Re: Going to Pakistan in December
Emirates here too!! :)
Thanks Jamil bhai.
Emirates here too!! :)
Thanks Jamil bhai.
Let’s have a guppy meet on the airoplane, pal! ![]()
i wanna go to Pakistan in december too ![]()
I was gonna go this December too. Soooooo close then it got postponed until like May ![]()
Itne saal ho gaye Pakistan gaye huwey ke pata nahi kitne saal ho gaye. Aakhri dafa Dec, 2005 mai gya tha ![]()
LOL! 2 saal??? yaar shochain 8 saal.
How about a guppy meet in Lahore, beta ji? You can bring your parents with you. ![]()
IF LOT OF MEMBERS FROM GSF ARE VISITING LAHORE IN DEC-07 IT WOULD GREAT TO HOLD A GSF GT AT ROYAL PALMS OR GOWALMANDI FOOD STREET.....THEY CAN COME WITH THEIR PARENTS OR RELATIVES...AND IT WOULD REALLY BE SOMETHING UNIQUE THAT AN INTERNET GROUP MEMBERS FROM WORLD OVER...MEET AND EXCHANGE GUP SHUP, LAUGHTER AND GOODNESS OF THEIR COUNTRY PAKISTAN.
NO NAME DROPPINGS HERE---I THINK?
KHUSH RAHEIN.......LAHOE IS OUT OF THIS WORLD --- DECEMBER THROUGH MARCH--NOT TO FORGET THE GREAT BASANT FEASTS!! IN FEBRUARY.......
-Raju Uncle
INSHALLAH I m going to Pakistan in Decmeber, too!!
Though everything is available in great variety there, if you want to bring gifts for family and friends consider: chocolates, shoes, purses, perfume/cologne, artificial jewelry, soft cardigans for females, pull overs for males, shirts for guys.
And maybe a sweater of two for yourself.
HA im goin in November InshAllah
13 december from eithad ,nats will be in lahore too inshahALLAH:)
pretty well explained. things have changed a lot. ppl r more materialistic..rich keeps on getting richer. TOO MUCH TRAFFIC. it will take forever to get from one spot to another. (and this is from last yr's experiecne, i heard it got even worse) ppl will try to rip u off like anything once they know u r not 'local'. lahore (since thats where i went) is much more developed in terms of buildings/malls/stores etc etc. God, I can go on and on but gotta get back to work =)
Welcome to your country---the beautiful and exciting, rising, jubiliating PAKISTAN
Eight years gap---will make you see;
AT KARACHI;
**Increase number of FLYOVERS and Complexes. A few high profile eat outs like; GUNSMOKE, PAPA SA'ALIS, CLIFTON GRILL & ROASTERS etc. With cinemas almost gone--a jampacked CINEPLEX at Seaview Clifton---still going strong on KHUDA K LEEAY! ** AT LAHORE;
The beauty of DECEMBER's chilly nights--and visits to the FOOD STREETS at Gowalmandi and ANARKALI areas. The never ending high fly Fashion Shows at ROYAL PALMS passing through Imran Khan's Zaman Park Residence. The PLAZA Cinema still stands tall with two cowboys standing at each corner! The memorable picnics at CHANGA MANGA forest named after two brothers. The eat outs at M.M.Alam Road....from "DHAABA" to FREDDYs to KOOKOOs....and of course the ANDAROON-E-LAHORE's famous KHALIFA BAKERS.. which has World Class "KHATAIEE" (matching the description which Amibath as Dasrath...gave to Abhishek at that bar in the famous movie "Bunty Aur Bubbly" on the women he met on bus....and her giving him WORLD CLASS 'PASTRIES" before informing him that "mer shaadi fixxx ho gayee hai") and......not to forget the genuine PAYAs of PHAJJA....! plus a merry ride to RAVI bridge totally infested with traffic--for Motorway & GT Road....!! You'll find Atchison College and Lawrence Gardens untouched...and standing aglore. AT ISLAMABAD:
**The beautiful MARGALLA EAT OUT on DAMAN-E-KOH....which would make you take decision to spend the whole night there--staring at the panoramic view of Islamabad at night (hiding the ugly politics aglore down there). **
A visit to PIR SOHAWA would take you to ICE LAND in Pakistan...just about 40 minutes ride through hilly road--passing through DAMAN E KOH and possibly crossing paths with the only TIGER-CAT remaining in the hills with quite a large number of Monkeys literally begging or looking upon you for food.
Visit to nearby beauties like BHURBUN & NATHIAGALI should be a must to match what SWITZERLAND doesn't possess....and dont forget to visit that famous CHURCH of 1898 built by Miss Potts who later had a small motel in Murree hills also. No...you dont need to bring anything....just yourself and your heart & soul to enjoy what PAKISTAN has for you and the guests/tourists.
Khush Rahein...and BON VOYAGE from where-ever you are to the land of hospitality---often misinterpreted on International front!
