Yeah fullers-earth is Multani mitti and it's great for oily and combination skine =) You shud be able to find wild turmeric in Indian grocery shops...
nice post. i wish i had the patience to follow a regime like this, i'm so lazy when it comes to these things sigh, getting married in four months so it might be a little late for it too!
tabu! if your doc puts you on antibiotics for acne you have to be really really careful about getting pregnant, if you get pregnant the antibiotics can have a really bad effect on the baby, i've heard they're extremely dangerous if you get pregnant otherwise they're fine and i've heard they work really quick too! so they may be just the thing for you since you only have three weeks.
good luck with everything!
Re: ~ Glowing Brides ~
^ Doctors in the US require you to take birth control when taking medicines like accutane for that very reason.
Rushmore...4 months is a long time..trust me..start it nw..u wnt regret it like me lol...Thanks for the advice but my doc didnt give me antibiotics but sum gel....its just drying them up...but i also put toothpaste on em at nite as apparently it gets rid of em..only used it once and it seems 2 have made a very slight difference..also drinking soooooo much water and a glass of cold milk 2 let the heat out of me!
Pray that they go away by next sat..I have my mehndi then...!!!
Thanks and good luck to u 2
hey Gina.. i cudn;t find the blotting paper that u told me .. for removing oil from face after makeup.. do u know where i can get it in karachi? or tell me company's name so that i can ask my fiance to bring it from uk.
^ Body Shop
how do u use multani miti its lyk a rock?
You soak it water overnight if it's in rock-form, or make it into a fine powder and use as required =)
From today onwards it's $50 per reply :D and it's going towards charity!
Great tips Gina! Thanx for helping out us damsels in distress :)
Need a tip from u as I've acne on my back, arm and shoulders - this was under control but now it's active again, may be becaz of summer or mangoes not sure? shud I use cinnamon and honey? or uptan?
"Enjoy three lowfat servings of milk, cheese or yogurt with your family each day for a boost in nutrition and to develop a healthy weight. Be sure to talk with your family physician for additional tips to make your family fit."
*– Michael Fleming, MD, FAAFP, Board Chair, American Academy of Family Physicians *
One of the most surprising findings that have come out in recent years has been this link between dairy intake and weight management. People who are on weight loss diets, that is have reduced their calories, are more effective, lose more weight, keep it off better if they've included dairy products in their diet - milk, cheese or yogurt."
– Robert P. Heaney, M.D., FACP, FASNS, Professor, Creighton University
"Clearly there is a beneficial relationship between the daily intake of dairy products and the reduction of obesity for adults. Science supports this, and it is imperative that we educate our at-risk population about the positive connection between dairy and weight loss. The overwhelming obesity epidemic in this country should be a priority. Educating the public on what they can do to take care of themselves is the first step."
– Winston Price, MD, President, National Medical Association
Addressing the national epidemic of obesity is one of the American Dietetic Association's highest priorities as we provide people with reliable, science-based advice on eating well and staying healthy. ADA members communicate healthful-eating messages to the public and work directly with consumers to successfully manage their weight. The growing body of research into the role of lowfat dairy products in a healthful diet is a valuable resource to dietetics professionals."
*– Rebecc*Eating smart, moving more and including lowfat dairy are the three key messages of the Tennessee on the Move program. This healthy weight initiative, associated with America on the Move, recognizes the extraordinary health and weight management benefits of daily lowfat dairy consumption. Our goal to reduce further rise in obesity among Tennesseans is carried out by engaging people of all walks of life in healthy weight lifestyles, which includes in part, the dairy-weight loss connection. With this approach, we have seen, and continue to see great successes among participants both short and long term."
– Siri-Datar Khalsa, MS, RD, LDN, Coordinator, Tennessee on the Move a Reeves, DrPH, RD, FADA, President, American Dietetic Association
In a recent study, we found that by increasing dairy consumption - by including more milk, cheese and yogurt in the diet - we can accelerate weight loss and fat loss in people who are already dieting without cutting their calories any further."
