Re: Good Wife = Good Cook
I would't mind. In fact, I am hoping there is a lack of cooking skills on her side so I can show off a little as I am a good cook myself (or so I think). :D
Man, if he can cook better than me, I’ll act even more dumb and let him feel good about himself for as long as possible. :halo:
See, there ya go. There’s always ways to go around a situation. ![]()
Noooooooooooooooooo …
I am struggling very hard against all the negativity of those “men vs women” threads … and your such comments are’t helping me … ![]()
Noooooooooooooooooo ............
I am struggling very hard against all the negativity of those "men vs women" threads ......... and your such comments are't helping me .... :(
I'm sorry.
This is by no means one of those threads, I'm actually sharing my own fear.
No need for sorry.
That was a tongue in cheek comment … ![]()
no more sympathy for you for your cooking fears ![]()
aur to aur nahi .. take a course in cooking .. theres like 3 month courses in colges or some private place ...
ya meri tareh .. learn from ur own mum ..best way is to just ..stand there and WATCH ..no practical ..and see whats going on .. whats going in first and what after ..
once after a few weeks of observation .. do a test run .. you ll ruin it at beginnings but ..as you progress .. you ll gain experience ..and you ll automatically know .. you ll feel it ...that you can finally cook ..
and the trick is .. to not let others test it ..and just test it your self .. and if you think its good then its good ..and when your husband tests it in future ..agar tujhe khush rakhna chaahta hai to he ll have to love your cooking cos you like your own cooking ..
best of luck :D
SU, you will be fine girl. Make sure the man you marry is patient and understanding.
He knows how to cook better then I do. Its a fact, Ive tried his food and its amazing.
My sis has been married for 4 years Mashallah and sporadically cooks now and then. They mostly eat out but now (in the past 2 months) her husband has implemented a new rule. He wont eat out unless its a special occasion. She has to cook so she has been.
Cooking is not the deal maker or the deal breaker...just a sweetener.
SU,
We’ve read enough **toxic in-laws **stories on GS to know by now that you can be the **BEST COOK **in the world…and if your monster-in-law and her INSECURITIES have **already **formed an UNYIELDING unfavorable opinion about you…then the best paratha, the strongest chai, the most flavorful biryani, and the richest kheer…ain’t gonna change nothing ![]()
On the contrary…it’ll just make her jealous. And besides, they must not be very nice-in-laws if you have to be a chef to make them accept you let alone like you. Point to be considered.
If your wife can't cook, give her the chance to learn and don't be angry with her, if the first few times she makes something, it's not perfect as you want her to be, she's human, she needs practice before she can cook properly. Especially if you know before marriage she can't cook everything yet, don't harass her after the marriage and tell your mother not to do that either. She needs a little time to properly learn to cook everything she can't make yet.
Cooking is very important in Pakistani society. Most people want a wife and daughter-in-law who can cook properly. But she can only learn that, if everyone gives her the chance in a normal way. Some people get nervous. I remember I used to get nervous. It was always like an exam for me. "Aadj na djani mirie haandie kharab na ho djai," was one of the many thoughts going through my head while cooking. Exams always made me nervous, I made many mistakes during exams, things I normally do oké, went wrong in exams. Nowadays, I'm less nervous than before. Husband and inlaws shouldn't make problems if the wife, the daughter-in-law is really trying to cook properly. Not everyone can cook something for the first time and make it exactly as it should be right away. Sometimes it can make her even more nervous, if she knows they will be very upset when it won't taste exactly as they want to.
Also husbands shouldn't use cooking as an excuse to be nasty to their wives. Sometimes the wife cooks something, it is oké, but to be nasty her husband says it's not tasty. Then the wife doubts herself, lets someone else taste it and turns out, her cooking was oké now, her husband was only using the cooking to be nasty to her. Aisi nahi karna chahyi.
Are you saying that all women learn how to cook for their husbands?
I learnt how to cook as I had to, my mum was ill, we had to cook to feed ourselves. I think the only men I have learnt to cook for are my dad and brother.
No one (apart from a few nasty aunties) have ever said to me ‘ooo you’re ready for marriage now that you can cook!’
I still only cook for my dad and brother, sometimes my grandad too. ![]()
Some people are so rich, that they don't need their wives to cook and keep Cooks instead! If you have the money, why not?! Lol. I know so many couples who eat out daily at lavish, but "healthy" restaurants too because they don't want to cook after a long day at work. Again, if you have the money...then its fair enough as its their choice and they are happy.
I personally, think it is really important for the wife to know how to cook. I used to love watching the beautiful smile on my Husband's face when I would present him with a buffet of food when he would come home from work on week-days! He was always so pleased with me and he loved cooking as much as I did, so we were always cooking together on weekends.
Cooking good dishes really is the way to a person's heart! Lol. :)
zahir hai good wife = good cook...
simply logic : jo bach gaye kha ke wohi compliment / complaint karain ge na.
I personally, think it is really important for the wife to know how to cook. I used to love watching the beautiful smile on my Husband's face when I would present him with a buffet of food when he would come home from work on week-days!
I personally, think it is really important for the Husband to know how to cook. I used to love watching the beautiful smile on my Husband's face when he would present me with a buffet of food when he would come home from work on week-days!
Good Husband = good cook... nuff said.
i second that ![]()
whenever I am unwell he brings breakfast in bed or lunch or whatever mealtime it is in the day
and he puts flowers on the tray because he knows I love them ![]()
Pfft cooking is mandatory. A wife's job is not to sit at home and watch soaps. She is supposed to take care of the man, his needs and his home.
Pfft cooking is mandatory. A mans job is not to sit at home and watch football. He is supposed to take care of the woman, you know, that female who carried his child for 9 months, and had to give birth to his offspring??? Remember her???
Of course I do. She is in the kitchen making me a sammich.
And cooking is not hard. And nothing is better than you two cooking together.
I see you’ve come a long way :halo:
You have no idea. Western food is easy. Coscous is irritating but otherwise easy. Desi food has come a long way as well. Easily make rotis and parhatas now.