-Raju Jamil (Karachi)
pretty well explained. things have changed a lot. lahore (since thats where i went) is much more developed in terms of buildings/malls/stores etc etc. God, I can go on and on but gotta get back to work =)
My half of khandaan being in Lahore since 1947...and at least 20 trips a year to the walled city....Lahore is another home to a Karachi born, bred and fed like me. HOWEVER, its quite surprising to know that Lahore is much more developed on buildings/malls/stores etc etc?
PACE vanished through fire--years back. H.KARIM BAKHSH at Defence or LCCH is a huge mall or departmental store....otherwise I am still trying to match the six huge malls of Karachi and over 12 buildings/residential complexes which are a far cry at Lahore---because that beautiful city is not cut out or tailored to have buildings.
YES...the reincarnation and revampment of certain very old buildings in Lahore is worth the mention...like the old FREE MASON affront WAPDA House...which has been beautifully done by Bank AlFalah.
Speaking of Karachi traffic--I thank thee Lord...that its not he DUBAI's sickening traffic situation---I often observe and curse waiting in car to travel from Bur Dubai's Bur Juman to LAMCY's in one hour+ but then again the traffice at Karachi now stands relatively well controlled through various flyovers and underpasses.....and wait till 2010 when visiting the city will be worth every cent.
Having said that---Lahore in terms of traffic control has done extremely well during Shahbaz Sharif days--when he turned Lahore into a city of delight by building some direly required underpasses near the canal leading to Punjab Unversity and Thokarr Niaz eg plus the huge deluge of residences coming up at Faisal Town, Johar Town and further..with many colonies and societies..even crossing the motorway area.
The real problem is the access to a car made easy by the Banks through consumer loans on easy terms (my Bank UBL included here)...and ittle did the authorities realize that the deluge or flood of cars on road will create a horrendous situation on traffic----and the more the cars--the more the problems--because geographical siuations are binded by various endowments and its not easy to build underpasses--flyovers or signal free corridors---without hugely inconveneincing the public---which, I believe is your plight as well as experienced during your visit to Lahore.
Things are getting better and in control both in Karachi and Lahore--I do promise you that. And at his juncture---I must also mention here that ISLAMABAD's traffic these days is a nightmare itself....due to some reasons as scribed above.
Khush Rahein......
-Raju Uncle (Karachi)
ON A LIGHTER NOTE...here's something (NOT MY SCRIBE!) you may enjoy to know more about KOLACHI-1857 nd KARACHI now;
*THIS IS KARACHI *
*A CITY where everything is possible,
especially the impossible. *
*Where people first love and then marry, *
*Where there is place for every Tom, Dick and Harry. *
*Where telephone bills make a person ill, *
*Where a person cannot sleep without a pill. *
*Where carbon dioxide is more than oxygen, *
*Where the road is considered to be a dustbin. *
*Where college canteens are full and classes empty, *
*Where Adam teasing is also making an entry. *
*Where a cycle reaches faster than a car, *
*Where everyone thinks himself to be a star. *
*Where sky scrapers overlook the slum, *
*Where houses collapse as the monsoon comes. *
*Where people first act and then think, *
*Where there is more water in the pen than ink. *
*Where the roads see-saw in monsoon, *
*Where the beggars become rich soon. *
*Where the roads are leveled when the minister arrives, *
*Where college admission means hard cash, *
*Where cement is frequently mixed with ash. *
This is Karachi my dear, **
*But don't fear, just cheer, *
**Come to Karachi every year !
Dancing bears
Painted wings
Things I almost remember
And a song someone sings
Once upon a December...
Someone holds me safe and warm
Horses prance through a silver storm
Figures dancing gracefully
Across my memory...
Far away, long ago
Glowing dim as an ember
Things my heart used to know
Once upon a December
Someone holds me safe and warm
Horses prance through a silver storm
Figures dancing gracefully
Across my memory...
Far away, long ago
Glowing dim as an ember
Things my heart
Used to know
Things it yearns to remember...
And a song
Someone sings
Once upon a December ..."
December . december . december
i love december .....hehehe
Dancing bears Painted wings Things I almost remember And a song someone sings Once upon a December...
Someone holds me safe and warm Horses prance through a silver storm Figures dancing gracefully Across my memory...
Far away, long ago Glowing dim as an ember Things my heart used to know Once upon a December
Someone holds me safe and warm Horses prance through a silver storm Figures dancing gracefully Across my memory...
Far away, long ago Glowing dim as an ember Things my heart Used to know Things it yearns to remember...
And a song Someone sings Once upon a December ..."
December . december . december i love december .....hehehe
Good one...and reminds me of Alfred Lord Tennyson's "BROOK" !
Please....no name dropping here :) I really haven't met Tennyson :) but it would be unfair not to drop his name here (much to the disdain of some1 )
Khush Rahein....and keep up such poetic works--if this is yours.
-Raju Uncle