Goodbye Rashid?/ Rashid Quits (Merged)

*Originally posted by saby: *
i know there is no input from captain in team selection But they give thier views on selections and sometimes can vie for certain players they seemed suitable...

Captain's no input in team selection may be true for any other countries, but I believe it to be false for Pakistan. Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis... they all had big inputs while selecting teams. Remember how Wasim discarded Waqar and then Waqar took his revenge when he became captain etc.? I think Rashid was following the same footsteps and not innovating anything new in this area i.e. provide input in team selection, after all its captain's job to handle all these players in the field and not coach/selection committee.

I think Rashid should retire and not just resign from captaincy. Sad state of cricket affairs :(

As you saw so shall your reap :)

Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Nope. I don't want Rashid Latif as a wicket-keeper. I am sicked and tired of PCB using players as condoms! To hell with PCB and their policies. Tauqir Zia should have been careful using the word *
'responsible'** while accusing Rashid Latif. Like Mr. Zia has set an example of responsibility.

Rashid Latif made a decision, which is right from his point of view. It's better to resigned/retired than to be sacked.

^^ 100% agree.

Ok rashid was irresponsible but Tauqeer Zia was more irresponsible than Rashid while criticizing him. Now tauqeer Zia cant say anything or sack Amir Sohail coz next selector might be honest not to select Junaid Zia

Sad day for Pak cricket.
I was disgusted to see Rashid Latif quit, specially before the tour of S Africa.
Inzimam doesn't have the potential to be a leader, it will be an impossibe task for Pakistan to win under him against S Africa.
I think Rashid did a great job in his little time as the captain, he introduced the likes of Yasir Hameed, Gul and Hafeez while he helped guys like Sami, and Malik make a name for themselves.
I guess it was wise of him to resign before being sacked.

The officials at PCB are the worst human beings in the world, Tauqir Zia and Amir Sohail only care about their own wealth.

Rashid was doing a great job rebuilding a side, he may not have won but his upbringing of some young talent was really worth a while.

So what if he brought up the match fixing issue, how is that hurting PCB unless they are the corrupted once.

And I think every captain should have a say in the team selection, he is the one who has to play with those players on the field, and he is responsible for their performance. If they do bad, it reflects on his captaincy.
Being compared to Aussie selection system is totally a different thing, they are a well established team, and Pontings's input in team selection isn't as huge as Rashid's input for the Pakistani team.

As for the replacement, please don't bring back Moin, why not start with Younis Khan now, he has enough experience, specially compared to someone like Graham Smith, who is only 22.

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *

Captain's no input in team selection may be true for any other countries, but I believe it to be false for Pakistan. Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis... they all had big inputs while selecting teams. Remember how Wasim discarded Waqar and then Waqar took his revenge when he became captain etc.? I think Rashid was following the same footsteps and not innovating anything new in this area i.e. provide input in team selection, after all its captain's job to handle all these players in the field and not coach/selection committee.

just to correct you, i hink Waqar was very fair to Wasim throughout and publicly fought for his selection in tests against Bangladesh 2001, and did NOT commit anything like revenge!!

Rashid Latif reigned after meeting with Tauqir Zia.
Just heard Rashid’s interview on Geo, some points below!!

He said that Chairman Zia has done a lot of sincere stuff for Pakistan Cricket, team and himself and he holds no grudge against him. (This part i agree with, coz chairman has done a lot to restructure cricket and set up academies etc etc ). Its only Selection committee that he has differences with and he met in detail with Tauqir Zia to discuss that point and informed him of his desicion.

When asked if he would continue as player, he said that he talked to Zia about this and specifically asked if selectors would pick him for future assignments. He said that i was considering retirement after the worldcup and reveresed the decision as i thought my services are needed. But now i will have to review my position, coz performance isnt bad but **selectors ka kia pata, agar ghalti se select ker liya tu khailoon gaa ** :hehe: coz i m recieving a lot of calls from different quarters to continue as player.

To answer a question he said that he himself was reading lots of reports regarding inzimam to be retined as captain blah blah, and i made it easy for the decision-makers and i wish my successor best of luck in thie crucial phase for pakistan cricket and my full support for him whoever he might be :k:

At the end he was asked his views on selection committe, he said well ** main kya keh sakta hoon buss is sselction committe ke baaray main ** :hehe:

**Rashid Latif resigns as Pakistan captain **

Beleaguered Rashid Latif, who ended a five-match ban at the weekend, resigned as captain of the Pakistan team on Wednesday.

“I have stepped down as captain, the reasons for which I don’t want to discuss now,” Latif told Reuters.

**"But I have not retired as a player and I am available for the home series against South Africa (starting next month). **

**“I have my reasons for deciding against captaining the side, but I am very keen to play as a player against South Africa and thereafter,” he added. **

The 34-year-old Latif, who has played 37 tests and 161 one-day internationals, decided to step down a day after being warned by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to act more responsibly if he wanted to retain the position.

“The PCB can only confirm that Rashid has resigned. He has given no reason to us for his decision,” PCB spokesman Samiul Hasan told Reuters.

Click here for complete article

PCB has already dont the worst. Now the next BAD thing they will do is to exclude Rashid from the team.

Oh any by the way once again this happend to KHI’s player. Why this always happen to KHI player? First Miandad and then Rashid? You cant find PCB anywhere to take action when Imran, Wasim, Waqar or someone from lahore do what Rashid did. At most they “fine” the captain and let them go.

