GREATS OF PAK-SHOWBIZ (DRAMA)

Re: GREATS OF PAK-SHOWBIZ (DRAMA)

You don't worry about petites like me or likes popping in occasionally. Your contribution is really big and you should continue with the good work.
The easiet thing is to point out mistakes, but we should realize that any good work can be fraught with small slips, which can just be ignored.

BTW i forgot to wish u a happy valentine's.

**Thank you! **

well said. though mehndi cannot be called a classic.

English Thesaurus has many meanings for the word CLASSIC !

It is not restricted to something it is commonly used for...like of age or or certain limited subject.

It also means UNFORGETTABLE !

Now MEHENDI is UNFORGETTABLE....as many mehendi functions are incomplete without Jawad's super-hit "MEHENDI KARATH SINGHARR...."

Khush Rahein....

COMING UP NEXT........

The ICON of PAk-Showbiz (TV).

"UZMA GILLANI"

uncle inke upar bhi likhen : khursheed begum, kishwar of parchiayan(don't know her realy name but she also played ghazala kaifi's mother in 'shama'), shehla ahmed(uncle urfi), and my most favorite shehzad khalil.

to phir dus gaane aur daal detey taake drama aur classy ho jata.
after all drama is all about singing and dancing.it has nothing to do with reality.

Excellent thread, keep 'em coming Raju!

It's about time our great artists be given the awe and hail they so justly deserve.

I am eagerly looking forward to your profile of writer Noor -ul-Huda Shah. In 1985 , as a 12 year old, I rememebr watching her drama "Aasman tuk Deewar" It left quite an impression. Looking back , it was probably the first 'feminist' themed production I ever saw.

Honestly...YOU surprise me!

I mean...why is it.....

Oh let's forget it.....I give up!

Thank you..Hina.

Indeed, Noor is a classy dramatist. She has a certain flair in bringing out the best of the situation without an iota of deviation from the tempo of her plays.

I call her Sultana Siddiqui SPECIAL...and both; Noor and Sultana..as team and as friends are amazing.

Good Lord...you remember ATD !! yes, it was based on female emancipation--kind of a commitment and yearn for women's right and the voice by actions also.

I'll pass your good words to Noor when I meet her next...and we usually bump into each other at Sultana's HUM TV office...

Thanks again........

UZMA GILLANI

Radio and TV artiste,
Short story writer, Dramatist.
Born; 1942.

Uzma started her showbiz career in 1970-71 when
Ashfaq Ahmed spotted her voice at Radio Pakistan
and immediately took his bets on her for his coveted
series QILA KAHANI (Paadaash) by Qamber Ali Shah.

Uzma beautifully enacted the role of a Hindu Kaneez.

Herself a charming and highly attractive lady, Uzma
soon became the darling of viewers and she was
everywhere and all around. All producers
were all the time in look out for Uzma Gillani
for their plays and telefilms.

Her first serial was NASHEMAN in which, much to
the shock of viewers..she enacted an 80 year old
women’s MINOR role…in such a way with reality
that this minor role became the central one…with

huge applause from the viewers.
Followed immediately by that serial was Uzma’s
yet another classical performance of a mad woman
in Yawar Hayat’s play MEETHA ZEHR.

In 1976, Uzma was the pick of Ashfaq Ahmed
for his mega-hit series
“AIK MUHABBAT SAU AFSANAY”
----first of its play “NIRDBAN IRFAN”
where Uzma thrilled the viewers with her glorious
performance as the wife of a potter (Kumhaar)

and rightly won the GRADUATE AWARD for BEST
CHARACTER ARTISTE.

Uzma’s deep love for 1001 nights plays…led
her to act in “ALIF LAILA” where she sang also.

She wrote several short plays for STN TV Network
and concentrated on serious writings which
produced her popular book titled;

“AIN…Aurat - MEEM…Mard”

Uzma Gillani was awarded President of Pakistan’s
PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE GOLD MEDAL

***for her outstanding and par excellence performance
of a destitute women in a long play PANAH ***
at the background of Afghan War..
who’s house gets bombed and she faces immense
discomforts and pains.

So powerful was Uzma’s acting that the then President
of Pakistan Ziaul Haq…ordered that PANAH-II be also made
and was one so..with Uzma again at her best.

