Going to Pakistan in December

What should I expect after 8 years? What should I bring?

Re: Going to Pakistan in December

Bring a beard or be prepared to be beheaded by Taliban.

That is if you are going to the Islamic Emirate of Waziristan.

Dont worry! He already got one.

Do not bring too much stuff otherwise you take risk of being robbed on your way to home.

P.S. As you are likely to land in Karachi being memon!

just bring the usual stuff + few warm clothes as it will be cold in december. nothing to worry about mullahs / police / robbers…its just bunch of BS ppl like to post without any real reasons…i was in lahore for a month n it went well…was in karachi in march and fully enjoyed my stay…so go without any fears and have fun. :k:

you must be rich. how the hell does one afford a ticket to paki in high season. freaking 2100-2400 dollars...

get artifact for ur colleagues.

Hey I’m going Pak too, maybe we can link-up. :blush:

Who said I have a beard? And who said I was memon?

Thanks for the serious posts.

Bring yo mama. You'll need someone to make decisions for you.

What has "General" turned into....

crickepplaya, I go every year and I haven't seen siginificant changes in last 10 years, other than more traffic and pollution. people are angrier, less thankful and a bunch of smart arses eveywhere you go. no matter what you do, do not use your cell phone in public, unless you are in the car. you will be asked to give it away at gun point in no time. my nephew just robbed at gun point his 7th mobile phone in last one year and he wasn't even using it. can't think of much else at this point.

Looking at the replies, a Place where Shayateen are chained :D

cricket players are usually straight but you never know. :wink:

I have heard that there are way too many cars, cable TV is everywhere and cell phone is like um, broken cassette players, even the nayee has one.

I am just glad I will get to see so many family members and friends after suchhh a longg time.

nayee ko chhorayn, thailay walay le ke ghoomtay hayn "bhoosi tukray walaa... teen dabbaay waala.... [ring ring] hello??"

Welcome to your country---the beautiful and exciting, rising, jubiliating PAKISTAN

Eight years gap---will make you see;

AT KARACHI;

1. **Increase number of FLYOVERS and Complexes. A few high profile eat outs like; GUNSMOKE, PAPA SA'ALIS, CLIFTON GRILL & ROASTERS etc. With cinemas almost gone--a jampacked CINEPLEX at Seaview Clifton---still going strong on KHUDA K LEEAY! **
    AT LAHORE;

2. The beauty of DECEMBER's chilly nights--and visits to the FOOD STREETS at Gowalmandi and ANARKALI areas. The never ending high fly Fashion Shows at ROYAL PALMS passing through Imran Khan's Zaman Park Residence. The PLAZA Cinema still stands tall with two cowboys standing at each corner! The memorable picnics at CHANGA MANGA forest named after two brothers. The eat outs at M.M.Alam Road....from "DHAABA" to FREDDYs to KOOKOOs....and of course the ANDAROON-E-LAHORE's famous KHALIFA BAKERS.. which has World Class "KHATAIEE" (matching the description which Amibath as Dasrath...gave to Abhishek at that bar in the famous movie "Bunty Aur Bubbly" on the women he met on bus....and her giving him WORLD CLASS 'PASTRIES" before informing him that "mer shaadi fixxx ho gayee hai") and......not to forget the genuine PAYAs of PHAJJA....! plus a merry ride to RAVI bridge totally infested with traffic--for Motorway & GT Road....!!
    You'll find Atchison College and Lawrence Gardens untouched...and standing aglore.

AT ISLAMABAD:

3. **The beautiful MARGALLA EAT OUT on DAMAN-E-KOH....which would make you take decision to spend the whole night there--staring at the panoramic view of Islamabad at night (hiding the ugly politics aglore down there). **

4. A visit to PIR SOHAWA would take you to ICE LAND in Pakistan...just about 40 minutes ride through hilly road--passing through DAMAN E KOH and possibly crossing paths with the only TIGER-CAT remaining in the hills with quite a large number of Monkeys literally begging or looking upon you for food.

5. Visit to nearby beauties like BHURBUN & NATHIAGALI should be a must to match what SWITZERLAND doesn't possess....and dont forget to visit that famous CHURCH of 1898 built by Miss Potts who later had a small motel in Murree hills also.
    No...you dont need to bring anything....just yourself and your heart & soul to enjoy what PAKISTAN has for you and the guests/tourists.

Khush Rahein...and BON VOYAGE from where-ever you are to the land of hospitality---often misinterpreted on International front!

-Raju Jamil (Karachi)

2 Likes

^ Arjay explained it very well :k:

oh pal I'm going to Pakistan in December, too!! :)

Please ensure to fly PIA....your country's own airline!

Be PAKISTANI
Buy PAKISTANI.......

Khush Rahein.........

-Raju Uncle

I don’t mind PIA at all, but my parents are fed up with the past experiences they’ve had with PIA. We’re flying Emirates. I don’t mind. :phati: