GREATS OF PAK-SHOWBIZ (DRAMA)

MOHAMMED QAVI, KHAN

Born 13 Nov-1947 – Peshawar, popular known as QAVI KHAN, he took
his initial education at the capital city of NWFP and appeared in Radio
Pakistan’s programs for children, from the tender age of 10 and
appeared in school and college stage plays regularly.

Qavi is attributed as the first TV artiste of Pakistan TV.
He appeared in lead with Munawwar Taufiq in PTV Lahore’s
first ever play “NAZRANA” which was telecast on 26 Nov-1964 from
**Lahore Centre on its commissioning and **
the dawn of a new era in showbiz in Pakistan.

Soon, Qavi was everywhere. He got his first break in a Lahore movie
“RIWAJ” in 1966.

**His first series on TV was “LAKHON MEIN TEEN (03)” for PTV-Lahore.
Though this was a comedy serial BUT Qavi on the othe hand, became
**more popular for his serious and sober roles and booked a **
permenant place in the minds of producers and directors
for such roles…thus also finally getting out of the clutches
of his playing second fiddle act of buffonery to film heros in
many movies of Lollywood.

His acting exhibited a close reality to the characters he portrayed.
Ashfaq Ahmed and Bano Qudsia are his mentors…

His memorable serials an plays;

• Dukhoun Ki Chaddar (a soldier’s role well enacted)
  • Andhera Ujala (a policemen’s role superbly done)
  • Kashkol,
  • Sahil,
  • Bazuaid
  • Shikayatein-Hikayatein
  • Mehak
  • Chattan Perr Ghonslaa
  • Lalacch Ki Kahani
  • Aik Hasrat-e-Taameer
  • Teesra Raasta (1972..and I am honored to have acted with Qavi in this long play in Jashn-e-Tamseel diected by Yawar Hayat)

Qavi has also produced over a dozen Urdu and Punjabi movies.

***He has received scores of awards for his acting talents ***
including the coveted
President of Pakistan’s PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE gold medal.

Re: GREATS OF PAK-SHOWBIZ (DRAMA)

You should open a Blog arjay..

Frankly...I do not have a fair knowledge of "blogs" etc....though I am penning a book on Pak-Showbiz....re-enacting its activities from 1964 to 2007...and I have completed 275 pages on Ms.Word and I intend to close this book by its 350th page afterwhich the editing and spell checks and then the submission to the Oxford University Press-Pakistan with over 150 B&W and color pics...of those scores of serials, series, long plays and shows..which I have somehow maintained.

Thank you for your thoughts......keep viviting this thread...lots more good names to come with short notes on them........!

Khush Rahein.....

-Raju Jamil (TV Career....29 Nov-1967 from Karachi Centre)

Sir

I would love to read your articles about Shakeel, Qazi Wajid, Jamshed Ansari

Thanks for this beautiful thread, Qavi was (still is) a great artist, I particularly remember one of his plays where he played the son of Munawwar Saeed in Drama84, I think the name was Mirza and Sons, Qavi played HIMSELF :cb:

Thank you…soon to follow!

uncle u r also a great artist of pak showbiz...:)

apnay baray main bhi likhain..thanx in advance.:)

:hmmm: arjay you come in dramas??

What drama?? I havent watched any recent ones, name an older one please

ady
if it was an older drama you offcourse wouldn’t remember
would you :aq:

Im 31, I think i’d remember an older drama :smiley:

Hey I have a fourth star WOW :dhimpak:

pal do pal

AR= R aju
JAY= Jamil…hence ARJAY like TEEJAY!!

Now the plays I remember–per memory;

