Going makeup free

Re: Going makeup free

nm

why never mind? Aur kuch kehna hai to keh do.

I will PM you.

Ok but i want your knowledge and wise words to be seen by all also.

Well, she states, towards the end of the article, that many women don't feel "valuable" without makeup. The reason I brought up the time it takes most women to apply makeup is to point out that, for most women, it is hardly the thought consuming issue she implies it to be and is simply a quick 10 minute routine akin to brushing one's teeth or washing one's face.

**EXACTLY. You have to actually BEHOLD or SEE the person's looks to be able to comment so confidently on their physical appearance. You start off your response with this cliche quotation in which one's opinion of a person's looks depends upon their visual faculties...upon making a judgment after actually SEEING the person...................but then you veer off to "imagining" the beauty of a person through their writing.

If one smiles at compliments and blushes at compliments we can tell that this person has a jovial character and great mesmerizing personality.

**Nope. Mesmerizing is too intense of a word. I doubt that many people would equate smiling and blushing at a compliment to having a "mesmerizing personality." It may be said that the person is cheerful, or receives a compliment with confidence, or feels awkward/shy about the compliment. But these two acts alone don't.....at least in my opinion....equate to having a mesmerizing personality.

This will get translated into beauty in the eye of this beholder at the least. Dark circles/birth spots or beauty spots, who decides? Blesmishes/scars or markers of life/character? Colour/length of hair, skin colour don't have to translate into beauty and neither do proportion of facial features or height/weight. Some people find shorter people better looking and others tall people. Some find skinny people good looking and in other countries those with more weight are seen as better looking. Sure there are extremes in either side. I find if you like someone's words, their personality and if you can relate to them you will find them beautiful no matter if you have not seen them yet.

**Yes, physical beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Some people like shorter individuals and others prefer taller ones and bla bla bla. But the fact remains that the subjective opinions are formed after SEEING the individual in person or perhaps an actual photograph of them. What you're doing is stretching a connection between writing and their looks. It's a stretch. A bigger stretch than physical beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

**Have you asked yourself why it's not accepted by many? It's not necessary that others should agree with your views. But think about it. Generally speaking, people are more accepting of compliments that have a degree of objectivity in them. I know that sounds like an oxymoron thing to say when compliments are opinions and therefore subjective. But what I mean is that let's say that you were to compliment someone on their writing. Although others might not like the writing, the writer will appreciate the comment because they know that you have actuallyread their work. A person is more likely to be flattered by a compliment on their looks if the praiser has actually seen their face. Without doing so, it reads as excessive, ott, ingenuine, may even produce feelings of awkwardness.

I did not mention hoor or pari or apsara because I've never met one so I don't know how they look like.

**Exactly. Just as you haven't met the posters in real life and so you don't know what they look like to so confidently attribute some sort of epithet to their looks.

**Yup. Savera. That's ALL you have to go by. You're very limited.

************Some members do describe themselves and i do take their words to mean that since they match their writing. I am sorry for not taking your words seriously about the circles. You know more than me obviously about your looks. I've just heard this comment about dark circles by many desi girls and i feel sometimes they under-estimate themselves. Of course unless i see you i cannot make a judgment. I didn't mean to downplay your own views of your dark circles.

I do feel you can tell how someone is from their writing. Perhaps i should compliment words and personalities instead of physical. Some can say you can't tell someone's personality by looking at words you need to have a conversation. I think that's stretching it as well. for example when i read Jolie's words i feel like she has a royal presence about her befitting a Punjabi princess of past. I can't not think of that impression once that impression is made in my mind. There were a few posts that suggested it so that's why i made the link.

I will be mindful not to make such deductions in future.

i don't ask that it is accepted by many. It's just the way i think. I don't really talk that much about appearances. Most of the time it is about other less superficial things.
Perhaps rather than commenting on appearance and dark circles, it would be better if i say that i like how your long messages are thorough, wise and flow well. They indicate you are logical, systematic and have an eye for fine detail. Would that seem more appropriate, respectful and less bollywood-intense?

redvelvet mujhe ghabrahat ho rahi hai to open your PM.

I have a feeling like few other GS members you might ask me to tone down compliments and cease being the way i am. I really did not mean to cause people to feel at unease or awkward with the compliments though they may come across ott they are not ingenuine.

Alright, Savera. Praise away undeterred, I should leave you be. :flower1:

Like i have got past messages on the complimenting issue iss liye ghabrahat. I didn’t think people would mind compliments when every day when negativity is more commonly found than positivity. I dont mind your comments on my messages. You should say what you think.
Agar aap ko pasand nahi hai ke hum aap ki tareef karein without objective proof hum nahi karenge. I don’t want you to feel awkward or uncomfortable. Or anyone else for that matter. So if people have objections i am open to hearing it.

Also not sure why it should be seen as awkward when females compliment females or males compliment males. even if done in an intense way. It is part of South Asian/Middle eastern culture and history. Throughout time friendships were given primary importance and friends used to write gushing poetry for each other and make the friend a muse for their creative work. It is only in modern times this is seen in awkward way. For example Rumi/Shams and even in Lahore to this day the tombs of Sufi poet Shah Hussain is buried with his friend Madho Lal. THe well known phrase “Tis better to have loved and lost then never to have loved at all” was written by a male friend to another friend who was dying of cancer in the 18th C.

Anyway don’t worry mere aise karne ka koi iraada nahi. I understand your points that compliments may not seen genuine if you do not see a person. Sometimes some things i can’t help myself doing but i will tone it down.

I don't wear makeup too because I want to look natural. Moisturizer, sunscreen press powder, and lip balm is enough for me. Sometimes makeup can cause breakouts or other skin problems. I am comfortable by not wearing makeup and it made my skin breathe. I also have a simple skin care routine to have a beautiful skin.

It all depends. I would wear makeup if I am going to a function. But it's OK that I beat around with bare face, which is rather comfy.