go back to pakistan

Okay, this is for the young ones in this forum. I am currently thinking about going back to pakistan after I finish my studies. I know I can get a job there for sure. So I am wondering, those pakis living abroad, are you guys planning to go to pak for good at any time in the future.

I don’t have any problem with america. But your own land is your own land. I am not the one who gets flustered by heat, poverty, pollution etc etc etc that I know I might face when I go to pak. I am not one of those “nazook” desi. Is there anyone else in this forum that has the same line of thinking as I do.

well...i hate heat....i live in nyc so i'm used to stinkiness and crowds and pollutions...i hate them but i'm used to em...and my freinds say i'm "nazak" ...i probably am...but anyway....

well have u ever been to pak before? and spent an extended period of time there as well? I hope you know that if uve never been there, there is a huge chance that ur body will react violently and u will get sick...90 % of the time that happens coz ur body's in shock and not used to the climate change, the food, water, etc.

I've never spent more than 4-5 weeks whenever I go there but right now I'm considering taking a semester off and just staying there. I think my taking time off is more to do with my being sick of here than of any acutal love for pakistan.

But still being raised in america and spending the better part of my high school years fighting to be raised as an American girl, I proudly say I'm pakistani and identify more with my paki side than American side :)

*Originally posted by Sara516: *
well...i hate heat....i live in nyc so i'm used to stinkiness and crowds and pollutions...i hate them but i'm used to em...and my freinds say i'm "nazak" ...i probably am...but anyway....

well have u ever been to pak before? and spent an extended period of time there as well? I hope you know that if uve never been there, there is a huge chance that ur body will react violently and u will get sick...90 % of the time that happens coz ur body's in shock and not used to the climate change, the food, water, etc.

I've never spent more than 4-5 weeks whenever I go there but right now I'm considering taking a semester off and just staying there. I think my taking time off is more to do with my being sick of here than of any acutal love for pakistan.

But still being raised in america and fighting to be raised as an American girl, I proudly say I'm pakistani and identify more with my paki side than American side :)

well i've spent 15 years of my life there. And I've been there on every summer break for the last 5 years. I've gotten sick there. But then again, i've gotten sick here also. Right now my mind is made up about 96% that I will go back. Surprising thing is that my parents actually agree with my decision. My family there is pretty well off so I don't think I will face any monetary challenges either. SCREW IT, I'M GOING BACK.

But still being raised in america and fighting to be raised as an American girl, I proudly say I'm pakistani and identify more with my paki side than American side

Sara you say this a lot, so I'm going to ask finally! If you identify more with your Pakistani side, why are you fighting to be raised as an American girl??????? I'm not being mean I'm just curious!

heheh it’s kewl :flower1:
I meant that I used to fight the whole being a paki grl a lot. I guess u cud call me a former ABCD. I wasn’t allowed to do a lot of things that regular girls did, like hanging out with friends or going to parties and stuff…not boyfriends or slumber parties or going to clubs, i wasn’t that crazy lol, but just lil things. It was like…why is my bro allowed to do this and that, but i’m not , ya kno?? and it was hard, believe me…i wud never put my daughter through that BS…i mean ill still get annoyed when my mom yells at me for coming home at 7 PM but it’s far better than before.

In the last year or so i’ve made a lot of desi friends (met a lot of beeyotchez too but that’s another story :slight_smile: ) and just became proud of my culture and religion. I appreciated my parents a lot more than I did in hs.

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *

well i've spent 15 years of my life there. And I've been there on every summer break for the last 5 years. I've gotten sick there. But then again, i've gotten sick here also. Right now my mind is made up about 96% that I will go back. Surprising thing is that my parents actually agree with my decision. My family there is pretty well off so I don't think I will face any monetary challenges either. SCREW IT, I'M GOING BACK.

If you're so sure then why did u open up this thread??? :p

My dads kinda cool wit my decision to take a semester off , my mom n bro aren't...oh well, i have nine months to decide :)

*Originally posted by Sara516: *

If you're so sure then why did u open up this thread??? :p

My dads kinda cool wit my decision to take a semester off , my mom n bro aren't...oh well, i have nine months to decide :)

take some reading lessons. I opened the thread to ask everyone if they felt the same way as I did. I wasn't expecting you guys to convince me either way.

sentiments i can identify with atlanta. i’ve always been planning my studies gearing myself towards being able to go back home. just a couple of things. be prepared for immense frustration. idealism sustains you for a while, but i’ve seen many people who atleast some times regret their decision. they say the same to me, and it helps to know that this feeling is common when it will hit me.

secondly, before you burn your boats here, make sure you do get a job in pakistan. worthwhile jobs are very competetive. tech jobs are relatively easier to find, but they’re lowly paid.

all in all be prepared to look at other alternatives. entrepreneurship for example can be very financially rewarding and can orient your career in pakistan.

good luck :k:

hey i kno how to read!!! I wrote a book when i was 5!!! so THERE!! :stuck_out_tongue: :mocking:

That's good. I think you should still have a rehne ka thikana over here until you get a good job in Pakistan. I mean, it's really hard to get a job over there. Not many job openings and too many unemployed people dying for jobs.

Atlanta

hmm

i also came back to pakistan after finishing my studies from amreeka

uptil now i have alhamdulillah never once regretted my decision

and i love it here

an ofcourse the amreeki degree helps in landing u a better job

so its a good idea :k:

in the end it all boils down to where u wana live coz life is not a bed of roses so dont expect it to be that either in amreeka or in pak

so rehna banday ko wahan chahiyay jahan us ka dil lagta hae

in amreeka i used to feel like a fish out of water, like a pardesi, mera dil nai lagta tha udhar. idhar it feels like HOME and its a precious and peaceful and very sweet feeling.

mere khayal se apna mulk apna hi hota hae

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD :jhanda:

Although I don't have any such plans to go back and live there. I guess I'll stay here and get married here. My parents want to go back and Pakistan is one of their choices and the second is England.

sara
just wanna put in my two cents,
try to finish school first. Once u take a semester
off it might be a bit hard to start getting used to school
and books again. :)

Atlanta, i knew from the day I got here that eventually I will go back inshaAllah. The problem with me is that I have immense amout of loans from medical school that I have to start paying off once i start working. Even though i would like to go back right now, but being realistic I know that it will take atleast 10-15 years to be stable enough to take a risk like that. Specially in medicine, i dont know how much you can do there. Even though I definitely want to go there and help the poor, but you need money for that too. And knowing that it will take atleast 10-15 years for me to be able to go back, I dont know what the situation will be at that time. Aot of factors play a role when you make such a decision. As far as seeing poverty and pollution and everything else, I did my FSc from pakistan so i was there most part of my life. I am not worried about getting annoyed by that.
Anyways, I am sure there are alot of people that think this way. I know a few of my friends that are working very hard here so that they can be established here and then go back to Pakistan in 4-5 year period so that even if they dont get a job there they can start a business there or so that they dont have to worry about working there.
Good luck with everything when time comes. But make sure yu go with an open mind. I know that it seems like you know what you will be facing there, but mostly people go from here to Pakistan with a totally different image in their mind and end up dissappointed and then comming back here. That disappointment is such that most of these people never attempt to go back after that.

Originally posted by SAJAL: *
**sara
just wanna put in my two cents,
try to finish school first. Once u take a semester
off it might be a bit hard to start getting used to school
and books again. :)

Yeah, or I might come back very refreshed and dying to study, with a new passion for learning? :)

well my relatives there are pretty well off. And my grandfather wants me to take over his garments business when I go there. That’s why I am getting a business degree here. By the way, I am a freshmen in college. So moving to pakistan is pretty far off right now. But honestly though, i’ve been bitten by the entertainment bug. I want to make serials and music videos in pak. I am thinking of changing my major but my parents will probably kill me. One of my older friend got a degree from here in film-making and now she is working for GEO and in the process of writing couple of plays and directing music videos. Whenever I talk to her, she says how much she enjoys her decision to go back. Like I said, job isn’t a issue for me. I KNOW I can get a job there. be it family business or a traditional job.

Trust me folks, my decision isn’t a emotional one. I’ve gone back to pakistan every summer for the last 5 years. I know all about poverty, crime, pollution etc etc etc. And it’s not like i’ve only visited for 1-2 months. I’ve spent literally all my summer break time in pakistan. I have no problem with traffic jam, pollution, crime, poverty etc etc.

irem, if you don’t mind my asking. What kind of job do you do over there.

And you are so right. I feel like a outcast over here. Its a great feeling when you walk down a street, everyone is just like you. They have the same skin color, speak the same language, dress just like you, act just like you. Here, sighs It’s frustrating to always feel “different.”

it was a dream of mine to go back. who knows what'll happen. one thing - life there is much more exciting.

It's not a very sane idea by me ... I have a dream to do C.S.S in Pakistan ... And I some time prepare for the exams ...
Its just my dream ....
And hey do check out this governement of Pakistan site
www.css.com.pk
see if you can do it ...

Atlanta!!

freshman in college :smack: tum toh bachay ho abhee :stuck_out_tongue:

acha, abhee in cheeson k baray mein sochna chor do :k: jab senior year ayay tab sochna

filhaal siraf aik goal hona chiahyay tumhara. to get a good GPA. kasam se thats the most important thing. and as for ur major, film making waghera, meri nazar mein faaltoo majors hayn. a person shud do a solid and respectable challenging major. larkon k lyay engineering ya business type k solid majors best hae. engineering in fact best hae.

as for what job im doing. its an e-learning/IT job :slight_smile: my major was computer science.