i’ve noticed an abundance of girls in jeans in karachi since i came this time
and not just foreign returned girls who r visiting but local girls as well…
its a relatively new phenomenon and it was never so common before
i dont know abt other areas, i’m talking abt clifton which is considered a very posh area in khi
there’s this shopping festival thingie going on next to agha’s in clifton and different companies have their stalls there and almost all the girls at the stalls wear jeans…
which gives me the impression that its prolly considered that they r more ‘with it’ if they r in jeanz
a lot of girlz who r just walking around and visiting with families also wear jeanz but u can tell that a lot of them r perhaps not local
most girlz do wear dupattay/shawl w/ jeanz and the outfits r modest not immodest but still its a new trend of wearing jeanz..i’m surprised
waisay its also our hypocrisy that sometimes the shalwar kameezis r more immodest than jeanz lekin we still think the girl wearing shalwar kameez is more modest…whats the logic behind that?
khair i dont like this aping the west wearing jeanz trend…not coz i think its behayai etc but imho we shud maintain our culture of wearing shalwar kameez…!!! i mean aap pakistan mein ho to phir pakistani libas pehno y u wana wear jeanz in pakistan…!!!
the dress is not a measure of modesty of immodesty.... the dress should be graceful and sobre and it should cover the body properly ...
as far the jeanz trendz in girls r concerned....i dont know about karachi but in islamabad it is very common that girl wearing jeanz ...i think its ok if it serves the purpose that is covering of body completely but u r right we should stick to our own culture and that is shalwar qamiz but the same cand be said about boyz who wear jeanz that jeanz is not a orthodox dress for men in pakistan either...so it depends and it varies from person to person...
the bottom line is that dress should be decent ,elegant and should be covering the body properly and completely ....and rest is to person how he judges modesty and immodesty..
they can choose to wear what they want.. afterall no one questions the ladies roaming around in shuttlecocks and ibayaas as if they just landed off a Saudi Arabian Airlines flight..
Theres more to culture than shalwar kameez.
Jeans or shalwar kameez doesnt change a person's personality or a whole culture. If everyone dresses, acts, thinks the same way than it would be homogenous and boring.
Isnt it that part of Karachi's culture though? The mixed blend of east and west? It's unique to karachi only yea?
I wear western clothes here but can't imagine doing that back home because it's going to look so odd! Bilkul aisa jesa yahan pay if i continously wear shalwar qameez.
Do as romans do in rome. Simple.
But if cities like karachi etc are so umm "modernized", you can hardly blame the girls for imitating western fashions. Peer pressure is a bad thing.
Fashion wise, a 'proper shalwaar kameez' is something of the past.
These days in men's fashion you'll find kurtas that are long while women's kameez's become tighter, shorter and the slits on the side go higher as the neck line drops further.
If anything, jeans aren't far fetched really. Atleast they can be comparable along side 'tang pajama' worn with a sorry excuse for a kurta, slapped on with a hankerchef for a dupatta. In the near future, I am betting on tank tops aka shameez's being worn with netted dupattas and pajamas to be another fad if they already aren't.
In my personal opinion the current fashionable shalwar kameez in Pakistan is not the proper dress code. This new concept of "less is more" is spreading like wildfire. It has nothing to do with the west. We only have ourselves to blame. Unoriginal thinkers that we are : ) Then again I'm not really one to dictate who should wear what even if its a national skank dress.
No, WELL SAID!!! I definitely do NOT need advice on reading the holy Koran from freaks like you!!! Who are you to tell me to do so?! Mind your own darned business and quit quoting me every chance you get.
Well i agree with wearing what ones feel like but why promote others culture? If you watch Indian films, they will show how free their women are i.e in swimsuits, shorts, pants, tanktops etc. etc. but if you notice most of the time the flag on those cloths is either American or British. The same way, how will pants t-shirts beneift the free country of Pakistan?
