GIRLS!! Non-Virgin Bride DILEMMA!!

My second cousin is getting married soon and she had one boyfriend in the past, who cheated on her, used her and abused her and duped her with false promises. Now, alhamdullillah - her life is looking up and she wants to marry a Paki guy. They are engaged and due to marry soon. She is freaking out, because she doesnt know what to do about the fact that she is not a virgin and that there may not be blood on the sheets! I dont know whether these days, in-laws check bed sheets after marriage night or not - can anyone enlighten me? Her fiance knows she had a BF in the past, but doesnt know the extent of what their relationship was. Also, we are Pathan so our traditions are bit different. She really really wants to be honest and tell him that she is not a virgin, but she doesnt know what his reaction would be and doesnt want to jeopordize her marriage! A male Pathan friend suggested not to tell him!! What should she doooo?? He is religious, but very open minded at the same time. He has quite a modern mentality, not the typical Paki… any advise??

THanks
THE BUNNY

Re: GIRLS!! Non-Virgin Bride DILEMMA!!

friend sey kaho kay relax hojaye .. if he is open-minded than what's to worry about...

waisay friend sey kehna kay zara tauba bhi kar laye for her past.. she should be more afraid of Allah than her soon-to-be-hubby..

Yes you are right - she has prayed for forgivness and she regrets that aspect of the past. He is opened minded, but i dont think to that extent. aaaarrrgggghhh!!!! :-(
He doesnt like the 'western' way of life and is very patriotic and very 'Pathan', but at the same time, he likes to learn about other cultures, foods, languages etc. Just to give some idea of his mentality....oh yeah and he is quite religious

Okay please do NOT tell the hubby. No matter how liberal some men are, they can never accept such things about their wives. If there's no blood then there can be reasons for that such as hymen breaking due to other things. Tell her to relax and pray for forgiveness and to ask for blessings for her new life.

^ agreed

even if he goes thru with the marriage after she's told him, it might be something that causes issues for them later on in life. why risk that?

Is this a joke? In laws checking bed sheet? Aren't most suhaag raat in hotel rooms now?

Honesty is the best policy , tell him upfront and be done with it ,this way your cousin won't have a knife hanging over her head for rest of their marriage.
If he ( groom ) is open minded person ( as he already knows about your cuz boyfriend ) he will take this as an indication of honesty and will understand why there is no blood on the sheet , doesn't matter where the suhaag raat takes place ,at home or in a hotel room.

Seriously, if any inlaws are doing that then they have real issues...barf

I think she should be more concerned about her mistake in front of Allah, than in front of her husband. If she has realized the significance of what she has done and has repented for it and sought forgiveness from Allah, then I think she should neither try to dupe him into thinking she is still a virgin, nor should she tell him about it (unless she thinks she caught some disease or something, in which case he does have the right to know! Maybe she should see a gyno first). Everyone makes mistakes, some bigger than others. None of us sit down with our husband on the wedding night and say that I did such and such sin and I did such and such sin. I think the important thing is seeking forgiveness from Allah and turning to a better life. This will bring more blessing and happiness in her marriage

And besides, even if she was a virgin, there might not be blood on the sheets anyways. So whats a guy supposed to do, confront his new wife and then accuse her of lying?

living a life full of guilt is even harder then deign
what he finds out after few years, it ll be alot worse

well she better tell him and come clean
if he still wants her then she is lucky
if he dumps her, consider it her punishment for what she did
and tell her not to play with some ones life

Just ask her to fake it ….. The lad wouldn’t have a bloody clue …

O bhaiya dont pass a fatwa like here n there ... Stoning or **lapidation **is a punishment that has been prescribed as proper for married men and women who commit adultery. only in cases where proof is established, or there is pregnancy, or a confession

DONT EVER tell the husband its gonna be bad, no matter how sweet , nice and understanding he is many guys will not deal with tht trust me ! ....i dont know about where u guys live but over here where i live many guys do really bad things and im sure most of them arnt even virgins but then when they go on search for a bride they usually want her to be lyk litterly lyk the most purest person ever! i wouldnt tell the husband. Just pray to allah for forgiveness and inshallah things will be fine
my duas are with her!

Well, bunnyhoney, that is a serious situation. Marriage is all about trust. Even if your friend gets away with not telling the hubby-to-be/fakeing it, this is definitly going to haunt her for the rest of her life. An earlier relationship (good or bad) always hinders the new relationship as we have a certain scale to compare.

What if her hubby-to-be is pure (open to new ideas but within limits)? Won't the truth destroy his chance of happiness? Who would like a used husband/wife? It might not be a big thing abroad but I think every religon shuns this kind of behaviour.

I am not judging anybody but I really feel sad when I hear about things like these. To me it is not the question of telling or not telling, it is how you feel about any of your actions. The bottom line is, If you are a muslim act as one and be prepared for Q&A for your actions if not here, then afterwards.

