Getting your eyebrows done..

I didn’t have time to get them done at my regular salon, and stepped-in to a salon owned by an Arab lady. They refused to touch anyone’s eyebrows and said it was ‘haraam’. I saw lots of Emirati girls.. sitting with bleach right above and below their eyebrows..

Is it?

Is it not?

:konfused: What was haraam - the ladies touching the eyebrows or threading it/removing hair?

Yup them threading/waxing/removing it..

My eyebrows, they aren’t getting theirs done :emmy:

Re: Getting your eyebrows done..

Yah I heard that as well because i think it comes along the lines of changing a particular feature of your body.

you're going to get mixed opinions on this like with any islamic topic.

there are hadith's in sahih bukhari to do with tatooting and hair removal (volume 7, book 72), although i'm having trouble finding a translation that mentions eyebrows specifically. the general consensus by sunni scholar's (that i have head at least) is that shaping the eyebrow (actually changing the shape) is forbidden and those hadith are referred to.

to be honest, when it comes to matters like these, you need a proper scholar of hadith wh can translate accurately and give you context etc etc, not random opinions on the internet or internet scholars.

What if it's just a 'clean-up' and not changing the shape..?

Gina, that is what I get done...cleaning and not really changing the shape....

Gina, I had a long detailed conversation with an aalima regarding this a while ago. She said that after going through alllllllllllllllllll the literature and talking to various scholars, the general opinion (as far as Hanafi fiqh is concerned) is that we should NOT get our eyebrows waxed/threaded if it changes our appearance. However getting rid of excess hair to give them a “clean” look is alright. But you know how people can get into excessive thinning and shaping…now that isn’t OK.

Allah knows best.
:hinna:

The cleaning that is generally allowed is removing the hair between the two brows and removing stray hairs that are clearly not part of your actual brow. So like the random couple of hairs that are way below your brow line onto your eye lid....not "cleaning" to remove rows of hairs to thin shape the brow into one's idea of a "clean" brow

pretty much what niksik said.

but i've seen very few desi girls with just 'cleaned up' brows. non-desi's generally respect their brow shape and work with it. asian girls on the other hand seem to fawn over the same cloned look of very thin, long brows.

Doesn't bleaching the hair around the eyebrows just make it look worse? I have never seen it on anyone but I imagine it to be gross.

I never got mine done... Alhumdulilah i don't have too bad either.
My mum never got her's done... Shukar hai Allah ka i listened to what she said, now i don't have to go to the parlour. All the ladies at depilex asked me to get the eye-brows shaped n all but i refused to get that done. I told them not to touch my eye-brows... Many people said that atleast shaadi se pehle kerwa lena, but didn't feel like.. why get into mess...lol

I just pluck mine at the brow bone to define my brows, don't do anything to change the shape. I know what you man about the generic desii style long eye brows stoppit - there is one particular girl in a pakistani drama that my aunty watches - her eyebrows make her face look so evil lol, they span across the whole width of her forehead!

hmm wow never knew that ...
so just for arguments sake ... doesnt even a bit of cleanup and/or removal of excessive hair change the appearance/shape of the eyebrow .... not drastic ... but still technically ....
and what about upper lip, sideburns etc.... all haram??

Strictly speaking it is haram (the prostitutes in the Prophet PBUH’s time used to pluck their eyebrows so I guess amongst other reasons Muslim women were instructed to not follow the practice) along with hair extensions, eyelash extensions and a load of other things we love to do..

You are allowed to remove a tiny bit from the middle if u have a unibrow or remove a little if they’re really really bushy like caterpillars cos that comes under ‘deformity’ or ‘abnormality’ or something along those lines as well as excess facial hair (ie. that which isn’t considered 'normal) from the face..

Here’s more info on the rulings if anyone wants to check it out: http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=10&ID=4427&CATE=223

and what about upper lip, sideburns etc.... all haram??

Some scholars do say no hair should be removed...unless you have like a serious mustache or beard etc...but generally scholars do allow for the removal of the rest of the hair on the face. The difference between this and eyebrows is that the prohibition of shaping the eyebrows hair is clearly mentioned in saheeh hadith, whereas removing the rest of the hair from the face [or body for that matter, arms, legs etc] was not prohibited

I just remembered this story from a while back :smack::

http://www.alarabiya.net/articles/2010/02/10/99951.html

I probably get gunah for it but I couldn't walk around with ungroomed eyebrows :(

what some have said above already--
from what i know it is mamnoo to remove any hair from your eyebrows to shape/trim/cut/pluck/thin/thread/wax/shave/etc.
i have pretty much stopped touching my eyebrows after having read how greatly it was disliked by the prophet. i have to say though, it takes a lot of will power to control plucking out the stray hairs every time i see my face in the mirror. i do get rid of the few i have above the bridge of the nose though. i have to admit that once in a while, when i get frustrated, end up plucking a few strays from below the brows, but i try my best to resist the urge.

in saudi, most of the local salons dont do eyebrows (or brazilian waxes either for the same reason).

I've seen a lot of Arab women bleach just the top and bottom bit of their eyebrows, I blv to give them some sort of shape..

A lady from Kohat, doesn't let her daughters wax their arms or legs..and says it's 'gunah'..