aik hay… its between Toronto and Windsor… its called **Milton **(shumali umreeki accent) its Canadian siso of Multan … Milton! … donoN kitnay miltay jultay hain… tera naam nahi loonga, bas tujh ko Multan kahoonga!
Re: Gifts to THE World
Lahore's Gifts to the world:
- Its zinda dil, hospitable, friendly people.
- The food of course!
Lahore Lahore Ai!
Lahore's Gifts to the world:
- Its zinda dil, hospitable, friendly people.
- The food of course!
Lahore Lahore Ai!
bhai zaraa tafseel share karo na :)
Lahore deserves some good details for sure.
bhai zaraa tafseel share karo na :)
Lahore deserves some good details for sure.
That would be the third gift from Lahore--laziness to the point of an art form. :)
Well where should I begin...Station ki chai, Beadon Road ki Halwa Puri, Lakshmi kay Murgh Cholay, and feerni Gawal Mandi ka hareesa and nihari. Anarkali kay chicken tikkay. Aroos Juice say Falsa/Pineapple or any fruit juice. These are just some of my favourites. There are those more Lahori than I who would have other preferences.
It would be better to start from Jughraphia (not the one by Patras Bukhari:D) and also kind of a travelouge (not the one by Ata-ul-Haq Qasmi :p) ...
Collect some pictures in here with a few descritive lines giving synopsis etc.
The other city where I have spent a lot of my life: Rawalpindi/Islamabad:
Its gifts to the world are:
Itwar Bazaar in Aabpaara which has turned into a tourist attraction.
An excellent reststop due to its proximity to Murree, Abbotabad and on the way to Peshawar/Baara/Rashakyee!! (All the relatives going to holiday or shop in these areas over the summer would always stop by).
Food: Grato Jalebi, Main market Satellite town kay samosay.
Smalltown feel (everyone knew if you were from F-8, G-8, G-6, Sattelite town, Chaklala scheme 1, 2 or 3, Westridge, Lal Kurti, Adiala Road, Asghar Mall etc. and even school college you were from).
Hippest of the hip crowd (or burgers if you like): I could be wrong here, but it certainly seems like Islamabad has taken the lead in this field. There used to be a time that being cool meant walking around Jinnah Super till 9:30 at night, but things have certainly changed now...and Pindi is catching on too: The Chaklala section of Nullah Leh has been renamed "stream".
How is the burger production in other cities?
muffakar bhai jaan…
we are looking for some images/videos etc. from Lahore ![]()
If there is one soft drink that started from Karachi and spread not only in Pakistan but all over the world, it’s got to be Pakola. .
…….. Errrrrr we rather call it Karachi’Cola … As ya can’t get over the obsession Karachiites have with this Drink…
Its rich sugar content rivals RedBull and being in a country of prohibition, its the only source of blood stimulating, heart battering drink :hinna:
Pakola is a line of fruit flavored soft drinks, originally introduced in the 50s by Haji Ali Muhammad.
Produced by Mehran Bottlers (Pvt) Ltd , it is the first nationally branded soft drink of Pakistan .Haji shaab’s family is now known as “Pakolawalas”
The traditional Icecream Soda flavour rocks ….. try it chilled . Other Flavors include Pakola Lychee and Pakola Strawberry .
I don’t know for sure but you can’t find it in Lahore or Islamabad.
Famous quotes regarding Pakola I have heard:
“Dil bola, Pakola!”
“Duran-e- Ramazan, Pakola banaye jaan!”
“Pani Rahko, Pakola Pilo!”
“Yaar Apne Pakola lao!”
Nihari ……. AKA breakfast curry is a stew made from beef /lamb . The thing was Originated in Delhi but now it is one of the popular dishes in Pakistan .
The Migrants from Delhi are the ones who actually brought it to Pakistan and make it popluar there
Normally prepared from the upper thigh/hip meat of cows, Nihari usually get cooked overnight in various vessels to yield extremely tender morsels of meat, including the flavourful bone marrow found in the preferred joint. Cooked brains and bone marrow are also served alongside with the stew….
The Hyderabadi version of the Nihari contains lamb bones and tongue. But I would prefer the dehli version on any given day …
It is best enjoyed during winter and best eaten with Naan or phulka … well I like it with home made paraths
The Famous Nihari shops in Pakistan are located in Karachi and Lahore….
Inculding Muhammadi Nihari House, Zahid Nihari, Javed Nihari and Sabri Nihari.
Sabri Nehari 2511 W Devon Chicago
Now I want to eat nihari ![]()
IN New York, the only Place I could find the Nihari with the similar taste and aroma as the one found in Karachi was at Kababish-Take out Restuarant in Jackson Heights...
About him ….. In his book, In the Line of Fire: A Memoir , the President of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf stated: "If Hollywood only knew his story of tragedy, grit and determination it would make another movie like Chariots of Fire.
Jahangir Khan, ( DOB… December 10, 1963, in Karachi, Pakistan) is considered by many to be the greatest player in the history of the game. Well i say , many of those who know him consider him the best athlete who ever lived. Atleast for us pakistanis he is the best for sure ….
During his career he won the World Open six times and the British Open a record ten times. Between 1981 and 1986, he was unbeaten in competitive play for five years. During that time he won 555 matches consecutively.
Jahangir is listed in Guinness Book of World Records as having the most world championship squash titles and T**ime Magazine has named him as one of Asia’s Heroes in the last 60 years. **
For his contributions to the world of sport , Jahangir Khan was conferred with a Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy by London Metropolitan University ….
He is truly one of the gifts Pakistan has given to this world ……
we have only Karachi, Lahore and Mirpur Khas cities in karachi?
LogoN! you do not know about your cities of Pakistan? :halo: