Governor Punjab Salman Taseer murdered in Islamabad

re: Governor Punjab Salman Taseer murdered in Islamabad

Good post ! You forgot BayNazeer.

Fine, lets not scrap it useless law. But lets make it fair. ALL religions should be protected under the law. No one can insult a Christian, Hindu, Parsi or Muslims what so ever.

And frankly, the center that you were seeking, already exists. As far as this law is concerned, the existing govt has taken the centrist view, as have govts before it.

The problem here isnt that there are two completely polarized views competing for attention. Its that there is only one view left in Pakistan. The extremists, right wing fanatic view.
There is no FAR Left secular view. The far right extremists have done a remarkable job in destroying whatever remained of liberal leftist leaders. People like me sadly, liberals, have no place in Pakistan society. Anyone who dares even be slightly leftist, as Taseer appeared to be (to the extremists) are promptly murdered.

Succesive govt in Pakistan have done their utmost to appease and reconcile these extremist right wingers, while pacfst leftist have all been denounces and punished. All because the extremists can muster street power, and the leftist can only languish in prison writing poetry.

Dude, dont make Pakistani Army responsible for all the crap that is happening in Pakistan. I am sorry to derail the thread but Pakistani army never kidnapped girls from outside Kinniard College to rape them in Governor house, Pakistan Army never built palaces for themselves in Paris and London. Pakistan Army never dealt with super powers to kill her own citizens.

Its the Pakistan Army who is keeping our ass saved from terrorists in west. It was Pakistan army who single handedly rescued Pakistan from flood situation where her jawaan worked day and night to build dams and rescued people from flood sights to dry land.

If it was not for our army, Pakistan would be long gone, either part of India by now or Afghanistan or some lawless no man's land.

Thats true. But extremism actually began the day the Pak govt started making laws to appease religous groups. Startng as far back as the Anti Ahmadi riots.
The answer isnt to appease these extremists by caving into their demands as the Pakistani govt has done consistently over the past. This has only emboldened them to demand more and more, to the point where the state is completely muted into a place where the extremists define the nature of the state, and where politicians have to bow before their unholy alters just to gain support.
The reason we have such problems are because the Pak govt cowered before these fanatics instead of standing up for principle.
The result is a society that caters to extremists and produces extremists as a result.

One clause for Blasphemy Law should be this:

Any person who uses force and/or violence in order to make someone (from any religious background) follow/accept his ideology will be severely punished, depending on the extent of the crime.

Aab aya na saheen rastay paar… :lifey: My true friend :hugz:

No correction my friend the existing governement is an absolute failure and knows nothing except bleedign more revenue from it’s tired and weary people.

I strongly sympathise with you here… and I understand what your saying but no need to be so defeatist about it… you talk of the extreme right wing being dominant and i agree they are dominant but they are only strong becuase they manipulate the masses…

Bhai if you and your people went about your cause in a more respectfull manner rather than your trademark arrogance and contempt for Pakistan as a land of Barbarians people might actually listen more to you…

I believe very strongly that there is a center ground still left and it is something really worth fighting for.

I hope and pray dearly that the fanatics on all sides lose thier arragonce and come down from thier lofty seats and talk among men… only then will we see any real change.

I strongly agree with this... Nobody has a right to bully a minority even if it's a group of Jews they should be safe in thier day to day lives.

Not a particular fan of Salman Taseer, but saddened by the news of his death. I see the killing is a broader light. The gap between the rich corrupt and the poor is growing and if that is not addressed soon then we may see more anarchy and possibly a bloody revolution. I don't see this as an act of a lone person but an indication of the general mood of the public. The rulers live in a world of their own and are completely out of touch with the feelings on the streets. People are also fed up the army which normally steps in everytime it looks like we may be headed towards a revolution. The only silver lining is the independent media and the judiciary which have been acquired in the last few years, which provide some relief to the the public.

Very serious post and some important points you have highlighted thankyou. :k:

I didn't know you were so short-memoried... 'Mush' rings a bell?

While feeding its awam to terrorists locally bred (at army's behest or vice versa).

What arrogance are you speaking off bro? And perhaps people do show contempt for the current state of the “Islamic” Republic, but its rightfully deserved. A cursory glance at Pakistan is enough to want to give up in disgust.

And lets not be naive. Liberal leftists are powerless. You cant speak in Pakistan, either respectfully or otherwise of leftist leaning ideas, without being labeled a kafir and trader. The generation of Faiz Ahmed Faiz is slowly dying away, while the new generation is comprised of these fanatic terrorists like the one that killed Taseer today.

Well bhai you live in hope...

Mush, Zia, Yahya are just personalities. You cannot blame whole army because of few corrupt generals. I am talking about those soldiers who are getting killed out there to keep us secure.

TLK has a fair point... you can blame the heads of the army for most of them are contemptible politicians in army clothing but spare a thought for those brave comrades who are dying between bullets from Fanatics and being starved and robbed by thier own governement.

