Re: Girls
…just checked out a whole lot of smilies
After 5 years, you checked out the similies. Good for you. Slow and steady wins the race. :halo:
like someone knows all the smiley codes
Am I seeing things or initiator is flooding
Wow dude, someone got you into flooding ![]()
ha ha .. 3 more to go to 450.
Dude, c'mon put your 450th here.
Baa, baa, black sheep,
Have you any wool?
Yes sir, yes sir, Three bags full.
My khala's sons are gorgeous Catanky! I could send the "proposal" across..then both of us could post on nasty nand's and bhabi's!
PLEASE Gina, do it! I am itching to open a saas-naand thread just for the heck of it.
Thats a rather exhaustive and conclusive statement. It varies from family to family, unless Pakistanis are into incest..BIG time.
Marriage with cousins is religious norm not cultural. One should not forbid himself for cultural reasons.
"Jis aurat ko Allah nai tum per halah kiya, tum usko muashrati wajohaat sai khud per haram nahi kar saktay.
In Islam it is permitted and encouraged.
I've always thought it was a cultural norm more than religious...I know Islam doesn't forbid the cousin-to-cousin marriage and all.
I don't want to marry any of my cousins because 1) they are all underage and 2) there is one but i'm not the type of girl to bring a guy set him up and all that.... PLUS I do'nt even know any of them that much.
But in U.S. it's hard to find a good pakistani person...marriage material (esp. according to my parents).
Ew would never marry anyone that closely related to me. I don't regard them as siblings but they are close enough for me to not cross that line.
One of my closest friends married her fathers cousin... Puke!
^soo......what relation they share before marriage of course? Her father's cousin is her..? I don't know...i get so stuck with relations., kiski nani, khala ki cousin ki beti ki.. pata nahi aur kya!
They never met. She lived in by then moved to pak and he always lived in Dubai. I say bhai or chachu to my dads male cousins. Ew! I guess it didn't bother her cuz she never knew him.
Cousin mariages are halal. It's the parents who probably messed up by letting the kids grow up together thinking they are siblings--they're not. Anyways, i think im the only one of my generation (in the family i mean) who doesnt ffind cousin marriages gross but that's jsut me.
^ totally agree with u Sara... i dont think its wrong either.. I married out of the family but my bro married a cousin... no big deal.
Cousins are na-mehrams..
Marriage with cousins is religious norm not cultural. One should not forbid himself for cultural reasons.
"Jis aurat ko Allah nai tum per halah kiya, tum usko muashrati wajohaat sai khud per haram nahi kar saktay.
In Islam it is permitted and encouraged.
Nice to see yet another religiously-correct comment attached to my comment plus the hardcore urdu does add weight to it.
Having said that, I dont remember saying anywhere that it is against the religion OR that Pakistani society doesnt accept it. What I said was that this concept varies from family to family, some cousins are brought up like siblings, some are not.
Not true. It is permitted but not encouraged. It’s encouraged to marry outside.
**Islamic View on Marrying Cousins
"Marriages between first cousins are allowed in Islam. In surat an-Nisa’ (4:22-24), Allah mentioned the women who are forbidden for marriage and then He said, “… Lawful to you are all beyond those mentioned, so that you may seek them with your wealth in honest wedlock…” In surat al-Ahzab (33:50), Allah mentioned to the Prophet that he may marry the daughters of his uncles and aunts from the father’s side or the mother’s side. It is the consensus of the jurists that this permission was not only for the Prophet, but it is also a permission for other believers. Muslims have practiced marriages between first cousins in all countries since the time of the Prophet.
However, a different question may be asked, namely: **“Is it better or preferable for a Muslim to marry someone he is not related to rather than a relative?” **
The answer to this question varies from case to case, and perhaps it may be preferable to marry people who are non-relations, for example if one aspires to form new social ties or bonds, and regards the existence of a marriage relationship with a different family as constructive in widening the circle of social bonds."(Source: www.islam-qa.com)
The Islamic view is that while marriage between cousins is permissible, it is preferable to choose a marriage partner from outside one’s family. We have to distinguish between what is permitted and what is advocated. Some clans restrict marriages to amongst their kin only – a practice far from what is advocated. It is worth stressing here that when marriage of cousins is repeated over several generations, they are bound to have more effects on children.
**By permitting such marriages Islam does not encourage them. It advocates the cementing of social relations through marriages between totally unrelated families. **
The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) once told one of his Companions to choose a wife from a tribe different to his, and then to choose for his son a wife from a third tribe, and to seek for his second son a girl from yet another tribe.
Preferring this course of action, Islam nevertheless permits marriage between cousins because it meets a social need.”
Excerpted, with modifications, from: IslamiCity.com - Islam & The Global Muslim eCommunity
Source: Islamic View on Marrying Cousins - IslamonLine.net - Ask The Scholar
Marrying sumone closely related puts offspring at high risks- illnesses known as recessive genetic disorders.