Re: Girls in Pakistan have funny english...
This is really good as dietitians suggest eating fish is good for iodine deficiency. I am not kidding, it is a fact.
Or I am going to accuse you of lying.
Also let me bring a quote to you:
002:042 And cover not Truth with falsehood, nor conceal the Truth when ye know (what it is).
So try again....
There ya go:
and check out her 4th last line in the letter.
u will find similar mistakes.
Re: Girls in Pakistan have funny english…
Its my version. Well the same as what my mom and dad speak.
mirpur?
That comment is perfectly acceptable British English, I do not see any errors of syntax within it.
u mind telling me Mr. Stomp ,how old r u?
My tribe is Cheema, and we come from (in Pakistan) Rawalpindi.
u sound like 17
Sorry but I haven't read any of the posts, just the title.
It may be true that some girls/boys might have funny english, but what I witnessed last December (2005) when I was in Lahore is that ppl over there are getting better and better @ english day by day. :) .
I was @ Pace on Link Road (Lahore) if any of you know that place and as I was going towards Escalator, this "Ameer baap ki bigri hui aulaad" was also there. They were like 2-3 girls and their mom...and the girls were acting as if they owned that place but I must admit that their english wasn't that bad.
wonder wat whities have to say about your english Mr Stomp
absolutely!!!
how mean u making fun of tht poor girl
when iw as in pakistan and i came here when i was 13 yrs i speaked
fine english and the peole in my school said we c ant beleive u from pakistan u speak good english
[quote=Stomp]
Your conclusions are based out of your ignorance. I want you to show me where my English is the same as hers could you point out the "geometrical" errors in my posts?
I am not denying I have not made "typographical" errors.
And its ironic as hell you're saying this to me when you can't even spell! lol
[quote=lutfullah]
Dear Mr.Stomp!
Peace!
I did take a great interest in your thread "Girls speak funny English in Pakistan" and opened these webpages. To my dismay I witness that it is not only the girls but to a larger extent today's boys also make a murder of King George's English that their elders were taught during the British Raj and in the early decades of Pakistan's independence! Nowadays there is a remarkable fluttery of imitated Yankee rendering of the United States in incorrect grammar and syntax as usual, in the so called educated and English speaking Pakistani youth's English expression. Evidence that phenomenon in any Yahoo Pakistan Chatroom or for that matter this very forum, to know what I mean.
And if you dont mind Sir Stomp! Where did you read the word "geometrical" in the post of this gentleman whose ignorant conclusions you are rebutting here, when it is left for everyone to read his word "grammatical"? I mean your eyes fail to read what your mind rebuts so vehemently! You need an immediate visit to an opthalmologist my dear friend! Or a psychiatrist!
But never mind Mr.Stomp. Speaking or writing incorrect English can be overlooked with the simple rationale that we are *not **English (Or Yankees). We are Pakistanis and our national language (whether we like it or not) is Urdu.
Being Pakistanis, learning and speaking good Urdu is a matter of pride and national requirement (we have to do away with the English printed forms needed for documentation of our social, economical and legal governance as legated to us by the English that left our soil in 1947 and switch over to Urdu very soon). But here comes the saddest truth to witness and weep upon. The educated and properly Urdu knowing youth is a person residing at Karachi or Azad Kashmir as an universal sample. Elsewhere it is violent and abuse riddled Punjabi that holds sway with Urdu taking a backseat. Or it is Sindhi or Baluchi or Pashtu. And the funniest part is that the youth educated in English Medium institutions as a large sample here, speaks a terribly funny mixture of what I term as Anglo-Pakistani dialect, that has on an average ten words of English in any sentence of twelve words to be understood as Urdu! *(Those ten English words may not be correct in grammar and synatax in writ or speech! May Allah help us!)
To witness this you do not have to visit any Yahoo Pakistan chatroom. This very forum has a showcase of this kind of Urdu called Poetry/Intikhaab. Visit this to witness my statement.
Thanks.
man, its really getting thicker, first its was english, then accent, now its Muslim Pakistan girls, ..and even boys, I hope you are Pakistani, and I hope your parents are pakistani as well (no disrespect to them).
Stomp.
if u r that concerned with paki chick's english,why dont u find ur self a british born paki and then we'll see who'll lose the english battle...hmmm
i'm sure she'll love to join u on ur fish eating days and will make u feel like a english man.
wat do u say???
I visited GS after a long time, cos' I thought it was getting boring but man this post has made my day! Thanks Stomp :-D
Ainnoun kaindaay nay stomp kaka, matti paleet hona...ROTFL
my conclusion is my stompy bhai sahab ko FIRANGI banne ka kuch ziada hi shauk hai...janaab ko naa hi urdu samajh ati hai...but stomp sahab, knowing English language doesn't make you or anybody superior to those who don't understand the language...seems you are the only one in your whole family who could speak ENGLISH!!!
never mind!!