I know almost all of us are condemning this brutal murder, rightly so, but I just logged in FB and here I see this, wut can be done at this when so many folks are trying to make this murderer a hero!! :smack:

Have a look at this: (Removing original names)

=============================
Proud to live in PAKISTAN’s Photos - Wall Photos

Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri "Salam Teri Jurrat ko ! "
Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri was a troop of Punjab Police Elite Force, deployed for Taseer’s security, the federal minister informed adding the killer surrendered himself to police after killing Salman Taseer Governer of Punjab..
The Guy who sent Salman Taseer to Jahannum

[LIST]

Afosos Salman Taseer par k us nai Allah or us k Nabi k khilaaf jung ki koshish ki…or har FIROON k lia aik MOOSA alllah baijta hai…
Salute to you Qadri…ALLAH BLES…S YOUSee More
2 hours ago ·

• I completely disagreed with Salman Taseer’s politics but if this murder was done because of his support for amedning a man-made law like the blasphemy law, then this is astonishing. This has nothing to do with Islam…
    ( I never liked him n… m not supporting him… but the way we r trying to portray Islam is not right)See More
    2 hours ago ·

• aaj Jeo News par Hamid Mir nai kaha ta k is SALMAN TASEER k Father nai jab GHAZI ALAM DEEN ko Phansi di gyi ti…to us k Janaza ka sra intizaam kya ta…us ka name M D TASEER ta…or aaj us ka apna Baita SALMAAN usi nabi k khilaaf Lar raha …ta…to Simple
    Baita will go to Hell & father already in Jannah…bcz he Serve for Great Ghazi Alam deen Shaheed :)See More
    2 hours ago ·

• ‎@sami, how will u decide who will go to hell and who will go to heaven. Leave this work to Allah2 hours ago ·

• Everyone, this guy was brain washed and salman was killed on political basis. Ppp has habit of getting their leaders kiled to get popularity. This man was a puppet. Salman supported that maloon woman months ago and murder took place when pp…p was in severe trouble and needed a break.

Again this is political no religious. Open up ur eyes and let not religion blind us rather it should light our life. Qadri is merely a puppet a brain washed puppetSee More
2 hours ago · 1 personLoading… ·

• THE GRET JOB IS DONE NY HIM HE SUCJH A REAL MUSLIM MAY ALLAH BLESS HIM2 hours ago ·

• http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/hs1339.snc4/161104_100000074979672_2309677_q.jpg ‎@ osama evry thing is clear …MUMTAZ QUADRI showed his innerstrength of EMMAN JUB KISI KA EMAAN KHATAM HOJATA HAY TO WO SALMAN TASEER OR AAP KI TARHA BOLTA HAY !!! THIS IS JUST A JHALAK …2 hours ago ·

• i don’t see a guy killing a some1 saying bad words For NaozBillah Hazrat Muhammad (Sallallaho Alahe waali he wassalam) would be a brain washed..
    it it is soo.. i would love to brain wash myself 1stabout an hour ago ·

• ‎@ Omar Akhtar… Sharam karo…apnay Name ko daiko…or pir apni bato ko daiko…is nai wo kaam kia jo Ghazi Alam deen Shaheed nai kiya ta…
    Aamir cheema Shaheed nai kia ta…
    or mai yaqeen sai kehta ho k ya Jannati hai…Q k is nai jo …kiya wo ALLAH OR RASOOL k lia kya…

hamay to Rashk karna Chahya Qadri par k itna Bara kaam us sai Allah nay lia..or ALLAH nai us ko Choose kia is kaam k lia…Geo QadriSee More
about an hour ago ·

• Yaar look at the timing. Its political murder. Just like what happened to benazir bhutto. about an hour ago ·

• Dats gr8 Qadri…U R REALLY A HERO N TRUE MEANINGS…GOD BLESS U…29 minutes ago ·

[/LIST]

Calling ur faith Ahmedi/Qadiani does not make me a supporter of blasphemy law!

Say Qaloo: Inna lilahay wa in Alyhi Rajaoon.

BUT: Another muslim being killed by another muslim. This displeases Allah and his beloved Prophet. Not Islamic at all. In that country politically, "mistake after mistake is committed by public and Goverment. I feel ashemed to ask Allah for help!!!!!

Dude TLK...whats with u and anybody criticizing the Army(aka thugs with gun)...r u on ISPR payroll? u did the same thing and threaten to ban me when i posted link/video about PA murdering innocent in cold blood, which btw USA also believed and ur beloved Generail kayani swore to investigate....but u as well as i know the truth will be never out (i.e. PA r guilty)

Remember, the kidnappings were not done by just peronal/few generals, during the Mush reign it wasn't just few corrupt generals who harassed common people, Fauji Foundation is not run by just few corrupt generals..... kahan tak suno gai kahan tak sunaaon, ye daastan bari taweel hay, I only feel for the jawaans who fight at the behest of arm's top brass.

Problem with us (that includes both of you) is that we all are short sighted people. We generalize things based on recent events and not on history. Yes Army has some corrupt people, just like cricket team has some corrupt players, just like any of your favorite and most saaf suthra institution (in the whole world) would have some corrupt people.

But when we generalize stuff, we become ungrateful to all those who got killed in 1948 war and in 1965 war and even all those who got killed in 1971 war. Corrupt or no corrupt, its the same army who saved our butt each time when war happened.