Going to Pakistan

So what do you wear, when you travel to Pakistan?

Most of us living outside of Pakistan aside from Middle East have to look forward to 10-12 hour + flights, as well hauling luggage, waiting, security checks etc, so finding something practical yet appropriate and stylish is something of a challenge :hmmm:
I would wear shalwar kameez and either marveled the women who wore high heels, churiyan, other zevar and kaam walay kapray, or envied the kids my age wearing sweats and comfortable stuff :smiley:

Re: Going to Pakistan

Well I normally travel in Shalwar Kameez because I find it more comfy but what I see people doing now is wearing sweats and hoodies on the plane but changing before they land. Good idea tbh but I literally couldnt be bothered to go through the effort.

That's me! I traveled with my father to his uber-conservative family's home and I offered to change before disembarking, but he said:

"Beti, jo tumko pehan'na hai, pehno." Never trust a guy. So I land wearing my skinny jeans with a long, loose sweater and t-shirt and, man, the upar sai neechay tak nazrain I got from the extended family still makes me shudder. I mumbled a quick salaam to everyone, asked where the washroom was, grabbed my shalwar kameez and ran to the shower to freshen up and change.

So, if your family in the motherland is like mine and you want to make a good impression, get off the plane wearing shalwar kameez.

kapray

^ I’m really glad to hear that :rolleyes:

sehrysh… :hehe:

I always wear shalwar kameez…never ever wore jeans, my mom w ould smack me one upside the head if I ever suggested it

Last time I went during the summer and wore a simple cotton outfit, no jewelery cz i couldn’ be bothered…at the time I was a newlywed (6 months) and my relatives had expected me to be decked out and bling blingin :smack:
They were like “itni saadi ho ke aye hai”

jeans n kurta

or now trousers r in ..ill probably wear that this time with medium-long length kameez

last time i went i wore black..imagine BLACK people in pak are sooo superstitious,,,they gave me looks, i had lots of makeup on and black trouser suit, with gold kadai, was too hot for it, but i wanted to look good not comfy...
this time il go, il have inshallah a baby with me, but still im gonna try my best to look good,

i have always packed 2 suits, one for the journey, no makeup, and then 30mins before landing, pop into bathroom, put on 2nd suit and lots of makeup-the passengers all look at u funny, but who cares.

I wear a georette shalwar kameez so it won't wrinkle during the flight, I refresh and put on makeup and jewlery before we land. Flat shoes!

I don’t think that’s odd at all. It may be uncomfortable and annoying to have to change…only problem I may think will happen is where to carry the extra outfit…

last time I went to pak (2007), traveled via PIA and stayed in manchester airport for about an hour–they refused to let us take our carry ons and we had to check it in in Manchester, which really sucked. Not sure if hte rules hvae changed again.. :hinna:

I wore comfy jeans and a T shirt.
ammi wore shalwar kameez.

interestingly enough i didn't see anyone get up to change before landing.

I wear a pair of comfy jeans and a loose top. Can't be bothered carrying dupatta, laptop, and handbag and luggage specially if I am traveling alone. People there are gonna gawk at you in any case. Ammi wears georgette shalwar qameez as it doesn't get wrinkled up.

I am not very comfortable travelling in desi clothes … specially salwar kameez … so I have stitched most of my dresses in one style : trouser and short shirts.

So either I pick one of those dresses to travel in . Short shirts that drop to a few inches above your knee… or Kurta’s are the best thing to travel in.. they can be worn with jeans or with desi style trouser … best part is , its the best of both the worlds , trendy and fashionable , yet doesnt come in the way when you are dealing with luggage …

One tip though: never wear skinny jeans on your way to Paksitan :hayaa: … I make sure I choose my most loose and khuli Jeans … looong loong ago , I even bought the boys jeans coz I was so scared of people giving me the looks :cb: I ended up looking like a clown though :snooty:

a long dress or something with comfy shoes.

I'm similar to CB in that I'm not comfortable travelling in shalwar kameez. But neither can I go in jeans. It's not uncommon to see girls in skinny jeans and stuff but I wouldn't be comfortable in western wear either. Even though wide leg pants have become fashionable in desi wear more recently, I've been wearing them for a long time. A black pair in suiting wool that doesn't crease easily and has a nice fall, that my mum made for me, are my favs. When short kameezes were in fashion I wore it with them and now longer kameezes. I usually try to keep it all black or a black combo so that I can wear a black shawl. I get really cold on the plane (and usually go in winter as well) so a shawl and my long cashmere cardy are essential.

The thing is...you're gonna get stared at no matter what you wear. So just wear what you feel comfortable in and ignore the eyes.

i wear shalwar kameez...i usually dont bother with wearing much makeup going...30 min before we land is when i get all dolled up. my mom used to change her clothes on the plain, but i think she stopped doing that as well.

whenever i go to pakistan i wear jeans and a long kameez or , whatever is trendy wearing uper the jeans , on that time with an abaya on it with hijaab or niqqab

but whenever i come back from pakistan i always wear shalwar kameez! lol

i never wear lots of makeup jewellery blah blah! it looks damn paindu if ur traveling qauz ihv seen so many woman traveling from or to pakistan, they look damn weird so sadgi is always on the first place!

i dotn change my clothes it look akward changing ur clothes all the time, gharr jake aram c naha doke kapre badal ke and ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz heheheheh lolz

but the fact is when ever i come back from pakistan i feel more comfirtable in shalwar kammet neitheri in ejans when i travel 2 pakistan

shauk shauk meine pehen jati hun but raste mein pata chalta hai ghalti hui yaar! everytime! :rotfl:

Usually tracksuit bottoms, not much makeup and no jewellery so I don't set off the metal detectors.. don't bother changing till after I get there and need to go out cos the majority of my family aren't conservative, my cousins wear shorts and vest tops at home..

Mum wears hijab but isn't particularly cultural so she isn't fussed what I wear as long as I'm not showing tooo much skin in public. My dad couldn't care less what I wear.

I usually wear loose pants and a long top. I've always visited Pakistan in winters so the long sweaters and cardigans plus the shawls are good enough to cover.

shalwar kameez always, so comfortable!