Great expections dashed by in-laws

If you don’t want to read another in-laws thread, please look away now.

I recently travelled to see the in-laws with my little one-their first grandchild.

To cut a long story short, my mother-in-law (also my khala) didn’t deal with her grandchild. At first it didn’t bother me but when little one became so ill she was taken to see an emergency doctor because she couldn’t hold her head up and my mother-in-law just sat in her room chatting away to her brother (Yes, my mamu) and ignored the fact we were all worred, and the fact little one was being carted away to see a doctor.

When we got back to the UK, little one was still sick. Unfortunately she was hospitalised. My mother-in-law didn’t even call me to see if we were coping. Just for support nothing else. My husband says he called them, and his mum asked about little one but noone bothered calling us or speaking to me when I really needed the support of the elders.

My cousin (brother-in-law) called after we returned from hospital panicking as he was only told by the fact we were in hospital by his brother-his parents hadn’t told him. He was quite upset but I just covered and said it’s likely they didn’t want to worry him. Did I do the right thing? I didn’t want to cause friction in the household.

To be honest, khala started changing towards me soon after I married her son. She started with the classic of ‘you need to give all your mubaraki money to my friends daughter she needs it for her husbands business’. Then it moved to "look at all these kaminee girls wearing kameezes on jeans’ (knowing that I do that), then it was snide remarks about how a lot of girls wear abaya to Pakistan to impress people but don’t wear it everyday (however I do wear it in the UK).

Whilst I was in Pakistan she also made the comment of ‘noone should marry their sons within family’. I also found out she hid the fact I had an emergency c-section ‘because she was ashamed’ that I opted for that. I never opted for it, it was life or death situ.

Our room in Pakistan (allocated to us at the time of marriage) has been emptied. My beds in there, which is used by my brother-in-law. So when we visited we had to ask for the room back.

And when a ristaa came up for my brother-in-law my husband asked if I could go as well as my nand-she basically said no because I wouldn’t know what a good daugher-in-law looks like.

MIL brought up the fact other family in England have built big houses in Pakistan. I mentioned that we had discussed it, however it seemed more sensible to potentially invest in a land scheme in Islamabad as it was currently affordable and she flipped saying her son ‘couldn’t afford such ayaashi’. She then got nasty about the fact my father was a loser. I know that! Why bring him up?

My mother-in-law is continuing with this weird behaviour and out of order remarks.

Looking back my mother-in-law really hated our choice of baby name-she wanted something modern, however we wanted traditional and religion based. She flipped then and literally didn’t talk to me for ages.

How much do I ignore? If they won’t deal with their grandchild or even bother finding out if shes okay should I just cut them off? My cousin (nand) is also changing.

My husband (as far as I’m aware) is completing his financial duties towards his family, he calls them and visits as and when required. We’ve done nothing I can think of that has caused such a big issue that the nastiness is increasing by the day. I deal with my own family (fathers side) and have never asked my husband to visit them incase it makes my mother-in-law go weird as I never know what shes thinking.

It’s upsetting, and I just want the nastiness to stop.

How do I handle the situation? I don’t know how many more comments or actions I can ignore.

Re: Great expections dashed by in-laws

Ahww am so sorry to hear that Princess1983,,, I hope ur lill one is doin okay now? I actually think ur MIL sees u as a threat. Somehow some mils change immediatly after the wedding ( my mom always says "itna hi dukh lagta hey to betey ki shadi hi kyu karwati heyn" ) it can be that she wants the complete salary of ur hubby for her self...and that ur hubby is makin/buyin a house for HER instead investing for his wife and his own children...

have u spoken with ur mom and dad about it? just generally about the behaviour of ur khala?
I would say just ignore her...Its easier said than done, but eventually u will have an own house inshallah, ur hubby is loving and caring and on ur side...

it's awfull the way she treated u n ur daughter, but allah dekhney wala hey...mum always says "sabr dalo and allah phal deta hey" she has another son who still needs to get married...allah na karrey, but the second daughter inlaw can be a total opposite of u, she than will know ur worth.

Be happy in ur small world with ur husband and ur daughter and if she gives u a harsh comment, give her a polite one back...but one that involves a bit izzat from ur side...tell ur husband that u can't bear it longer and that he talks with his mom :)

Do u know the reason for her behavior.

Does ur husband knows it?

I think the more you will think abt it, the more you will be upset. Just ignore and move on..you don't live with her so be happy for that

I can understand how you feel. Some MIL likes to taunt their DIL...

If I were you, I'd be grateful that I don't live with them.

Listen, inlaws are inlaws...doesn't matter if you married your khala's son or chachi's son.

Your MIL is simply reacting to you marrying her son. Or not. She may have minded something you said. Regardless, she's not crazy about you.

Just be careful, do your best to be good to them but as far as her nastiness is concerned............ignore. You're being baited and if you react, you will start WWIII. So, simply ignore them.

Example:

MIL: Bahu, you look like something the cat dragged in.

You: Thanks mom! You look great too!