*– Michael Zemel, Ph.D., Professor of Nutrition and Medicine, Director, The Nutrition Institute, University of Tennessee
thought id put this here for the girls who want to be GLOWING brides inside and outside:)
*Moisture Mask *
Mix 2 tablespoons honey with 2 teaspoons milk. Smooth over face and throat. Leave on for 10 minutes. Rinse off with warm water.
Smoothing Skin Lotion
Mix 1 teaspoon honey with 1 teaspoon vegetable oil and ¼ teaspoon lemon. Rub into hands, elbows, heels and anywhere that feels dry. Leave on for 10 minutes. Rinse off with water.
[size=]Honey Cleansing Scrub
Mix 1 tablespoon honey with 2 tablespoons finely ground almonds and ½ teaspoon lemon juice. Rub gently onto face. Rinse off with warm water.
Firming Face Mask
Whisk together 1 tablespoon honey, 1 egg white, 1 teaspoon glycerin and enough flour to form a paste. (Approximately ¼ cup). Smooth over face and throat. Leave on for 10 minutes. Rinse off with warm water.
[/size]
interesting article
*Keratosis Pilaris and Omega 3*
Can some foods make your skin healthier? Research shows that nuts, fish and seeds just might increase your skin’s smoothness and reduce flaws. That's right, everything from the most ordinary nuts and fish -- such as walnuts, hazelnuts, cashews and almonds -- to the more exotic fish like salmon, blowfish an so on, can clear up that your skin and enable you be happier than you ever imagined.
Both figuratively and literally speaking, walnuts are "skin food." Now, you may not like to remember this similarity while you're eating a handful of them, but you will want to keep in mind that walnuts are made up of 15 to 20 percent protein and contain linoleic (omega-6 fatty acids) and alpha-linoleic acids (omega-3 fatty acids), vitamin E and vitamin B6, making them an excellent source of nourishment for your dermal tissue.
A healthy skin means both clearer and safer tissue, according to research. In fact, under-consumption of omega-3-rich foods may actually lead to skin disorders. The same walnuts that you can find in the supermarket or just about any grocery store may be able to boost your dermal health in ways you can’t imagine.
Walnuts aren't the only nut with skin-boosting omega-3s, either. Like walnuts, flax seeds, fish, and other foods may offer an alternative to pharmaceuticals products, which are often loaded with side effects and may even lead to scarring.
While you're shopping for walnuts, or when looking for fish, be sure to get some cashews, some salmon, swordfish, tuna almonds, pecans and peanuts too. Each can improve your skin’s health in its own way. Cashews are high in magnesium, which can "open up" the blood vessels in your body, so more oxygen get to you including your skin. When more oxygen-rich blood nourishes your derma, like any organ, it operates better. By providing your body with phenylalanine, adding almonds to your diet can do wonders for you’re your skin’s strength and resistance.
When you look at our history as a species, the knowledge that some seeds and nuts may enhance your skin’s appearance and texture makes perfect sense. As seeds and nuts were an indispensable part of our ancestors' diets: "Up to 65 percent of our original diets were fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, seeds, and other plants, and many conditions, like keratosis pilaris were quite infrequent then. Our ancient ancestors ate pounds of produce every day. The other 35 percent came from wild life, low in saturated fats and rich in polyunsaturated fats called the omega-3 fatty acids. If you are a good reader and researcher, you’ll find out that skin was always compared with alabaster and other smooth, perfect surfaces.
Hundreds of studies and the last decades of research show that diets based on these foods are also the ones that lessen disease risk, prevent obesity, increase energy and mood, perk up mental function, and slow skin aging." Seeds and nuts are indispensable to a healthy, well-functioning skin and, if they're high in omega-3, essential to the dermal development of an unborn foetus and growing child. It is important to make them part of your diet, and that of your family.