Her memorable plays/serials ( I remember of );

• WARIS
  • DEHLEEZ
  • DHOOP JALLEE
  • MEIN PAGAL HOUN
  • PANAH-I & PANAH-II
  • CHAHATAIN

AND MANY MANY MORE PRIVATE PRODUCTIONS.

There came a gap in Uzma Gillani’s showbiz life when
she joined hands with Asif Raza Mir and established
an Advertising Agency in Karachi by the name of BLAZON..

which after a certain successful period on business…
crashed…and left Uzma Gillani in quite a pain and ailment.

Her comeback..essentially started with Humayun Saeed’s
Chahatain and I got to know Uzma more closely
during shoots at Malaysia we did for month in 2002.

As a person; Uzma Gillani is an amazing personality.
So caring..so concerned and very candid…
As an Artiste…She is outta this world!

Her favorite artiste was and will always be;
Shafi Mhammad…she cared for him like a
mother would–her son. I am a witness…I saw it.

Uzma Gillani is currently settled in Sydney-Australia
with her daughter and son…and she remains in touch
with us all…on regular basis.

UZMA & ME
(A tense scene of Chahatain on recording in Kuala Lumpur)

sir can you do an article on Salim Nasir (Late)
Aangan TeRha, Ankahi **and **Capt. Sarwar Shaheed are his most memorable plays, I must have watched the above 3 at least 10+ times each, something that can never bore you, and will never go stale

same here.

***Don't let words destroy us
Lets implore ourselves

**for unkindness will eat away our heart
and before we know it, all will fall apart *
Don't let words beat us down
Look around
See what Heaven brings
Only beautiful things
No one's not perfect or have we all forgot?
we know, or may not
we've slipped up, many times too
We all do ...
And if we have done something wrong
It won't be long
we will find
someone will approach us
with words, that are kind
for the Lord will not send
someone, in a mean and hateful way
In bringing to our attention
What LORD wants them to say
Yes, I do believe LORD will seek
the one that is not proud, but meek
and, puts into their heart, to speak
What LORD wants us to hear
Because the Lord holds everyone of us
So.......have

A Wonderful And Blessed Day!

Khush Rahein.......

Thank you. I can forget the snow-white mountains of Alaska...but I can never forget a wonder like SALIM NASIR...my friend and my buddy of those golden days of TV dramas...without a deluge of commercials!!

Just a few days back Dodi (Durdana Butt...who portrayed the sister of Chaudhry Sb., in ANGANN TEHRRA) visited my office for lunch and we fondly remembered SALIM NASIR in most infectious memories of our good moments during recordings.

Keep browsng this thread...he'll be there soon.......

Khush Rahein..

COMING UP NEXT....
THE
VOICE,

HEART,
LIVER
&
SOUL **
**OF
PAK SHOWBIZ
DRAMA & RADIO;

**N
O
N
E

THE

O
T
H
E
R

BUT....**

(Keep guessing????????)

TALAT HUSSAIN
***Actor, Broadcaster, Writer, Producer and Director, Talat Hussain started his showbiz career in 1959 from Radio Pakistan in children’s program. ***

He never got bereft from his education and focused simultaneously on his showbiz and higher education–well balancing them both.

***At Radio, he soon became a heart-throb of hundred of thousand listeners–through his most melodious and extremely high profiled voice which is the key source of his success…huge success which Talat has acquired and standds tall amongst the top ***
TV stars of Pak-Showbiz media today.

***His regular appearances in Radio Pakistan’s blockbuster “Studio Number Nau [9]” which presented a one hour (without any commercial..) drama each Saturday at 9 pm sharp. He was always the hero and his leading girls most of the time were; Talat Siddiqui (TV star Arifa Siddiqui’s mom), Rehana Siddiqui (TV star Arifa Siddiqui’s aunt [Khala]), Zeenat Yasmin (Model Iraj’s mom), Ghazala Rafiq, and Sajida Syed). His Radio plays are a golden memory today well archived by the Radio Pakistan. The ever popular program “Salma Baaji” sponsored by DALDA makers…became the talk of the town…for straight one year…with a very high number of listeners each Sunday at ***
11 am…the program was aired.

***The obvious impact of Radio on TV saw Talat’s smooth sailing with his first appearance in Aslam azhar’s production of ever hit slapstick classic “Ghora Ghaas Khaata Hai” of Intizar Hussain (this play has been repeatedly produced for over 10 times from almost all the TV Centres of PTV on various occasions) in 1968. Tlat Hussain amazing voice mesmerized the viewers which was ***
further enhanced by his pleasing personality.

Talat Hussain got married to his heart throb Rakhshinda in 1973 the day it was Moin Akhtar’s mehendi ceremony..and Moin was there…and much to our muse..Moin said “Mein Subb Kuch Chhorr Sakta Houn..Perr Apne Yaar Ki Shaadi Nahin” and then we saw Talat & Rakhshi the next day at Moin Akhtar’s wedding…! Talat’s wife holds the coveted post of the Head of the Department of Psychiartry at the University of Karachi. Talat is a grand-dad now and his two daughters; Tazeen and Ruhaina also acted in serial on limited basis.

In his yearn for higher education, Talat went to London (I remember that Sunday early hours when I went to see him off at Karachi Airport…in 1971) as a student of Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts. During his studies there–he capitalized his voice by becoming a regular broadcaster at the BBC and ITV.

Talat Hussain’s international movie “TRAFFIK” earned him high laurels…where Feryal Gauhar also played a role of a Pakistani women forced to smuggle cocaine in her belly. This movie was followed by Talat’s another entry in a UK TV a 24 episode serial “FAMILY PRIDE” produced by Zia Moheyddin in London.

In his forty years career in Pak-Tv Showbiz, Talat Hussain did over 500 serials, series, long plays, tele-films, movies, stage plays with around 1000 or more voice overs on scores of advertisements…and a product is always gauranteed to catch public demand when Talat’s amazing voice is at the background.

***As his close family friend…and as his colleague a showbiz since he entered PTV-K in 1968…my comments on Talat Hussain can be summed up in one line; ***
***AN OUTSTANDING PERSON, TALENT & HUMAN BY ALL COUNTS. ***

I have done around 80 serials, plays and stage plays with Talat…and my best one on a long play with him was 'Bindra Band Ki Kunj Gallee Mein, Phatta Hua Coat and the mega-serial on GEO…“ANA”.

***Talat Hussain’s outstanding performance as the lawyer son of Mohammad Ali in the super-hit ‘INSAAN AUR ADMI’ filmed in Lahore, won him Nigar Film Award. His classic performance in the TV serial “HAWAIEN” as the dad of Komal Rizvi, got him the PTV award…the second time…first being for his portrayal in ***
Mohsin Ali’s ‘TAABEER’ from Karachi Centre.

Talat now runs a production house..and also works as advisor to Zia Moheyuddin at NAPA (National Academy of Performing Arts, Karachi) and regularly appears in Tv productions on highly selective basis…while his stage performances too are rare but classy..not to forget the recent hit of Zia bhai; HABIB MAMOON at the Arts Council of Pakistan.
Some of Talat Hussain’s memorable plays on TV;

JEB KATRAA,
JURM O’SAZAA,
EID KA JORRA,
SHIVA,
AHLE-E-HUNRR,
INSAN AUR ADMI (from Karachi TV)
PARCHHAIEYAAN,
KHET KHET HARYAALI,
TYPIST,
AIK RAAT AIK KHEL,
TARIQ BIN ZIYAD,
KASHKOL,
TAABEER,
MANDI…
the list goes on and on and on…

***My pick of Talat Hussain’s appearances on TV and in ***
films…is that minor but HUGE role…he played as Hafiz Fatima’s husband in Abar Ahmed’s ‘JINNAH..the movie’ where Talat…at the end of the movie..welcomes Quaid-e-Azam with a high voiced slogan..when Jinnah Saheb’s attention is brought by his daughter to lament on the killing of her mother. Watch it…you’ll agree with me.

Some pics with Talat Hussain;

**C
O
M
I
N
G

U
P

NEXT**

MUNAWWAR SAEED

bump

yup munawar saeed’s character in Waris was classic
and he played a brilliant abba jee in Mirza and Sons :k:

outstanding artist. his performance in parchiyaan is a textbook for aspiring actors.