Gold or No Gold??

What are your views on wearing gold as a bride? Personally I think it’s a total waste of money! These days you can find artificial sets that are much classier looking and at a fraction of the price, here in the UK the trend has started changing and most girls are opting for artificial jewellery for their wedding, don’t you think it’s about time this trend changed in Pakistan too? Or do the desi women still “talk” at the wedding saying “haiii beti ko aik set bhi nahi daala”??

Re: Gold or No Gold??

Definitely the trend is still gold, but it's getting so prohibitively expensive I dnt knw how long v can keep it up.

LOL

Yaar if you can afford it, why not? I would rather pay more for something that will be an asset for me all my life rather than spending even few bucks on fake jewellery.

Yes, gold is going too expensive and hence people are moving for other options and there is nothing wrong with it.

It is a great investment

I don't think it's a matter of being able to afford it or not I just think you can get artificial jewellery that looks much better, and as for the "asset" aspect, we all know that if you take a gold set back to the jewellers the next day they'll probably give you about half the money you paid for it! Surely there are many better things to invest money in!

But is it? You don't end up making much "profit" if you sell it back despite the fact that the gold price may have gone up because the jewellers always knock off the "labour" or as they call it "banwayi"

looks better? well i dnt know how many wud agree with u on this, i certainly dnt. fakes can never luk better! but its yr choice at the end of the day, whatever suits you.

i personally know of so many people who have sold their jewellery to invest in a house or to start a new career, so it has certainly helped people. the way the prices have increased, no matter how much they cut on the making, you still end up getting thrice the profit if not more.

Yes I personally think that a lot of the artificial jewellery out there is so much classier especially Indian jewellery such as kyles collection, or any other swarovski sets

Gold or No Gold??

I do like artificial sets sometimes and they can be nice as additional jewellry pieces to match your clothes etc because gold is so super expensive. BUT I've seen far too many that look cheap. And if your jewellry looks cheap then so does everything else.
Argh I hate the plasticky ones with a passion.
Personally I'm not even a fan of yellow gold, it's too rich for me. I prefer white or even silver.
But I will be wearing real gold on the wedding an I'd rather wear less pieces of jewellry but have them look more elegant and classier than have a ton of fake and look cheap :-/
Also Kyles is nice but everything from Kyles looks so typically Kyles :-/ and so many brides in the UK are wearing it it's like spot the bride who isn't! And they are expensive too! When did artificial jewellry become so expensive? :-/ weird.

I'm also getting married and have this same issue. I've decided to wear gold on the barat day and artifical on the walima inshallah.....
Not all artifitial jewellery is tacky it depends on the quality just the same as gold....some gold pieces are realy expensive but look so tacky due to the quality of the make

i had the same dilemma and aunties got the best of me .. ill be wearing artificial on mehndi .. gold (a decent set not humongous) on reception...

Gold would not be a waste of money rest all would be. If its affordable then the person should definitely go for real gold. But again it purely depends upon your budget and personal preverences.

Yes people do “talk” and gossip about it. But remember haters are going to find faults no matter what so care NOT :biggthumb:

My only issue with gold is the zakat that needs to be paid on top of it each year. Other than that, if you can afford it, then why not. I think gold does look nice, but I've seen really nice artificial jewellery too. I'm hoping to have gold on rukhsati and artificial on walima because it'll give two different looks.

I'm 50-50 on it, the plus sides of gold is that it re-sellable, it's prices seem to be going up if you do choose to sell it, and it's something perfect to hand down to your kids. The cons are that obv, it's expensive and it's not practical to a lot of events. I've noticed that esp in the West, younger women tend to wear less gold and more artificial, esp for weddings.

Personally I'd go for gold, cos I already have some, although I wouldn't go for a huge set which you can only wear at your own wedding. I think I'd stick some pearl strands and that kinda stuff in as well, artificial doesn't appeal to me as much as there's not many decent, pretty designs where I live.

gold can be passed onto daughters or bahus..i wore gold and i wouldn't sell it, rather keep it and pass it on...

Technically the gold is the only thing that is going to retain its value so its not going to be a waste , speaking of course from a monetary aspect.

Only thing is eventually if u do decide to sell it , u have to keep in mind the cost deduction of karigiri / labor charge and stones. But people usually don't sell their wedding jewelry. Only the ones that are bought from time to time for daily wear , like small sets, bangles , plain chains etc, where the design is fairly simple so it has no labor costs as such and no stone weight deductions.

The problem with standard yellow gold is the design, you don't see that many good designs. Specially in places like Joy Alukkas and the likes that u see in the gulf. I doubt you get to see any real designs in the west as well.

Besides gold also used to make means kundan, polki, antique designs like meenakari, temple jewelry (not suitable not muslims i guess), pearl ( 21k gold used to make pearl jewlry), diamonds ( 18 K ) etc etc...

Have a look at Tanishq, Anmol jewelers, Mannubhai Jewelry, Amrapali, Amrita Singh, Alpana Gujral to name a few , it will give you a general idea, of what can be done with gold.

Sometimes with artificial jewelry the designs are much better, so what we do is if some thing really catches our fancy we have it made in gold. The results are you end up something no one else has and its of great monetary value. I have done this with 3 pairs of earrings and a bangle set. It looks soo good in gold as well. We asked the kaarigar to rub black water ( don't know the technical term for it) on the earrings and bangles to give it an antique look. So that way its not too yellowy.

You can copy the designs of those lovely victorian sets and have them made in white gold.

i'm guessin u live in the uk if ur a fan of Kyles :)

wat u could do if the family insist is have artificial for the wedding and have a smaller set u could take out to show all the aunties wen they cum round to see wat u were given by u parents. (altho i hate this tradition)

I will be doing the same :)

I'm going to be doing the same :)

Gold or No Gold??

I got sets I don't use and it is def something can can be passed down so my two cents are i would invest in getting arsty gold stament pieces that I can wear more often such as a collection if karas, earrings. Pendents and different sorts if long necklaces and rings and wear a artificial set on the shaadi. This way post shaadi, you can mix and match your pieces and use them more than having to wait for the day you can bust out that heavy set.