*Omega-3 Content of Fish and Shellfish
(Amounts are in grams per 100g portion) **Salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked, dry heat1.8Anchovy, European, canned in oil, drained1.7Sardine, Pacific, canned in tomato sauce, drained solid with bone1.4Herring, Atlantic, pickled1.2Mackerel, Atlantic, cooked, dry heat1.0Trout, rainbow, farmed, cooked, dry heat1.0Swordfish, cooked, dry heat0.7Tuna, white, canned in water, drained solids0.7Pollock, Atlantic, cooked, dry heat0.5Flatfish (flounder and sole species), cooked, dry heat0.4Halibut, Atlantic and Pacific, cooked, dry heat0.4Haddock, cooked, dry heat0.2Cod, Atlantic, cooked, dry heat0.1Mussel, blue, cooked, moist heat0.7Oyster, Eastern, wild, cooked, dry heat0.5Scallop, mixed species, cooked, dry heat0.3Clam, mixed species, cooked, moist heat0.2Shrimp, mixed species, cooked, moist heat0.3Source: USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
**1. Lemon Juice Can Lighten Dark, Ugly Scars
**Sometimes during their healing process, scars end up looking darker than the rest of your skin. Even if they aren't raised up, this discoloration can make them obvious to spot. Apply a liberal amount of lemon juice to dark scars and this acidic liquid will help fade the color. After you apply the lemon juice, let it set on the scarred area of your skin for fifteen minutes. Then, rinse it off with tap water. Repeat this process two to three times a day until you get the results you want.
2. Vitamin E Oil Helps Fade Ugly Scars on Your Skin
Vitamin E is well-known for its healing properties when it comes to the skin on your body. If you have E capsules, all you need to do is prick a few of them open with a needle. Squeeze the oil out on the scar and gently rub it in. Do this two to three times a day and the Vitamin E will act as another homemade treatment to fade ugly scars on your skin.
3. Lavender Oil Does More Than Relax Your Nerves
Pure Lavender Oil is effective at relaxing and calming down people who are stressed and anxious. But, did you know this sweet-smelling oil is also valuable when you have ugly scars you want to get rid of? It's true! Simply apply Lavender Oil to the affected area two to three times a day. Gently rub the oil into your skin.
4. Aloe Vera Juice Heals Minor Skin Cuts and Scrapes
If you have an Aloe Vera plant in your house, then you have a source of "instant first aid" for minor cuts and scrapes. Just break off one of its prickly leaves and apply the sticky juice directly to the injury. Besides promoting the healing of the injury, Aloe Vera can also be used to fade ugly scars. Apply pure Aloe Vera juice to the scar two to three times a day until you see results.
5. Cocoa Butter Can Do Wonder to Make Scars Disappear
Another homemade treatment to fade ugly scars on your skin is to use cocoa butter. Not a lotion that contains a little cocoa butter, but the real product can do the trick. All you need to do is gently rub some of this restorative salve into the scar on your skin two to three times a day.
hi gina
just wondering if you knew any way to get rid of dark elbows my arms are really fair so my elbows stick out more since they're more darker........also is there any way to reduce the tan on feet i've tried the tomato thing and it works great on my face but it doesn't do anything for the feet........thanx in advance
hmmmmm have u tried rubbing malai on ur elbows----its suppsoed to work....even on ur face--or wherever skin has gotten tanned......
Gosh so many brummies LOL, well I have just moved to brum, still finding my way around! This thread is awesome....guys are there any desi grocery stores in brum that would stock these desi things like ubtan, mitti and sandalwood?
Gina I would like to ask you about facial hair. I waxed some sideburns off recently and 2 days after i got a really horrible red rash with bumps...its dried and fallen off now but I want to avoid it in the future. What other method of facial hair removal can I use instead and does it happen every time or was it because I had done it for the first time?
Also I have really rough soles and thick skin under my feet, even though I soak them in water and moisturize them. What Can I do to make the undersoles of my feet softer.
Thanks chick...mwaahz xxx
thori se bejri lo and add dis wid a loook, and try it on, gosh lerkiyaan kitni waili hoti hain aur koi kaam nahi rah gya ab tujjhay kuchi chuchi puchi lol
swat, lemon juice and milk powder work well on dark elbows. I don't recommend the use of "malai" if you have oily skin..