in the UK I drink Tetley's Green tea with lemon. In Pakistan I like Tapal's Green tea with Elaichi.

Cheltenham Boot Camp

Aside from the fresh vs bottled bit, there should be no difference then. Btw non sugar sweeteners have negative impact on weight as well, aspartame and like.

I drink the Clippers Green Tea… idk how you guys manage more than 1 cup a day tbh. I just about manage one… its not v pleasant either :bummer:

Inzi, the trick is not to let it brew for more than a minute, otherwise you get a bitter taste. Clippers is quite strong too, so one teabag is enough to make teapot of 4 cups.

X2, I would say there is a huge difference between hot freshly brewed green tea and any other bottled version. Just like there is no comparison between a cup of black tea you make at home and those vile iced teas you get in America! :disgust: ( sorry no offense to you american desis)

cha ka maza to bas desi dhaabaa ishTyle chai meN hii hai...koi aur chai chai nahiiN hotii! :D

I have never understood the desi love of adding loads and loads of milk in their teas! Surely the best way to enjoy the true aroma and taste is to just infuse the tea leaves in hot water. I hate milky tea...

There is a different indeed, but nothing that I have ever read notes that hot green tea makes you lose weight and cold green tea does not. cold bottled tea with sugar, artificial sweeteners, additives and being on shelf for long period and losing nutrients due to that may be the reason but not temperature.

Real iced tea is brewed fresh also and is phenomenal on hot days, with a test of lemon.
btw chinese think little of the sweet black tea with cream, desi and english style and consider it vile :slight_smile:
all cultural you know..

once ppl have done the green tea thing, they should also try white tea and then the grand daddy of all teas puerh tea.

you are missing something 1-der-FULL in life! :smiley: :cb: