Gifts to THE World

In 2006, most cities across the metroblogging network participated in a network-wide series… In which each city shared 7 entities from that city that could be regarded as gifts.

Recently I been through that entry and literally enjoyed reading it ….

Therefore , the theme of this thread is to come up with a gift from your city .. either from your native city or the yoke where ya currently residing ….

It could be a personality , place or thing …… just hit us with something exciting ….

In my case , no matter where I live .. **my heart belongs to a city known as ‘ City of Lights’ .. A city which is the second largest city in the world , population wise …. Yes ma 1st love ’ Karachi ’ **

Anyway here I go with some thing which is truly a karachitte gift to the world ….

Our beloved mini bus W-11… sheesh no ‘ double aay Ustad please ‘ :cb:

For those who are just wondering how I justify the statement W-11 being a karachitte gift to the world ….

It would be my pleasure to tell ya that in 2006 … A team of W-11 vehicle decorators from Karachi undertook a residency in Melbourne to transform a tram that run a free service on the Melbourne City Circle tram route during Games time.

And what w-11 is … well it is a fleet of particularly vibrant mini-buses ply the Karachi route called W-11, characterised by stainless-steel panels, brightly coloured plastic collages, flashing light patterns, music beats and exuberant conductors.

So the lads transformed a regular Melbourne tram into a W-11 Karachi style mini-bus. And bhoy the ride was free :wink:

Here is the proof of pudding

Photo credit goes to tramtactic.

Now those who have never been to Karachi .. must be wondering that how this monster may looks like…

You will see them racing on the streets of Karachi, extravagantly decorated with Chamak pati “Reflective Tape” in vibrant colors, along with truck art paintings.

Red hearts with ‘LOVE’ and AshiQana verses written on them, hawks and flower vases with patterns like peacock feather all with “Chamak pati”, further lit up with tiny bulbs all over.

Yes this is what we call our W-11 ….The most cleanest and finest of the local transportation mini busses.

And let me tell ya it aint just the looks, a tape recorder concealed near the driver’s seat and speakers over the passenger seats, to play the latest hits in loud volume.

Songs from ‘ ChaanaY k kahaiT mein ‘ to ‘ Choli k peach’ay kia hai ‘

This aint all …. on top of that … They have different loud melodious hooters (Motor-horns) and to add to all this the conductor of the bus will also keep you entertained by shouting signals to the driver ‘ **double hai ustad …….. chobeess baraa (2412) peach hai **and announcing the Bus Stop names ‘ haan mera bahiTeen Hutti waalaY bhai .. samaN ajooo…..chalo Babu jaagh banaoo .. jaanay do ustad ….

And this chant often goes to the description of the destinations the bus will be traveling to.

From New Karachi to Nayti jeeti ( navy jetty ) bridge ….

But no, It’s not just the lively noises. Hopping on one of these busses is also an experience you will enjoy and never forget .

Urghh I leave it here n let me fallow karachittes to add more on this w-11 yoke and other gifts from Karachi ………

**And Rest of you … you are free to post about gifts from your cities …. **

Over to you All ……..

Re: Gifts to THE World

:D Buhat khub dill khush howa Aliyish
*Mujhy tu apny sheher main apny ilawa kuch nazar nahi ata :D *

Write something about The Famous Hafiz ka Multani Sohan Halwa .... with pictures :D

:blush:

A picture is worth a thousand words

Good thread.

I would like all members, who were brought up in Pakistan, to share about cities they brought up in ....

Big cities like Karachi, Lahore, Hyderabad, Quetta, Pishawar, Sakkhar, Multan etc. have their own charisma and we can certainly highlight the life style of different horizons from Pakistan.

A short video clip of Evergreen Karachi
where I was brought up

I so wanted to travel down to Mebourne for this, kher… here’s a great video of that tram… the detail inside the tram are amazing, it so looks like the real thing :slight_smile:

yeh 2nd pic d6 hai, w11 naheen.
sab ko topi na pehnao

Bhai.... i have saved that pic by the name D6 as well or yea D6 he hai ... front mirror pay itna bara bara lika hova

it was just to pitch an idea that how do mini buses in karachi city look like ........

Thanks for that video pinks …

Indeed love is life :hinna:

X2 and Anu bhai … contributions please :asa:

X2 bas aytraz kerny ko yahan ay thy baqi sanjeeda o ranjeeda qisam ky mozuyat per toto sy jitni marzi contribution kerwa lo majal hy ju halka phulka muzu hu or yeh sahkhs hisa ly:hoonh:

MamooN maza aagay :=D

hmm... I have so many pictures of The CITY of Karachi... lekin its on diffrent HDD... so have to find them all... including NED and recent pictures, ...
No doubt Karachi IS Karachi, Karachi jaisa kuch nai poori DuNNia main ;-)**

Post number 7 naheeN dekhi?

zaraa thanda khelo kartaY haiN contribute…

I would have contributed about Karachi a lot but then, you had started on it… I was looking for others to come and post something about their cities… then, we can start fight… err :silly:… I mean contributions :-p

Bhera is an historical city in District Sargodha. Sargodha is the third planned city of Pakistan (Other two are Islamaabad & Faisal Abad). Sargodha is also known as Shahino ka Sheher (City of Falcons)

City of Bhera

Historical Mosque in Bhera

Justice Shaykh Muhammad Karam Shah al-Azhari
He has translated the Holy Quran in the Urdu Language, by the name of Jamal-ul-Quran and provided the detailed exegesis of the Holy Quran in five volumes, by the name Zia-ul-Quran. The Honourable Shaykh also wrote the detailed masterpiece, Seerah of the Holy Prophet Muhammad Sallallahu Alaihi Wa Aalehi Wasallam, in seven volumes, by the name Zia-un-Nabi. One of the first books of the Honourable Shaykh was the Sunnah Khair-ul-Anaam. Huzoor Zia-ul-Ummat, also was the founder of the world famous Islamic Magazine Zia-e-Harem, which has subscribers all over the world.
He also founded the world’s famous, Dar-ul-‘Uloom Al-Muhammadiya Al-Ghawthiyya, (DMG University Bhera, Pakistan). This was one of the first educational institutes of its kind to use syllabus of both Islamic Knowledge and B.A. in English, for both boys and girls.

Bugvia Library Bhera
Bugvia Library is located in the grand Sher Shah Suri Mosque. It was established by the scholars of Bugvia family. There is a huge collection of books on different subjects of Islam. Mostly are in Arabic, Persian, Urdu. A large number of hand written manuscripts are also available. This library remained a useful source of reference for students, scholars and researchers for last about 200 years.

Muhammad Hafeez

International Cricket Player

I was born and brought up in Karachi … but I am going to talk about Mirpur Khas, Sindh.

My parents migrated along with my grand parents back in 1947 from Jaipur India… travelling across the desert of Sindh crossing the border from Khokhra Par and got settelled in the fourth biggest city of the province Sindh, Mirpur Khas … in the district of Tharparkar - the desert is no more than 100KM from the city…

My “NanhiyaaL” and part of “DadhiyaaL” still live in that city.. In fact, a very well known and very well recognized extended family I have in the city … Whenever I go, I find some relative’s home in every avenue…

We all used to gather in summer vacations at Naani’s house - back in the days “TaaNgaa” was the famous commute but now Rickshaws, Yellow Cabs, and ChinChi have taken over…

My grand father was the head master of the high school for a long time… Famous Singer Masood Rana who was born in Mirpurkhas was a known student of my grand father… [Although wherever I go in Karachi - no matter which department, I either find a student of my father or someone who knew my grand father]

I was checking Wikipedia and found my grand father’s name under the article about Mirpur Khas …

The following statistical and historical information is taken from Wikipedia:

Mirpur Khas is a south eastern Pakistani city, fourth largest in the Sindh Province. Its soil is fertile and it is very popular for its mango cultivation. There are more than 250 varieties of mangoes found in this region.

and How can we forget THE KING OF MANGOES: SindhRi

History
Literally, phrase Mirpur Khas means The land of the most high Mirs. The town was founded by Mir Ali Murad Talpur. After its foundation in 1806, the capital of Mankani Talpurs was shifted from Keti Mir Tharo to Mirpurkhas. The Mirpurkhas remained capital of Talpur Mirs of Mirpurkhas until 1843 when Sindh was annexed to British India under East India Company. Later Sindh was made part of Bombay Presidency and it included Mirpurkhas as well.

After British annexation, Umerkot was made district headquarter town. The importance of Mirpurkhas later increased again with the advent of railway and the opening of Jamrao Canal in year 1900. The district headquarter was shifted to Mirpurkhas in 1906.
During Talpur period the town had three hundred shops and its population was about ten thousands. Mir Sher Muhammad Talpur built a fort here. The Kutchery has a tablet which reads: *“The fort within which this building stands was residence of Mir Sher Muhammad Khan the Lion of Sind.” *

It lies on the Let Wah Canal at latitude 25° 24’ N and longitude 69° E. It is connected by rail and road with Hyderabad and by road with Umarkot.

Some close neighbours include:

Thar Desert, not more than 100 km away.
**Karachi situated 220 km south-west. **
**Hyderabad at a distance of 65 km **
Not far from the Indian border in the east, this city was one of the firsts to welcome refugees from India after the partition. The Indian border is 170 km away from this city.

It acted as a primary railway junction for the first trains to rail across the Sindh Province.
The city is built on or may be just beside an old Buddhist metropolis of 4th century. There are reminents of the Stupa near the city known as “Kahoo Jo Daro”, but slowly it is being turned into a flat land with the growth of population around it.

The city has several shopping centers and bazaars which includes, Baldia Shopping Center, Shahi Bazaar and Khisakpura (in local slang), which sells traditional garments, modern crockery, etc.

Railway link

Mirpur Khas is again a centre of attention. After 40 years a railway link between Pakistan and India is being opened again. A broad gauge line has been laid from Mirpur Khas to Khokra Par, which is the border town from Pakistani Side. The new link now connects Karachi (Pakistan) to Jodhpur (India) by the new train service Thar Express.
In 2005, work started on converting the metre gauge railway line to Khokhrapar to broad gauge.

and now some pictures… I do not have any personal photos so I googled these and selected the one I could actually relate to this city :wub:

An Old Architecture depicted in a residential building:

Commute busses run from city to near-by places and cities like Karachi and Hyederabad:

Girls’ High School:

A usual sight - considering there are factories to process wheat and Sugar Cane in the city:

Mehran Express of Shah Lateef Express are the two known trains from Karachi to Mirpur Khas via Hyderabad:

The Train Station of the City:

The posh area - Settelite Town’s Market and the Main Mosque:

State Life Insurance Building:

Nice thread

Multan jaisa kia hy puri duniya main:aq:

Girls High school hi kion AQ:hmmm:

I only found that in Google :chai: