I am new to this website. Anyway I am get married mashallah to a lovely man in Dec this year and need to get all my clothes made from my wedding dress all the way to day to day wear. Problem is I live in London and have no plans to go Pakistan.
But I hate the clothes sold by shops in London the designs are very indian, whereas I like designers such as Maria B, Lajwanti, Bereze..etc who can make me mughal style traditiona outfits. Do you know any one in Pakistan that can design and send the outfits to me in London?
Re: Getting wedding clothes designed from Pakistan whilst in UK?
A Guppy member (Akif) owns this place www.akscollection.com they can make anything you tell 'em. I had this made by them for someone and it looked great.
[thumb=H]chunri24099_7127110.JPG[/thumb]
Best thing is that you can explain your design, give them your own design (from another site etc) or pick one of their site.
Hi guys,
like Saila even I m new to this forum AND I m also getting married in dec
At my engagement almost 3 months back (which took place in Pakistan) I wore a very nice dress, designed by someone⦠and now I m looking for a nice bridal dress. As I donāt live in Pk, itās not very easy to get some designs⦠I donāt even know what colours to wear!!!
Btw these links are helpfull, thanks for that. Keep coming more of these.
sadzz.. give ureself a good 3-4 months.. knowing desi tailors.. there will be alterations⦠there will be "oh that is what u wanted.. well we made a mistakeā.. ālight nahi haiā.. ākarigar hi nahi ayaā etc etc⦠it took me 3 months to get my mumaniās wedding dress made.. from design concepts to the final product⦠that left me with 2 weeks to waste which was excellent⦠i came out with my sanity intact
plus sadzz⦠are u only getting ure wedding lehnga made? what bout clothes to wear after marriage (the more formal ones)⦠and valima clothing.. mehndi clothing? if u are plannin on getting those made aswell.. and are getting married this summer.. i would say get ure butt to pakiland right now!
Sabah jee,
How much did that outfit cost you..guppy membership is good! I don't paying a smaller design than paying the big houses if I can get things cheaper and good quality. I'm collecting loads of magazines for designs etc. Have any of you heard of Kiran Khan? she does very mughal styles...
Saila, I think I paid 170$.
The good thing about them is that we know them :) And they keep you updated through out the process, everything from color etc is approved, so it's pretty safe to have your wedding outfit made by them. Another guppy had also wedding dresses made by them.
sabah: that pic u posted uses jamavar silk banarsi material, with pretty heavy emboirdery⦠what kinda fabric did they use to make that design u just posted⦠cuz on their site a jamavaar silk shalwar kameez is selling for $190.. a jamavaar silk -barnarsi kinda gharara would sell for way more than $190ā¦let alone for $170 :stumped:
arritey, uve scared me⦠im going back 2 months before the wedding. I cant afford to go before then
my aunt has found a designer already.. its one of her personal designers and they said they can make it within one month for me.. or maz 1.5 months, Inshallah.. im gonna get a few formal suits made too but another aunt and some other designers are gonna make those i think⦠as for mendhi and walima.. i think my sis-in-law is doing that⦠hmmm
Khawa, before sending them this pic I didn't even know about Jamawar, Shehneela (the designer) told me about the fabric and it's made of jamawar silk type fabric. About 190 + 190 for a ghararah, see Aks is better and cheaper :o Mujhe is post ke paise milne chahiye :D
Sadzz: oh u've got it covered then... since this will be a tried and trusted designer... ure safe...
sabah: so then it cost around.. 190 +190= $380 for the outfit which sounds about right... ahhh.. relief... i thought i just got ripped off bad when i had somethin similar made ... :D cool cool.. there is calmness in the "khatoon" world once more.. and she will eat pie
p.s) i hope im not misunderstanding yet again :s
Have any of you made contact with a good darzee in Pakistan who I can contact directly..NOT a designer though!! as every one (the designers) are quoting me pound sterling which is working out expensive and I'm thinking at that rate I may aswell buy clothes from Green Street in London.
I wondering which darzees these designers use...as its cheaper to tell a darzee exactly what I need..I have collected about 50 bridal magazines and can give them pictures of designs etc.
By the way my Khala jee went to Karachi last month and bought her self 50 shalwar kameez for herself from bareeze..each costing from 1,000 - 2,000 rupees and really nice ones for 7,000 rupees..she paid a darzee 300 rupees to sew the suits...is that really true?
Arrey Khawatoon, I'm maha kanjoos, would never pay 300+$ for a simple ghararah. It only cost us 170$ for a jamawar, so you did get ripped off :p The most I paid was for a saari which cost me 175 I think, the cheapest thing I got for sister was a deep blue silk thing for only 75$.
Saila chanda, a guppy here bought the entire shaadi ke kapRe from Aks and according to him they were cheap. Bridal etc etc sabhi kuch.
its very true what ure khala had done..
as i said.. it would be best if u could visit pakistan and really get what u want without paying teh middle man fees and shippingā¦
maybe u can ask SADZZ what darzee her family is using since she is gettin bridal stuff done tooā¦
Saila hmm i think its hard to just recommend a darzee just like that. U prob need to give the darzee one or two suits to make and see whether u like their work cus one darzee doesnt really suit everyone... just something ive noticed..
u dont have to go to big designers or anything... maybe go to smaller ones? if you have family back in pakistan, maybe ask them if they have a personal designer.. and u can get them to make u one suit and see what his/her works like...
i had this one designer i got quite a few suits made from last time i was there.. but im not sure if she still works... hmmm