Gori Ghoonghat ko mat khol ke Ghoonghat hai anmol

Be parda nazar ayeen ju kal chand bebeyan

Akbar zameen par gherat e qomi se gaR gaya

Poocha ju main ne aap ka parda wo kia hoa

Kehney lagi ke aqal pe mardoon ki par gaya !

I ask who is/was behind brainwashing of girls /ladies of Subcontinent for decades that they have absolutely abandoned this prestigious gift of our culture named 'Ghoonghat ’

Just to please tribal Bedouins of Arab nations we follow their chartered dress codes and believe it is somehow or the other Islamic.

I openly challenge religious ladies and gentlemen on this board to prove my statement wrong !

“..this dress style of Indian Subcontinent named ghoonghat, is duly sanctioned as code of attire in public places prescribed for ladies by Islamic holy scriptures .”

I ask why it is abandoned by educated muslims of this region ?

My Question :

If you ( and your forefather) belong to this region and you recommend Hijaab / Niqaab for ladies and abhor Ghoonghat / chaddar clad attire ; then please constitute an explicit explaination in your own words as how and why the first form of clothing style is pro rata Islamic dress code and second one is not. This question is for Ladies and Gentlemen.

Thank you for your time.

For people who do not hold such beliefs , are not required to take part in this discussion … you may please relax , have a drink and

ENJOY …

Ik fursat-e-gunah mili wo bhi chaar din
***dekhey hian hum ney hosley, parwardigar ke ! ***

***Code_Red …the answer you are looking for is in your signature..:k: ***

there was no dress code or dress for Baba Adam and Amma Hawa when they were residing in Jannah…

so why debate it now…:slight_smile:

Re: Gori Ghoonghat ko mat khol ke Ghoonghat hai anmol

Both of above posts make no sense no clear message and OP is not only way off track but doesn’t even know what he is trying to say.

1- Why post the shayr?

2- Why post the link?

Let us not beat our head over this…

you know this is why they call this website…Gup Shup!

My signature is paradigm of entity , guardian relationship. I Will be glad to explain this phenomena in detail if you ask me in another box.
Just try to observe one relationship of infant and mother. When infant is enjoying cool water , playing and splashing around in his bath during hot summer, the mother appears and drag him out. No matter how much child cries the mother is telling him. Playing time is over ---- GAME OVER

Past tense.

Now they are living in Copenhagen and Brisbane :slight_smile:

I am not trying. I have written it down precisely with no ambiguity. If you find it difficult then you can seek help. I will be there to answer questions :flower1:

Q 1- Why post the shayr?

Ans - I found it interesting and in-line with a thought process to certain degree.

Q 2- Why post the link?

Ans - I am not a poet. The verses were taken from that reference material.

Why wear a scarf and abaya as compared to a chaddar, etc?

Simple, the former combination ensures complete covering whereas the latter does not.

The ghungat/ chaddar that woman wear in the subcontinent is almost never wrapped around, it is made to just "sit" on the head, slipping off often exposing a Muslim women's hair/neck to the non-mahrams around her. Isn't that reason enough?

Also, the chaddar worn isn't always made of thick material and you can "see" the hair through it sometimes, and the chaddar is almost never large enough to cover the entire body... neechay se taangouN ki shape nazar aa'e gi when walking in the wind and stuff.

so again, the scarf/ abaya combination is just a more practical option for those wanting to cover up properly.

Bhai Sahab, This is your opinion about your statemetns they have no ambiguity. The message you are ‘trying’ to convey is still ambiguos.

There was a reason I asked questions. The message in both the shayr and the video are contradictory.

In one breath you said keep the ghongat and in second you linked a video of a woman whose belly button is showing with no real ghoongat. Interestingly you chose the word ‘referenced material’.

Hence you are the one confused and need help!

Anyhow, happy posting. Just be aware of what you are trying to say.

Should of posted in culture forums....

I completely disagree !

No dress offers complete covering of a woman body from head to toe, except Traditional Afghan Shuttlecock Burka . And it is just a cultural norm, not a religious obligation.

with all due respect, I still disagree :flower1:

Chaddar , Dopatta, parda , ghoonghat project modesty , dignity and outshines all other simillar dress from other cultures. This is my view and I can offer examples of delightful visuals of these classic dressing style of Ladies from Mughals era , Nawab of Dakan, Meerath, Hayderabad.

I belong to 5000 years old Indus valley civilization. I respect my culture and religion. I find it demeaning that people of my culture are going astray due to misconception regarding their centuries old magnificent cultural dress which 100% goes in hands with thier religoin.

I find no objection in kashmiri girls projecting their cultural dress.

I see no objection in Arab girls projecting their own cultural dress.

I find it highly objectionable if Pakistani girls abandoning thier cultural dress and adopt arab dress and consider it religious obligation.

Although , I am not against any dressing due to fasion and trends. And It does not fall anywhere near this topic.

There are some guidelines and rules regarding posting here or anywhere with a precise topic of discussion forums.

It moral duty to attache a link for words or sentences derived or borrowed from some other source. What i write here is what i am saying. What some other person said some time ago , I attached the relatvie reference material for clarity.

Just to clear up the concept of 'reference material' for you. Oxford Dictionary is a book where we look for meanings. There are lots of words in that book which you may not like to utter. Similarly there is holy bible , which billions of people read. But there are some parts which are quite difficult to grasp and firmly stand against your religious values and not suitable for children bellow certain age.

code bhai i applaud your honesty and courage !
I agree with ur logic but personally I hate all desi culture ( except some of our poets and sufi elders) thats why I would not endorse any expression of desi culture
but I see your point ! gangut is no better or worse than hijab its a matter of personal preference if it serves its purpose

I find it highly objectionable if Pakistani girls abandoning thier cultural dress and adopt arab dress and consider it religious obligation.

because of 2 factors
1-misunderstanding the universal appeal of our religion
2-promotion of arab culture in the guise of a very narrow minded sectarian driven movement from KSA ( hint ) its the same phenomena in 12ers, when they try to ape irani dress codes

I'd wear a chadar and ghooghat in pakistan, I promise.

i agree.

So why don't we men wear shalwaar kameez or lungis?

The essence of your post was and still is based on contradiction.

Either you are or are not for the ghoongat, and more importantly the basic reasons for ghoongat or hijab/niqab . But the post said both!

What is the difference in your post from people who write whole chapter against pornography and use pornographic material as 'reference' :D

Thankyou sir for your very valuable applause and views :flower2:

Personal preference , like and dislike does not affect a general behaviour of public. You like a color blue , I like orange. You like coffee , I like Milk-shake.
You like roller coaster, I like bungee Jumping.

You dislike our culture, its okey for me. I dont feel an iota of a grudge against you. As long as it is purely personal. But, If you confer an idea that wearing that our regional turbon during namaz is religiously not allowed Or it does not fullfil the religious requirement of covering your head then I will continue this debate till the dawn of next century.

I feel delighted and dignified. I was not expecting such a colloquial agreement of views. Thankyou :rose:

We wear them all the time ! Whenever and where ever we like even in high profile cat-walks on fashion show and various functions. I dont know howcome you are not aware of this fact.

I am there to help you understand my view and subject matter.

My point is that you can not reject or replace a style of dressing , attire due to misunderstaning of religious stance. The religion does not project/reject any cultural dress without solid reasons (i.e modesty, satanic leverage).

As I already said I do not dis-respect any cultural dress which goes in-line with religious stance. But I certainly object projection of a cultural dress as a duly stamped religious attire. At par with the dress worn by christian nuns.

Yup that is a norm, and you can not avoid it, unless you close your eyes.

Just like when the reporter was telling us about torture, humiliation and sexual abuse of muslim prisioners in Abu Gharib prision they were showing us some shameful and humiliating images of torture and abuse.

Also you can look deeply into meaning ful subject of that reference material if you broaden your focus from belly button to message of that video. It is saying that girls should not shun their natural beautiful existance by abandoning thier cultural and stylish dress. Which not only truly concur thier lifestyle but exhibit thier conducive expressions of joy. :k: