~ Glowing Brides ~

Re: ~ Glowing Brides ~

Afsoon.. speaking from my own experience I can say Clinique has sum really gud sunprotector products..
I use Clinique City Block Sheer spf 25.. daily face protector.. which is oil-free.. allergy tested & fragrance free..

N they also have Clinique Sun-care Face Cream spf 30 and spf 50 (I use the spf 50 for pakistan..) Also oil-free, water-resistant, fragrance free and allergy tested..

Personally I had/have really gud experience with the City Block.. it's also a gud base for make up.. I have a combinated skin myself..

Yup i second that

Whnever any1 asks on this forums for advice and totkay on wanting fairer skin, they get lectures abt left right and centre. Alot of us were born with fair skin, but suffer from discolouration , and want 2 even out the skin tone, but if even as so dare to ask wht we cud do lighten these area, every1 is at, tellin us we have a complex :smack: sum ppl even suggesting darkening the skin to even it out :open_mouth: like hello !!!
Dark skin is in fashion, but we dnt have to gowith the whts fashionable, Its nt to say that those with dark skin r ugly, infact i think it looks gorgeous, but sporting the tanned look is not every1’s thing. Its diff when ppl want 2 knw how to change the colour of the skin that they were naturally born with, but most of us asking for advice on whitening is to lighten areas of our skin that has becum dark over the years :smack:
sorry i just thought u shud clarify this !!!

gina ji!

sorry to bug u agen, i have a ques..my eyebrows they grow back soo quickly! it does my head in, all the girls that i no dont seem to have this problem- once they do their eyebrows it takes atleast 3 weeks for them to grow back whereas mine r back in a week :( & they dont even grow all together- so theres lots of little hairs which cnt b tkaen out so u can see black dots (if u no wot i mean)

inshallah im getting married in aug.. so im getting worried esp as i hv gaps between my functions (my mehndi, his mehndi, shadi, valima then 3 days later we go to honeymoon)

sorry iv proper waffled on, but cud u tell me y my eyebrows grow back so quickly?? is there a way of slowing the growth? i mean my hair (on my head lol) dsnt seem to grow at all...

thanks in advance & apologies for the waffle xx

aishii, i don't think it's so much the speed of growth as much as it is the density. hair is always in different growth stages and if you have a lot of hair then you will have a lot in these different stages - more than other people.
my friend always has beautifully shaped eyebrows and you would never know how thick they really are! to keep them looking like this she basically has to spend some time every night with a magnifying mirror and a good pair of tweezers and tweeze everything that she can. she never leaves them long enough to need keep going and have them threaded again properly.

maybe Gina can recommend something to slow the growth but i don't know what would be safe around the eye area and also i don't think there would be anything that would give you results in such a short period of time.

i would recommend that you either keep the maintenance everyday OR if you have the time and money to commit, go for electrolysis. ok, there is now way you can achieve permanent removal in 3 months but if you were to start treatment now, with an experienced electrologist, she could probably deal with all the hairs that come up in the period til your wedding. so, the hair follicles will at least be weakened and therefore the hair should grow back slower and finer right off the bat.

Thank you! I'll definitely check them out and let you know what I think of them. :)

Yes you may use the tea-water every alternate day, but baby shampoo mixed with plenty of water just rinses the hair.

Everyone has different hairgrowth u'res might be thick coarse hair, people with thin/scanty eyebrows usually need threading/waxing after 3-4 weeks. "Phitkari" or alum (wet) rubbed over the area that u've just threaded/waxed will reduce the hairgrowth. The best way to stay groomed is tweeze the stray hair that grow back. I wudn't recommend electrolysis this close to u're wedding incase of any reactions.

Afsoon, I find "Sun Sense SPF 50" ideal for oily skin, doesnt leave the skin oily at all.

gee gina can get payed 4 all the beauty advice shes giving! :bukbuk:

suggest me some good body scrubs...?
what if i use some body scrub instead of ubtan.?

hmm i dunno. she has 3 months and electrolysis reactions are temporary. if she was inclined she could go for a consultation and see what kind of reaction she gets.
speaking from experience and being a paranoid person, i was expecting everything to go wrong before i started my treatments but thank god everything has been wonderful. i even go to my treatments before work; there is a little redness immediately after but it fades by the time i arrive at work. i've never experienced any kind of temporary scarring even when my electrologist has had to be aggressive with a stubborn hair. but she is very good and experienced.