And you are talking about pants, I know girls in Lahore with Danish boyfriends, I know girls in Lahore that out drink men, so God Bless this free country, which God? The God of the Quran or the God of the cool, free, liberal people of the West? Lets look back, under which God was this nation created, the God of the West or the God of the Quran? Are the two different, well, I dont know, someone enligthen me.
Irem, the transformation has been in the making for some time. I am sure I mentioned this a few times here. What is interesting is that while we see more and more girls wearing jeans in some localities in Karachi, you will also see more and more women in Karachi who are opting for full naqaab-posh look. I have been told there is a big influence of Al-huda institute (Dr Farhat Hashmi), and even women from ultra-rich posh society are opting for Islamic teachings and modest clothing, with burqa/naqaab etc. Previously, there used to be a huge middle ground... women who will roam Tariq road wearing shalwar kameez with a dupatta hanging like a rope, but that middle ground is slowly giving way to extreme rigidity. The society is clearly undergoing an evolution.
As the famous law of Physics goes, For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction... its clear that while one part of our society is opting to follow the western dress codes and values (its not just jeans, its into the whole societal behavior.. dating, hanging out with opposite sex etc), the other is more forcefully opting for Islamic dress code and formulating their life under the guidance of Quran.
By my own empirical, anecdotal, and totally unscientific view, based solely on my stay in Karachi last year, there are more women in Karachi who have moved for ultra-Islamic dress code, than those who have opted for Western dress code.
I agree with you Faisal. Majority of women in Karachi from Saddar to Nazimabad to other areas I can't remember .... majority are sporting hijabs/burkas. Only around Gulf in Clifton did I see girls dressed differently and they are a minority compared to the rest of the population of Karachi.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by CocoNut: *
**Fashion wise, a 'proper shalwaar kameez' is something of the past.
These days in men's fashion you'll find kurtas that are long while women's kameez's become tighter, shorter and the slits on the side go higher as the neck line drops further. *
Maybe i'm biased when i'm stating the following.
Some shalwaar kameez's these days aren't really that reflective of an "Islamic dress code" either, in my humblest opinion. When i took MY shalwar kameez's from here in Canada to wear back in Islamabad last year in August, people were amazed at the potato-sack shape of some of these shalwar kameez's. They are all full-sleeved, i've never owned a short-sleeved shalwar kameez, and their side-slits (as CocoNut mentioned above in his description) are pretty low down. Neck line is your usual curved neck line, no plunging v-necks. i have no tight-fitting shalwar kameez's. This was pretty contrary to what i saw on the streets of Islamabad - where the rawaaj at that time, August 2002, was tight-fitting kameez's with shalwars whose side slits kept creeping higher and higher. i never wore my dupatta on the side, but that seemed another fashion statement as well. The ankle-part of the shalwar was also being made higher, so that when a girl sits down, you can actually see part of her ankles if not more. That's unheard of for any shalwar kameez's i brought from Canada.
PLEASE everyone understand - i am not making any judgements against anyone, against any city, against anyone's preferences, against any people, against any culture. Yeh mera opinion hai, aur yeh bhi bilkul ghalat ho sakta hai. Period. i just found it 'strange' to notice some of the discrepancies above... and contrasting my 'foreign' shalwar kameez's with some of the ones in Islamabad. Then again, i could be 100% wrong, i realize that i don't really know.
if so then the idead / opinion is the same everywhere. i've been given a nice-round-butt and it have every right to show it to the world to admire it. :p
that has nothing to do with where you come from. it all boils down to an individual's mentality. whether you are in an islamic country or western country, its your choice which ever way you want to dress. we have modest dressers in western countries and quite-the-opposite in islamic countries. that does not give anyone any right to object to the way they dress.
the way someone carries oneself is necessary to remember.
some people can end up wearing shulvar kameez in a bad manner.
jeans come in different fits and cuts to suit the body shape. so , that is what girls should remember when they buy the jeans for themselves or for others.