My Suggestion: Consult a religious scholar according to your fiqa and ask what should be done. You can do it anonymously and he'll tell you the right way to ask Allah's forgiveness and lead a full life, too. (There are lady scholars, too who can help you out and if it is possible, contact Mufti Akmal from QTv.)

Just my .02 cents.

(P.S: The appropriate punishment for adultery is stoning if the person is under wedlock or lashing a 100 lash if the person is not under wedlock. Islamic law in Pakistan still allows stoning as a form of punishment, however, no such executions have taken place in the country in recent times.)

Bunnyhunny,

here is an article I found...(since I dont have 25 posts i cant post the URL..PM me for it)

**Question:**

**I have read some Q&A on this topic, however I wanted to ask specifically about discussing sins with a prospective spouse, as I feel this might be different as they need to know about you. 1) Does one need to reveal their sins to a prospective spouse? What if these sins are in the past, and one has moved forward? 2) What if the sins are in the present, but one has a sincere intention to stop and become a better person? 3) What if they are related to not being married, for example masturbation or not lowering the gaze or pornography, etc. This could be a reason to get married, but does the other person need to know? 4) What if they are not related to getting married, e.g. having difficulty praying Fajr on time or something similar? Would a prospective spouse need to know about this? **

**Answer:**

In the Name of Allah, the Gracious, the Merciful.

Dear Brother,

I pray this message reaches you in firm iman, good health, and joyful spirits.

The general principle is that we don't discuss our sinful actions with others, even prospective spouses.
The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings be upon him) said, "All my Community are well, except the revealers." When asked who the 'revealers' were, he replied, "Those who sinned and slept in the covering of Allah, but then tore it off and revealed their sins."

When Allah conceals a sin, it is a mercy for us. The wisdom of not discussing sins is profound. When we talk freely and openly about our past sins, it normalizes them, which is something that we definitely want to avoid.

Now in some situations, particularly when we're trying to convey a lesson to those who could benefit from our experience, then it's permissible to refer to the past in a general way. However, you have to assess the mindset of your audience and the potential benefit or harm of sharing this type of information.

When you're talking to a prospective spouse, obviously a lot of sensitivity is required. Once again, the general principle is that you don't reveal the details of past sins. However, I would add a consideration here, and that is...if you believe that your behavior may have exposed you to any infectious diseases, then you owe it to yourself and your prospective spouse to get tested and to be honest about the results of those tests.

Other than health considerations, however, it is best to not dwell on the past and to, instead, focus on a brighter future, insha'Allah.

Now if the sins are ongoing, such as masturbation and looking at pornography, then it is up to you to put a stop to these behaviors. This is not something you need to discuss with a prospective spouse. However, if you feel that these issues might carry on into the marriage, then I do suggest you seek counseling to deal with these problems and learn ways of changing these habits. You have to put yourself in the mindset that your eyes and limbs have rights. Their primary right is to not be utilized for anything unlawful. You also want to consider the harmful effects of pornography on yourself and your view of women. One of the best preparations for marriage is to lower your gaze from nudity and indecency and look forward to the pleasure of being with a righteous woman. Likewise with the masturbation issue, it's important to understand this is a harmful, unlawful practice. Sexual desire is meant to be experienced and shared with one's spouse. So try to curb these behaviors by fasting, lowering your gaze, and looking forward to a healthy and loving marriage.

Finally, the issue of waking up for fajr is certainly important. And it is not necessarily unrelated to marriage. I think it would be fine to mention to the sister that you would like her assistance in being punctual for prayers. Being married is all about helping your spouse to be a better Muslim. Allah Ta'ala says, "O you who believe! Save yourselves and your families from a Fire whose fuel is Men and Stones, over which are (appointed) angels stern (and) severe, who flinch not (from executing) the Commands they receive from Allah, but do (precisely) what they are commanded." (Al-Tahrim, 6)

I pray this has been helpful.

And Allah knows best.

well if the crazy parents do check the blood, what they can do is, she can take ketchup and smear it all over the sheets, or if she has her periods,,, well even better no?... or just tell the parents they did it in the shower... why r some desi parents soo inquisitive... LOL

i cant believe there are people on here saying do not tell the fiance..

true, her past is her past... but something like this he needs to know. What if she goes for an internal and there is something wrong.. and the hubby is like.. hang on, we've only been sexually active for a few months or watever... but infact the problem is from before?

its better to be upfront about such things... then hide it. Stuff the bleeding bit... thats not even an issue here.. the issue should be trust and honesty

To tell you the truth, yes, the in laws do look for the proof. poddy, I think a man would know the difference between ketchup/periods and the real thing. And it is not permitted to do IT during periods even after marriage.

You can't just tell the parents that they did it in the shower. Everyone would have educated the groom about the Dos and donts.

@sadzzz: Yes, I totally agree that the issue should be trust and honesty rather than anything else.

What the hell is the big deal anyway? Do we expect men to tell us such things? And how many men do tell anyway? It would never even cross their minds. Why women place undue burdens such as these upon themselves is a mystery to me. Dont make it an issue and it wont be an issue.