Going makeup free

Re: Going makeup free

I agree. Skin definitely stays younger. People assume you are way younger than reality. What i found distressing when i was younger is when desi friends would refuse to go out with you if you don't wear makeup or they would insist on putting makeup on you. I find that humiliating.
It's brave of you and i admire that.

what is it about dark circles that makes one want to get rid of them? In some ways could they be seen as attractive.

I just remember seeing a woman that came to a formal get-together with eye discharge under her lashes and on the sides of her eyes and it was like she didn't even bother looking in the mirror before she left the house. I mean atleast wash your face in the morning before running out for the day forget about the dark circles or putting in the effort to put makeup on. I'm thinking possibly she just had way too much on her plate and just didn't have time...who knows. It happens.

I don't think wearing makeup or not is a huge deal. Most women that I know, who wear makeup, don't spend ages putting on makeup (15 minutes or less). I also know quite a few women who wear minimal or no makeup. Frankly, there isn't anything remarkable about either. The girl in the article is hardly the fist person to forego wearing makeup. At uni, I knew several girls who never wore makeup, even to formal events. To each, his own, I guess.

I only wear makeup at weddings. Dnt c what the big deal is.

Me and you can share the Nobel prize :D I dnt ware make up either.

You can get away with no makeup because I've seen ur pics and you've a clear complexion and MashaAllah se don't need makeup. I, on the other hand, do need it for concealing circles and a couple blemishes...but I am dheet and lazy and therefore go without unless an occasion warrants it.

I don't understand where people are getting the idea that somehow the girl in the article is lambasting women for spending hours on make up? How much time it physically takes to apply the makeup is not even the main focus of the article.

You are not the odd one out eastern11 :hugz:. I don’t know about being makeup free or not but when I see a Sephora :wub:, a Ulta:wub:or the beauty section of any store. It’s really like i’m a little kid in a toy store. Not so much about the foundations/concealers(more of a necessity) but everything else fashion/beauty.

I guess you gets no daaark circles…? If you do,what’s your secret weapon against 'em pesky buggers?

I don't think you need it either and I am sure MashaAllah se aap ki aankhon ko conceal karne ki koi zaroorat nahi hai. sometimes i think we are too over critical of ourselves.

People are talking of the virtues of those who wear little makeup but i have to say I do admire those who are experts in the area and know what works best for them. I feel lke a novice/amateur in these things.

I think this is what the girl is also trying to convey, and I personally agree with her.

Sorry I forgot to answer your earlier post, yes makeup ages you pretty terribly if you don't take it off properly before going to bed. Never ever sleep with your makeup on.

I agree that's what she is trying to convey .I think she looks fine.
Makeup does age someone especially if you don't know how to use it well. You forgot the first part of my post about the Punjabi postcard. Khair hota hai.

That was a very generous compliment, not sure if I deserve it. But thank you very much indeed. :)

It was indeed very well deserved and based on past threads. Aap apne aap ko underestimate na karein otherwise i will have to post such things more often :)

Savera, I do need it. You haven't seen me in real life to know whether I'd need concealing or not. Pehlay banday ko asal zindagi main dekh to lo before deciding that they are picture of perfection, or khoobsurati personified, or some other epithet of of beauty.

Ok i respect your opinion though it differs from mine. You can get an idea of a person by what they write and how they write.
Before thinking they are like chand ka tukra without the daag. Or something like that? Agar aise hua to phir main kisi ko bhi yahan compliment nahi kar sakti minus 2-3 people ive seen.

I haven't seen @Jolie lekin phir bhi she is a postcard picture of Punjabi perfection
How do i know this? I know this because her beauty transcends images and i can just tell from the eloquent flow of her words.

If a picture can tell a thousand words then a thousand words must be equal to a picture.

I respectfully disagree with you. Savera, how can you get an "idea" about a person's looks based on how they write? The reality is that you can't. Their posts, no matter how intelligent or profound or inspiring you find them to be, provide no clues whatsoever about whether or not the writer's complexion is marred by dark circles or other blemishes, the color or length of their hair, their skin tone and proportion of facial features, their height and weight etc. The only exception would be in the instance that the writer has discussed details of their physical appearance in their posts.

What you're relying upon is your imagination, maybe even fantasy. Believing with all your heart that the Guppan behind the posts you admire is nothing short of a hoor or a pari or an apsara .....is Bollywoodish-intense, no?

I respectfully disagree as well and i respect that you respectfully disagree with me. Beauty and looks are in the eye of the beholder. What one finds unattractive another may find attractive. I agree if they write about their looks one can get an idea. I just feel if their writing is so deep, profound and khoobsurat that this will be reflected in their thoughts and I believe our thoughts, our personality does get reflected in our looks. If one is always stern, never smiling and harsh this will be moulded in their facial features. If one smiles at compliments and blushes at compliments we can tell that this person has a jovial character and great mesemerising personality. This will get translated into beauty in the eye of this beholder at the least. Dark circles/birth spots or beauty spots, who decides? Blesmishes/scars or markers of life/character? Colour/length of hair, skin colour don't have to translate into beauty and neither do proportion of facial features or height/weight. Some people find shorter people better looking and others tall people. Some find skinny people good looking and in other countries those with more weight are seen as better looking. Sure there are extremes in either side. I find if you like someone's words, their personality and if you can relate to them you will find them beautiful no matter if you have not seen them yet.

ANyways happy to disagree as i know my viewpoint is not accepted by many

I did not mention hoor or pari or apsara because I've never met one so I don't know how they look like. All we have to go by is writings about them. How can we know that paintings/drawings/sculptures of hoors, paris and apsaras match their reality. I am a creative writer so I like to use my imagination and paint a picture in my mind. No no Bollywood-like intensity at the moment. I've expressed no inclination to stalk, serenade or to express this admiration in the form of a behaya item number. (im jk about the last line.) :)