Great expections dashed by in-laws

Your MIL has a screw loose. Dont expect anything nice from her and dont expect her to change. Where is your husband in all this? If he cant speak to his own mum, then you speak to your mum. Im sure the sisters can have a heart to heart. Thats what they're there for.

Have you shared this with your mother I'm sure if she talked to her sister it may make an impression on her...but patience is the only thing you can invest in if open communication doesn't work...I don't get why she is so indifferent towards you sounds like you are just being yourself and she is holding that against you except as your khala she should have known you beforehand. I hope all gets better soon.

Where is your husband in all of this ?
Talk to your husband and ask his opinion. Does he see or know about all the remarks etc ?
Be happy that you are not living with your MIL and learn to ignore her comments. Dont initiate or get involved in unnecessary dialogue with her.

Its your husband whose opinion matters. If he does not find his moms remarks or actions wrong than you should get worried.

About the land investment, again you dont need to answer or even indulge in a conversation about what you are going to do with your savings. If she asks, tell her your husband will decide what to do.
About your child's name, if your MIL said anything, you should have told her, 'aap ke betay ne rakha he' (I am assuming your husband had his input in the name)
About your abaya, you wear it for yourself and Allah. Who cares if she thinks you dont wear it in UK.

You're back, Princess!! This isn't going to make you feel any better but your mil sounds a bit bitter.. not that uncommon in our culture :( Every other mum I know seems to get like this after her son gets married..

Everyone is saying right...saas always remain a saas...I know its very very hard but all you can do is to remain patient. Try to ignore as much as u can. As a parent you cannot see your child being ignored by people and especially by blood relations but dear, there are people like that who don't care about their sons married lives and grand children but we cannot do anything except showing patience. Apna muamla ALLAH pe chor do.

I agree, she does see you as a threat. She is also testing you to see what she can get away with. My sis had this same problem, she just began to pull back from anyone who made snide comments or caused negativity. If say in a group of people or even one on one and her mil would begin her nastiness, she would simply get up walk away to somewhere else. She couldn't talk back because she didn't know how to respond. I remember we were at a dinner and her mil started talking about touchy subjects on purpose. Whilst we were having dinner, as soon as her first comment came out of her mouth my sister (older) said to me 'Hey let's go eat out on the patio' . We did and a couple of other people joined us and we had a great time! Another occasion her mil began to talk my sis was at a BBQ and as soon as her mil started she got up took her baby for a little walk. Eventually, her mil stopped. My sis explained to her husband that if his mother couldn't say something nice she would not talk back but just take herself out of that situation or walk off. She said that she would not take anyone's abuse or insults, period. He was fine with it.

Also when it comes to kids it hurts, but don't let it affect you at all. Just become engrossed in your own life with the people you love trust me you'll be great.

Just make sure you don't stoop to her level, it will change you!

Hi ladies,

Deeba-yup I'm back.

Little one is feeling much better MashAllah .

sorry for the delay in returning to the thread.

Reha-you are totally right. I am so lucky not to be living with my in-laws. Don't think I could hack it.

My husband is aware of some of the comments-e.g. when my MIL went on about my fathers family I told the OH. He defended his mother saying she was just trying to make me aware of their evilness.

The history of my fathers side of the family is my parents separated, however my MIL STILL dealt with my father, and his family claiming it was 'khaandan'. The only people that didn't deal with them was well me and mum. All my mums family had something to gain from being my grandparents lapdogs. But after learning a lot about religion, I have learnt that to move on you don't have to to forgive and forget completely, Allah gives you the will power to move on and deal with each day so I now deal with my fathers parents (father=hes basically marrying a woman younger than me so it's not that easy to get on with him atm). Since I have started dealing with my grandparents, my MIL is calling them evil, and has stopped her contact. Weird.

None of my Khalas are willing to talk to my MIL as all of them want my MIL to ask for their daughters hand in marriage as my BIL is MashAllah well educated and well mannered.

My mum tried talking to her (MIL) before but she twisted it all and caused a major argument between me and husband.

My FIL is now complaining I didn't speak to him on Eid day (he called when I was asleep). Basically, I was really poorly over Eid, turns out I am pregnant but didn't get round to speaking to my in-laws. I was planning on calling them the next day but after all the hoo-haa I really cannot be bothered.

My MIL has made the comment that she doesn't want her bahu (my BIL's future wife) to work as girls in their family don't work. So why did they accept money from me when I was working knowing I was the major breadwinner at home? What type of honour is that?

I wish they would just cut off contact with me completely. The only time I get dragged in is when my in-laws take out debt, or to have a go at my family or to blame me for world war 3. No really that's how it is.

I'm now MashAllah pregnant, it's early days and I really cannot afford stress in my life but my MIL just lives for the stuff.

I'm beginning to think my attitude isn't the same as my MIL thus why she doesn't like me.

E.g. recently she wanted us to do Qurbani in Pakistan and we picked to do it via an NGO. That went down like a led balloon.

Then there was the fact one of my FILs family members in the UK sends over clothes they collect and zikat to family in Pakistan and tells everyone they did it. I don't follow that way of thinking. If you do charity, why does the world need to know?

My best friend thinks I didn't help the situation by not taking part in the conversations with MIL and her friends. They would talk about other peoples family planning situ. I don't think that's any of my business. Surely my MIL is old enough to know if you discuss other peoples daughters private lives one day people will discuss theres? I also mentioned to my MIL that I should not be asked to shake hands in non-mahrams. It's wrong, so way make me do it by standing over me and telling me 'such and such is waiting to shake my hand'.

I really struggled with the 'environment. There were women coming to 'look at me'. It was uncomfortable to say the least. And then total random strangers would come for my little girl-they wanted to take her home to 'show their family'.

I don't want my daughter in any type of environment where there isn't any boundaries and all men are uncles etc. I know that sounds paranoid but I was brought up with boundaries, and feel that is the best way forward. I don't want my child at the age of say 7 going to a strangers house and being expected to greet them all as family and call all the men 'uncle' just because they live in the same postcode area.

When we were trying for our first baby, it did take a while. My mother-in-law blamed me and told my mum it was because of the pill the doctor but me on. I'm not sure how it works in Pakistan, but my gyno here in England said the contraceptive pill helped reduce bleeding and would help futher down the line. When I was in Pakistan my MIL went through my stuff and found my pills.

My husbands cousin was texting me (he got my number from the sim packaging). I told my MIL she she ignored it and tried blaming me and my BIL. When my husband found out he went looking for his cousin, and they had words. My MIL flipped at why did I tell my husband. I dunno, maybe cos I'm married to him?

I used to be self-employed but my MIL told everyone I was a teacher because it was more respectable.

I really have had enough now. My husband was thinking of applying for her visa for when baby 2 comes along. I really hope her visa gets rejected and her passport is stamped with a 10 year ban. I don't want her poison near my friends or family in England. Husband thinks it will help me as I am likely to have a c-section. I think it's going to be hard.

I'm sorry for boring everyone, I think I'm getting frustrated because I'm worried this will effect my children too. I know that my MIL is their dadi, and I want them to have a bond but I'm not sure if she feels the same. I was expecting her to dott on little one as she is the first born of her first born. It turns out I was wrong.

Thanks everyone for the advice and support!

congrats on the pregnancy.....may Allah keep you safe from the trials that you are currently facing.
the most important people that you need to worry about are your little one and her father....and of course yourself. as long as things are fine there and he is okay with your approach/concerns then try not to worry too much about the other noise.

iA things will work out for the best in the end......

the quotation in your signature says it all.

what kind of woman doesn't even care about her own grandchild, esp the firstborn's firstborn? is it cz it was a girl? :-/

I'm surprised your husband is even thinking of applying for her visa....does he not see or care how he treated her?
Please put your foot down.....honestly, if it was just everything else you listed (the way they do charity or meet with other people etc) is nto a huge deal.....it's the fact that she didn't even show any love/affection for your baby that's really concerning.

Congrats on pregnancy...May ALLAH ease your situation, help you get through this easily and protect you and your family. Ameen!

Sara, I think it's partically to do with little one being a girl.MILs father (my grandfather too) was one of the most sexist people to have walked the planet. Saying that though, everyone seemed to love my MIL, its the remaining girls that were treated like poop.

My husband thinks things will be different and if everyones on my ground rather than in Pak I should have more control. I don't want control, to be fair it's clear I'm not respected and the fact even by a lot of desi families ways of working I am not getting my position within the household. I just want to be able to get on with life, and to some extent I was them to deal with their grandchild, and if they don't want to I want them to make it clear for all to see. That way my little one won't be under constant pressure to impress dada dadi, visit and so on.

It makes me ill when I wonder if they will treat their other grandkids (e.g. my BIL or SILs kids) the same.

such women do exist . My daughter’s grand mother (dadi) is one such creature. World is full of such disgusting people.

and congrats Princess on your pregnancy May Allah talah bless you with a healthy baby ameen :flower1:

what you want is not necessarily what you will get.......so better to set a more reasonable expectation. if they don't want to deal with your child, they won't....and they will never allow the discrimination to be clear because then they will be held accountable.

as a parent you should keep up your side of the bargain.....teach your child to love and respect her grandparents, uncles, aunts and cousins regardless of the underlying snub that you obviously feel. teach her to visit and to fulfill her side of the farz......rest Allah will take care of.

I totally agree with Muzna. Just because they are not doing their duty on their end, doesn't mean you shouldn't do your part. And trust me, they will get away with their attitude, being the 'buzurg' and all, while you will be accused of alienating the children from their own family.

Thanks for the advice Muzna and Silver Falcon. I will try my best InshAllah however Alah knows best. Maybe no contact from grandparents wouldn't be such a bad thing should they want it that way. Why force children to have a bond with grandparents. Of course noone is saying they will not complete their farz, but if my in-laws want doormats that they will eventually use as passports for their other grandchildren they will need to get me out of the way first. Farz-yes, abuse-no.

it does happen so,, just have sabr.. allah will solve all the probs.

u r so lucky for not sharing roof with her. its better to have long distant relationship with in laws... :P