Ok, so typically Pakistani/Desi parents (mainly mothers) want their daughters to marry doctors, engineers, lawyers, etc. But why is that? I feel like sometimes women are too much of golddiggers. For example, my best friend’s mother is obsessed with getting her daughter married off to a rich man. She rejected sooo many proposals from decent, goodlooking, middle-class guys just because she’s waiting for the best one. I mean, realistically speaking, she needs to change this about her, because she herself is from a pretty middle-class family… sure they have a nice car and house, but it’s not like they’re the richest people in the world. She has two sons, neither of them are doctors or lawyers, so I don’t understand why she has this junoon to get rich through her daughter. If everyone in the world thought the way she does, then no girl would want to marry her sons. ![]()
Anyway, so she finally got a rishta from a businessman and yes, he’s rich.. ooh lucky her! lol but my friend is soooooo not happy about it first of all cuz she just doesn’t like him, she talked to him and his personality aint all that, and then he doesn’t even look too great… plus he’s much older than her and a smoker which is a turnoff for her, yet her mother still wants to say yes…
These aunties never cease to baffle me…
Re: GOLDDIGGERS
yeah it's pretty much common among desi families
i think these desi mum's tend to want a rich guy for their daughters cos they feel that their daughters would be happier with all the securities a rich guy can provide compared to the love a poor guy can give.
I think its more to do with wanting their daughter to live in financial security and of course being able to brag to their friends abt how rich her prospective son in law is even if it makes her daughter miserable. Pretty sick really.
rich bhi ho, good looking bhi ho, personality bhi achi ho, attraction bhi ho ![]()
What does the girl have to offer? is she pretty? rich? has an awsome personality? Chaadar dekh ke paon phelanay chahiye ![]()
MashAllah my friend is pretty and she does have a good personality, but I mean there are much more educated people than her and her social status is nowhere near this doctor's... its more about her mother wanting the rich husband for her daughter than for the daughter... she was happy with the "regular" rishtas she got...
This woman is just crazy, she wants the most beautiful cultured and high class daughter-in-laws also, shes just status-crazy
agar chadar na ho to phir kitnai poun philanai chaiye.
…
she shouldn't marry him if she ain't happy with what she knows about him already, as far as the financial factor goes, as long as he works hard & isn't a lazy bum, & if your happy with what you already know about him, then you should persuade you parents that he's the one for you, don't let them choose for you.
Too all women who put wealth as the the most important factor of their future husband, understand this, men might be simple but they aint stupid, men don't love women who are money hungry or put too much emphasis on wealth, the marriage may last a lifetime but you won't be his only women, if your happy with such an arrangement then good for you, but believe me, he may fancy the pants off you, but if he don't love you, he won't think twice about being with other women, it's how us men think.
personally , money was never a prob for me , but i think for marriage a guy and gal must be fairly interested in each other . not just passing their time
I had a friend too whose mother only wanted DAKKTERS for her...and they did finally get her married off to a doctor.... the amazing thing is she now is a totally different person from before she got married....( I know people change )..but not like that!...But anyhow...she doesnt seem too happy to me with all the other challaakis she has to put up with...Im just amazed at the criteria people use to try to make their kids happy....I just remind her a lot of one of her rishta, the guy was not a daakter...but would have kept her happy...and not to mention damn goodlooking(he was pretty stable, job wise)...
So true. ![]()
And thats why I m rebelling against this nonsence ![]()
I refuse to become a doctor, engineer, or lawyer. ![]()
I m happy being a truck driver ![]()
ermm desi mentality. has a lot of flaws but thn so do many other cultures
lolz
I wouldnt want to personally marry a doctor etc....
id rather have a husband who loves me and i love him....more than anything in the world....rather than someone with alot of money who probably doesnt even know the meaning of love except the love of money.
i think this is just common in desis full stop regardless of gender of person to be married...for girls of course its the whole financial security thing but i know girls who have their rishtas asked for because theyre from a rich family and its the whole status thing and how much you getting in return for whatever youre giving.
Their mothers know from their own experiences, I guess. Once the love has whithered, at least there should be money to have the comforts. I think it is perfectly understandable behaviour.
Here’s what I want to know - why is this old badsoorat businessman intending on marrying a girl way younger than him, and with a personality that doesn’t match? She wouldn’t by hot by any chance? ![]()
Its a two-way street.
Some girls want the money.
Some guys want the looks.
Nothing else matters.
...with temptation, comes betrayal.
however much we disect this issue here, how are we gona change anything?
it goes for alot of issues that are discussed here
dont TALK about them DO something about it
instead of saying these aunties are so andso
why not consider in 20-30 yrs time u'll b one of them
so will you CHANGE or will you follow in the footsteps of those that went before you.