consider it for afterwards though, it will make such a difference with one less thing to worry about and deal with.

you know what i find really ridiculous - it's that this pakistani bridal look that is supposed to be 'white' is so unnatural! it's not like they are even like 'well let's work with your complexion and colouring and make you a few shades lighter but still looking like yourself'. no. it's 'let's paint every bride's face the same unnatural, ghostly white so none of her own features show up'.

thank u stoppit & gina!

im such an idiot for not having electrolysis done- i was told ur not allowed to get it done on ur eyebrows bcos its close to the eye, so i never lukd into it...

iv only got 8 weeks to my shadi so i no its a bit late but no harm finding out about it..thing is i dont even have beautiful eyebrows! im not a very hairy person so my eyebrows arent thick- sometimes i even have to pencil them to make them luk dark & full (so annoying)... i guess i will just have to carry on pulling them out & find some alum...

thank u so much once again u two xxx

sorry again but i have another ques- u really should charge lol

a month ago i had this huge spot (i think it was a bite) that appeared on my left cheek...i fought my temptation of not touching it, but it then i cudnt resist & tried to remove it (it was horrendous)! but now a month later.. :( iv got a daag where the spot was & it dsnt seem to budge! how can i get rid of it?? iv been drinking 3 litres of water everyday but the thing wont go..

3 litres of water won't lighten the mark, lemon juice and cucumber juice with a pinch of haldi works but it takes time. You could get a couple of sessions of micro-dermabraision done.

Hey Gina, I've been scouring through some of the posts within this thread, and I have to say I'm impressed with such a large variety of home remedies you've come up with -- more so because I don't believe nor trust in all this chemical treatment vegara that is out there these days. I was just wondering, I stumbled across a post of yours regarding dark skin. Now, mashallah my complexion is quite fair (however I do get the odd dark patches around my upperlip and under my eyes - so annoying!), however during the summer my neck and collarbone area can become significantly tanned compared to my face. As much as I love the tanned look, I hate looking two toned. Is there anything that can lighten the colour? or something that could prevent my neck from tanning so much? perhaps if you could recommend me a suncream block or something? (I dont currently use one at the moment)

I did read one of your posts about sliced tomato's?? Could you explain a little but more about that? Would I need to apply and rub, and leave? or wash off? Or..?

Much appreciated.

hey gina
sorry just had another question do you know any way of getting rid of yellowed toe nails mine aren't that yellow but they have a slight hint of yellow probably cuz i usually wear polish on my nails all the time......thanx

Posho, NEVER leave home without a sunscreen! Get one meant for u're skin-type (oily,dry,combo) and get one for u're body as well. Apply it atleast 20 mins before stepping out in the sun. Pineapple juice, tomato juice and lemon juice will fade the uneven skin. But avoid the 2-tone effect as home-remedies take plenty of time.

swat, soak u're nails in lemon juice for 15 mins and massage u're cuticles with olive oil. The yellow discoloration is def caused by extended use of nail-color, do make sure u're using a non-acetone nail-polish remover!

For all those worried abt spots:

10 drops on lemon juice onto a cotton ball and hold it against the scar (my friend uses a band-aid to hold it in place and looks FUNNY but it works!)

1 tablespoon sour-cream or youghurt, 1/2 tsp lemon juice and a pinch of turmeric (leave on for 1/2 an hour)

equal portions of cucumber juice and lemon juice (15 mins)

What do you say about microdermabrasion?

I am getting my first one done this Wednesday

My wedding is 20 days away so I want a nice fresh look.

^ I have had three sessions of micro-D done and quite frankly it hasn't really done much for my skin.

But then again, different people react differently to these kind of procedures so do give it a try... you never know, it might actually make a difference to your skin tone/texture.

thanx gina
i love this thread :)

salaam again gina ji

as ur the expert i had a ques abotu hair... i have always always been really boring wen it comes to hair, i get feathers put in the front and bas & have occasionally dyed it (not a obvious) brown..as u no im getting married & was thinking of maybe getting caramel/copper, subtle highlights put in? thing is im anaemic & my hair falls out a lot as it is..would dying it further make the situation worse? should brides experiment with their hair so close to their werdding?? im just thinking about honeymoon & that i would like it to look a bit different....

let me no wot u think please....i seem to value ur opinion more than i do my sisters lol thanks in advance xx