May be this is not the case but negative thoughts do come in your mind if anything happens again and again!

Kuch bhi na kaha aur keh bhi gaeey
Kuch kehtey kehtey reh bhi gaeey :slight_smile:

Let's not give this a regional colour. Waqar and Wasim have both been sacked as captains as well, so these cheap comments are not worthy of comments. Look at it another way if PCB was so dead against Karachi players then why did they make Moin, Rashid and Miandad the captin in the first place and Miandad is still the coach. So get a life and stop all this nonsense.

^^ Ehsan bhai is right Decent bhai. Its not a regional issue, infact regional issue is a non-issue.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Let's not give this a regional colour. Waqar and Wasim have both been sacked as captains as well, so these cheap comments are not worthy of comments. Look at it another way if PCB was so dead against Karachi players then why did they make Moin, Rashid and Miandad the captin in the first place and Miandad is still the coach. So get a life and stop all this nonsense.

Well i said it may not be this way, but PCB always made it look like this way. But as far as Miandad, Rashid and Moin are concerned they were made captain where there was no other choice available. One thing that no one can deny is that Miandad and Rashid were always discriminated. Khir no need to argue on this as i my self don’t believe on this but i was just meant that PCB made things look like this.

If any one is hurt, I apologize.

*Originally posted by saby: *
just to correct you, i hink Waqar was very fair to Wasim throughout and publicly fought for his selection in tests against Bangladesh 2001, and did NOT commit anything like revenge!!

relatively speaking yes, but otherwise no. but point was that Pakistan cricket has history of captain choosing players

why do people get so offensive when someone mentions a regional issue.
You may not think so but it can happen, not everyone is perfect and reasonable like Ehsan bhai.

The way it was handled was probably improper, but I think it is the right decision, at this point.

Rashid was perhaps his own worst enemy. He will often dabble into unneeded controversies. The guy needed to keep his trap shut in public, develop better relations with the Board, and concentrate on his captaincy and weeket-keeping.

I think this started with Imran Khan. Right or Wrong is not the issue here but Imran handpicked his players. He has been asked a lot of questions about that over the years and he has always said that when the team looses the captain takes most of the blame so the captain should also be allowed to pick the players of his choice. The difference between him and others was that Imran picked players who he saw were able to win matches for Pakistan. Compare to that the following captains tried to pick players who they get along with. Moin played a long time under Akram's captaincy because he got along better with Akram compared to Rashid. I have nothing agaisnt Moin but the fact remains Rashid was a always a better wicket keeper.

As far as the regional issue is concerned I think you can name Wasim and Waqar but saying that Imran should have been sacked due to anything he did is a disgrace to the great man. He is by far the best captain Pakistan had and one of the best captains ever in the world. One of the very few great players who played better after being made captain. Imran's batting average as captain is over 50, which is amazing for an allrounder. The team acheived new heights under his leadership.

I have always maintained that Rashid should have either been sacked or should resign as captain after the "catch" incident. He should have either appealed against the decision or accept the fact the the team does not need a captain convicted of cheating. We have had this for a long time. Wasim Waqar caught smoking pot and still first Akram and then Waqar remained captains. I think the captain needs to be a responsible person and those are not acts suitable for a captain. If PCB is serious about getting the atmosphere change in the dressing room I think Rashid made the right decision. I dont know how good Inzimam is and who is going to follow him up if he fails but we shouldnt make compromises just because of that. I think Younis Khan or Razzaq will make a fine captain. I dont know about Youhana but I guess if he becomes vice captain he will have a chance to observe and see if he can handle it.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
why do people get so offensive when someone mentions a regional issue.
You may not think so but it can happen, not everyone is perfect and reasonable like Ehsan bhai.

Why does the regional issues always rise when something happens to a player from Karachi. Wasim was sacked after the world cup and Rashid was nominated the captain but no one questioned why a player from Lahore, mind you a much greater player then the nominated captain, was dropped and a player from Karachi was made captain.

People jumped up and down when Saeed Bin Nasir was not picked, yet no one cared that Misbah had not been given a fair chance to prove him self.

I think the board does not care about the regional bull**** they just give the chance to some sifarshi players on occasion. And what is so wrong with Inzimam being the captain apart from the fact that he is not from Karachi. I mean he is a senior players, been in the team longer then Rashid. Dont you think he deserves a chance too??? What has he done wrong. We won all the matches agaisnt Bangladesh there not a whole lot more he can do. I agree it was a weak opposition but he cant do anything better then 5-0.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
What has he done wrong. We won all the matches agaisnt Bangladesh there not a whole lot more he can do. I agree it was a weak opposition but he cant do anything better then 5-0.

I am not sure how much input he was providing to Waqar Younis as a vice captain, but his performance was not upto the mark (coincided with his out of form) during his tenure as VC. He may be given a chance since he appears to be in form and have won series against BD, hopefully we'll get similar results agains SA too.

Well looks like the outcome might not be so bad after all if Rashid wants to continue playing. If he isn't selected then it will prove that the knives really are out for him and I don't think Aamir or Zia would survive the backlash. As it stands I think it's probably going to die down. Whatever the rights and wrongs, the selection committee was absolutley correct in pursuing a re-building policy and i don't have any gripes with that and neither should Rashid have.

good for Rashid...otherwise we were smelling some disgrace again for him....he made right decision