1. JAHAN BARAFF GIRTI HAI (1967..debut on PTV-Karachi)
  2. TOOFANI DOPAHER (1968)
  3. BINDRA BANDD KI KUNJ GALLE MEIN (1968)
  4. IK TERE AANE SE (1968)
  5. GHORRA GHAAS KHATAA HAI (1968 from Lahore TV Centre)
  6. HIMAQATAIN (1968 from Rawalpindi-Islamabad TV Centre)
  7. KHIRKI (1968) From R’Pindi
  8. KAHANI KI TALASH MEIN (1970 at Lahore TV Centre)
  9. JURM NAHIN PHALLTA (1968 from KTV)
  10. UNCLE URFI (1969 from KTV)
  11. KHUDA KI BASTI (1969 and 1974 from KTV)
  12. ROSHAN MANZIL (1970 from KTV)
  13. RIZWAN HOUSE (1970 from KTV)
  14. GAR TU BURA NA MAANEY (1969-70 from KTV)
  15. DIL-E-MOATABBER KI TALASH MEIN (Long play-1970 from KTV)
  16. MEIN KAUN HOUN AIE HAM NAFASOUN (1969 on GHALIB from KTV)
  17. UDAAS NASLAIN (1971 from Lahore TV)
  18. GHORRA GHAAS KHATAA HAI (repeat recording with Nayyar Kamal, Sikandar Shaheen and Rabia Tabassum..for Election 70 programs from Lahore in Dec-70)
  19. CAR KI MUSEEBATT (1971 from LTV)
  20. RUTT BADAL JAEGI (1972 on CONSTITUTION from LTV)
  21. QILA KAHANI (1972 from LTV)
  22. JHOKE SIYAL (Guest appearance in two early episodes from LTV in 1969-70…I think)
  23. ADAMZAAD (1972 from LTV)
  24. AKHRI CHATTAN (1972, KTV)
  25. Over 150 from 1972 to 1975 when I left for Bahrain on posting.
  26. GURYA (1975 by Shirin Khan at KTV)
  27. UNKAHI (1982 by KTV)
  28. KASAK (1992 by KTV)
  29. SHEENA KI KAHANI (True story of Ayesha Alam by Sultana Siddiqui for Moomal Production for PTV-K. Played Ayesha’s Dad…2001)
  30. PAADASH (1994 by KTV)
  31. AJNABI (1996 by KTV)
  32. JAB JAB DIL MILE (private production at Malaysia, 2002 for PTV)
  33. CHAHATAIN (2002 private production at Malaysia for ARY)
  34. HUM SE JUDA NA HONA (2002 private production for ARY)
  35. SUNN LEYNA (private production, 2003 at Malaysia and Dubai for ARY)
  36. ANA (2004 private production for GEO at Dubai)
  37. RIYASAT (special guest role of 3 episodes…pp at Dubai, 2006)
  38. TERE AAJANE SE (2005 pp at Scotland)
  39. GATTHJORRE (2006..pp yet to be released)
  40. NASEEB (2007 pp at London, Glasgow, Edinburgh and Loch Lammond…yet to be released)
  41. WILCO (2007, Chief Coordinator for ISPR & Humayun Saeed/7th Sky Production with special guest appearance in 3 episodes. This serial was my idea to the then CGS at the GHQ Lt. Gen Shahid Aziz)
  42. Currently preparing for 3 serials to be recorded in ISTANBUL, USA and SWITZERLAND from May-2008 by Humayun Saeed Productions to be directed by Barkat Siddiqui and Kamran Qureshi.
    Of the stage plays;
  • ARMS & THE MEN (1970 aT aDAMJEE aUDITORIUM)
  • LOOK BACK IN ANGER (1971 at the American Centre)
  • ARSENIC AND THE OLD LACE (1976 at British Club, Bahrain)
  • BIRTHDAY PARTY (1977 at the Toastmasters Club, Bahrain)
  • CHARLIE’s AUNT (1982 at British Club, Doha-Qatar)
  • KHALID KI KHALA (Urdu adoption of Charlie’s Aunt, at Sh.Zayed Pakistan Cultural Centre, Abudhabi-1985)
  • KHISCO DEEWANE (at Dubai Arts Forum , Trade Centre Auditorium by FIFTY-FIFTY TEAM from Pakistan, 1989)
  • THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST (2002 at the FTC Auditorium, Directed by my cousin Sohail Malik)
    The list goes on…and does not include many I couldn’t accept due to my assignment at the Bank I work for.

Khush Rahein…

Uncle Urfi was in 1974 - no?

1975.....I remember this because it was right after KHUDA KI BASTI second version of 1974.

But since I am always open to pointers and discussions, I will re-check with Qasim Jalali GM PTV-K and revert.

Khush Rahein....

QAZI ABDUL WAJID ANSARI

A big big name of Radio, Stage & TV.

Born 1942 at Gawalior-India, Qazi’s dad migrated to
Karachi-Pakistan in Sept-1947. He did his matric from
Muslim High School-Jehangir Road…and his craze for
showbiz hurdled when he dithered from College and
got involved in stage an Radio plays regularly…though

his initial appearance on stage was at the age of 10.

**At 18, he was cast in a super-hit movie BEDARI
(which has the superhit song AAO BACHON SEIRR KARAIYEN TUMKO PAKISTAN KI) and thereafter Qazi continued with Radio Pakistan at
its Karachi studios from where he retired some five years vack.

At the age 14, Qazi Wajid started his Radio programs and
the most popular and infectious as ever was his
appearance before a live audience (children) in Sunday’s

program NAUNEHAL where Qazi did his QAZIJEE KA QAIDA
the program which was on every lip andd talk of the town.

Qazi being 11 years elder to me..I am myself a witness
to his QJKQ at Radio Pakistan in one of the Sunday programs
where I participated as a student and recited some poem…like
every participant. Who knew then that one day I will be
a close buddy to Qazi and would act with him in TV plays.

Qazi rembers meeting me due to my Dad…for obvious reasons.

Qazi Wajid’s blockbuster stage appearance as a hair cutter
in Khawaja Moinuddin’s TALEEM E BAIGHAANwas a bomb!

His candid style and reality on adopting the character with
scissors in his hand..all the time…was amazing.

He got his break in TV right fifteen days after Karachi Centre
was commisioned in Amir Imam’s play “AIK RAASTA”..
and his second play on TV was incidently mine too..and
we both appeared in Ishrat Ansari’s adoption of Hijab Imtiaz Ali’s
play “TOOFANI DOPAHER” with Masuma and Santosh Russell.

**Showbiz being his profession…there was no looking back for
QAZI WAJID who became a brand and landmark for every third
play or serial or series at Karachi Centre…and later
becoming a legend for his glorious performance in
KHUDA KI BASTI as “RAJA” which was so close to the reality
of the character that people often addressed him as Raja **
thereafter. He was in both the versions (1969 and 1974).

There came aperiod that QAZI caught the eyes of Lollywood
and did some movies…but he couldn’t come to terms with the
idea of buffonary all the time and called it a day at movies
thus concentrating on TV plays which earned him fame…and later..
fortune including the coveted President of Pakistan’s PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE GOLD MEDAL.

As per Qazi, with whom I have worked in over 50 plays and serials,
his outstanding performance after RAJA of KKB was…as the cunning
husband of (late) Ishrat Hashmi in Bajya’s mega-hit serial;

AFSHAN where Qazi clad in white sherwani with red hankie…
outclassed everyone in that serial…mustering hatred from
the TV viewers–which is infact a PRIZE for the ACTOR doing

the role of mean character!

QAZI WAJID, a happily married man and a Nana also,
is, perhaps, the chirpiest and fondest of the cast members
in every serial or play he is performing because lunch or dinner

break…always pours out tearful jokes and adlibs and wisecracks
from him. If he wasn’t around in my two appearances at
Zulfi Shaikh’s serials in Scotland (2005 and 2007), I would
have..in fact all would have been bored riggid with work only!

His precision and complete command on acting..finds less
instructions from the Directors. He creates mannerism and
always makes something unusual that becomes a natural
part of the serial.

Some of the many many classics of QAZI WAJID on TV;

• KHUDA KI BASTI
  • AFSHAN
  • KIRAN KAHANI
  • ZEIRR ZABBR PEISH
  • UN KAHI
  • TANHAIEYAAN
  • ROOMI
  • RAJU
  • CHANGEZ KHAN
  • OFFICE OFFICE
  • BINDRA BANDD KI KUNJ GALLEE MEIN
  • GHORRA GHAAS KHATAA HAI
  • EK TERE AANAY SE
  • HUM SE JUDA NA HONA
  • MEHENDI
  • SUNN LEYNA
  • TERE AAJANE SE

AND THE STAGE PLAYS;

• MIRZA GHALIB BUNDER ROAD PE
  • LAAL QILLAY SE LALUKHET
  • NIZAM SAQQAH
  • WADI-e-KASHMIR
  • TALEEM E BALIGHA’N
  • KHISCO DEEWANE (At Abudhabi)
  • BAAZIGAR

**ME & QAZI WAJID AT DUNOON ISLAND
SCOTLAND DURING THE SHOOT OF
*TERE AJAANE SE (2005)

Wow so many dramas.

Ive watched Kasak, i'll have to watch it again :)

adro you are 31 but you don't look like tum khati kya ho .....tumhari
fitness level ka secret kya hai boss? share if you like.

I apologize, however Dhoop Kinare cannot and should not be forgotten.

My sincere apologies--that I missed out DHOOP KINARE and besides this pointer or reminder--Qazi himself gave me hell as to WHY I forgot such important serial he was a major support:) plus he also informed that it was GHUTTAN directed by Magsi...which got QAZI the BEST CHARACTER ACTOR AWARD from PTV.

I must commend...for a cogent point raised here....

Khush Rahein.....

you forgot to mention chand grehan

I am sure there'll be more reminders or mention of QAZI's plays/serials...to which I am reminded of a line from my submission on QAZI WAJID;

QUOTE:
Some of the many many classics of QAZI WAJID on TV;
UNQUOTE