Girls riding motorcycle in pakistan...why not?

Why it doesn’t happen..what you think are the reasons for this?

THIS IS ABOUT MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE
those advising cars need not reply

Lot of girls, who could afford a motorcycle and go around their business,but they have to travel by bus (very crowded n inconvinient) or rickshaw (quite expensive)..or dependent on some male to pick/drop them..

so why don’t girls use motorcycle as a means of transport?

is it the ‘pardah’
is it the ‘security,like snatching n stuff’
is it that parents don’t trust that their girls would go places independently..

I have seen that in india women use these 2wheelers a lot..like those skooty things..

Re: Girls riding motorcycle in pakistan...why not?

the issue is lik its nt part of desi pakistani culture

A mindset that is resistant to positive change. End of.

I gues girls should go for min price car , car is more respectable as compared to motorcycle , if som1 can afford motorcycle then i hope she can afford small car with minimum price or for for easy installments e.g get Bank leasing car .

How the hell is a car more 'respectable' than a motorbike? That doesn't make any sense buddy.

And why should she finance a car and take on a responsibility when she can just ride a motorbike. Way to solve the issue there mate!

Re: Girls riding motorcycle in pakistan…why not?

jst take it as would u lik ur sister to use motorcycle or isnt it better if she can use small car , for Girls , driving car is more respectable as compared to using motorcyle … :mirch: jst relax n think .. :chai:

Yeah I've thought about this too, but there are some who do. I have seen a woman riding a motorbike a couple of times and I once saw an aunty driving one of those automatic scooters, kudos to her. I think our typical bikes are not user friendly for women, even I don't know how to ride it, the gear pedals seem too complicated. We need more of those small automatic scooters here, unfortunately there is no market here.

Umm buddy, I wouldn’t mind my sister using a motorbike if she wants to.

What you’re saying is if they had a choice. The OP is talking about the ‘middle class’ wherein most households don’t have the choice to buy one car let alone multiple ones for each family member or what not. So when it comes to the majority of households, why ‘create’ a solution (Financing a car) for a problem that doesn’t need to exist (Just ride a bike).

That’s all I’m saying.

Yeah I've thought about this too, but there are some who do. I have seen a woman riding a motorbike a couple of times and I once saw an aunty driving one of those automatic scooters, kudos to her. I think our typical bikes are not user friendly for women, even I don't know how to ride it, the gear pedals seem too complicated. We need more of those small automatic scooters here, unfortunately there is no market here.

i was jst giving a suggestion … jis ka jo dil hai karai :mirch:, btw bike isnt an easy job instead of bike they should go for chinese bicycle :chai:

Yeah, I wasn't arguing about what's easier and what isn't but just the whole POV on women riding motorbikes. Oh well. Peace.

O yea they already ride motor bikes in Pakistan - atleast women police do .. here is the proof of pudding

hahahaha I remember that video being shared on facebook. Women traffic police can't ride a motorbike lol.

If they introduce light weight, vespa type motor bikes, that can be a good initiative. It is I think pretty common in China. Very safe ride, and also light weight.

Woman in car is dangerous enough… dont let them loose on my Bike!!! :yahoo:

I think theres a number of factors involved here… Yes Pardah is one of them.

Secondly Bikes are notoriously dangerous and small bikes and scooters are okay for city rides but anything more then thier useless if you ask me.

Now heavy bikes are an option, I hate heavy bikes and I am a man! Simply becuase if you try and pick up a Harley after you’ve had an accident then forget it It’s too damn heavy.

Cruisers are great but few women have the strength to ride one let alone safely park or move it withit dropping it… :hehe:

Bikes are like horses to me I love them becuase of the sense of Nomadic independants and the thrill and adventure side of it… But it’s not an easy life and lets face it most women are not bikers… It might be a thing they want to do becuase it seems very adventurous and free but there are few men that can handle the hardship let alone women.

Oh and I have no shame in admitting that Bikes are an absolute nightmare… It’s not easy riding even a comfortable cruiser for more than a couple of hours…

Scooters and light bikes are fine for town trips but they sound like hair dryers and I never liked them… So naturally I advise you to get a car.

Ok guys..i think i didn't make myself clear enough...

NOT ASKING FOR ANY ALTERNATIVE TO THAT

QUESTION IS TO EXPLORE THE REASONS...
'WHY IT IS CONSIDERED NOT CULTURAL'...

so those advising cars, and car financing, and that bikes are difficult to ride...i appreciate your views..but they are not answering th question asked....

Upon what basis are you thinking that it's not cultural... It could just be that it's wholly impractical, unless your in a city with good modren infrastructure... which is lacking in much of Pakistan.

well........whats so impractical about it?? i see hell lot of middle/lower middle class 'women' sitting on the backseat when their brother/father/husband is driving the motorcycle.......

Why is it not done? b/c of the way they have to sit if they are driving.

At least as passengers they sit side saddle. It's still considered toooooo awkward and behayaa for a woman to sit like that. :)

so its all about the sitting posture?? only??

then the scooty can solve that issue...no 'parting' of legs....