Getting the point across to parents that now is not the time...

I’m sure some or many of you must’ve been in a situation where parents are forcing you to get engaged/married to either Mr. ABC or Mr. XYZ because they see a whole bunch of good things in them. According to your parents’ standards these guys are very good and don’t see why you should ever turn them down.

You on the other hand aren’t interested for one reason or another. The reasons could vary from you not wanting to get engaged married anytime soon, to having someone else in mind, or thinking that neither may be suitable due to the difference of beliefs, or because of the long-term/short-term goals or plans that they may have. However, they are adamant that now is the time and the further you turn down people/delay it, the older you’ll get and the fewer chances you’ll have of finding someone good.

How have those who have been through it dealt with the situation? How do you get your parents to give you a few years or to let you make the final decision?

Generally I’ve noticed guys get off the hook far more easily than females, as there’s supposedly a magic number after which things aren’t so good anymore for females.

Re: Getting the point across to parents that now is not the time...

This has never happened with me.. and if such a things do happen.. iam really close to my dad and mom and i can simply say no i can't marry this guy or i am not ready at this time.. If i had someone else in mind, i THINK i will be able to tell my mom to pass it to my dad :)
and i would suggest u do the same.. Just if not dad then u can tell one of ur sister to pass it to ur mom and dad...

I'll marry any girl my mom wants me too, anytime. Never gonna argue her, infact I don't even have to see her.

Education, job, life are all excuses...and stupid ones if you ask me. Find the right girl/guy and get married. Marriage and family are never an obstacle to your life and career.

Re: Getting the point across to parents that now is not the time…

Well, if its difference of beliefs/goals/ you dont get along, then I think you have a very valid reason.. career and education are very valid reasons as well.. for me it took two yrs for my mom to actually start looking for guys.. and as soon as she started looking, I suddenly dont feel like getting married anymore, at leaset not right now :slight_smile: If you have someone in mind, then talk to that person,a nd tell ur parents and just hope that the guy u have in mind isnt just being a jerk and playing around with you :mad:

why is it always mr abc or mr xyz who girls look to get married to....
dunya me in do ke ilawa koyee mard nahin hai kia???? :p

Sadiyah…I have been in the exact same situation, you’ve just described…I badly wanted to do my masters…but parents would think otherwise. In the beginning I kept quiert…but when the pressure was increasing..I talked to ammi …n even though she didn’t want to refuse this proposal…she asked me to do Istakhara…I did…n had to shut up. I think you can tell what happened next…Mr.ABC is now Mr. H.U.B.B.Y. :hehe:

^ but did u ever do ur masters? :(

Sara ...He's promised me to help me do that...I'll start InshaAllah once the youngest starts school...InshaAllah.

Besides.... when I look back at all these 8 years of marriage....I realise I'm blessed to have all the things the way they are.......If i'm given a chance to re live...I wouldn't want it any other way...(Alhamdulillah)

But Saadia ....message for you is not just go n marry either of these misters....IMHO the best thing to do would be Istakhara.

^ Well as long as you have the option and the promise :) There's nothign wrong wit marriage/kids etc, but when its not your choice, when someone else is makin teh decision for you then thas a really sad case IMO :(

I am in the same situation. Parents have a few guys in mind.. all related in some way
There's
Mr "Aunty why doens't she want me?"
Mr "I'm Actually a nice guy but want to get to Englaaand"
Mr " I'm a flirt and I demand that I to get to Englaaaaaand"

There's also Mr "I'm your best friend Friend but not ready for marriage" he's blimmi'n 31 and yep you guys guessed it I see him as my ideal husband.. He's also not of the same Zaat (I believe it is utter rubbish but 1 girl can't change the way the whole scoiety thinks right?)

The thing is that I really do want to get married but to Mr "Friend" I have slowly come to the realsiation that it isn't going to happen with me and him... and my parents only started putting pressure on me when I turned 25 and a year on..
it is absolutely horrible.. My life is hell and I cannot even go away from home to work due to family saying "what would society say" even though it may take my brothers 5 + years to get that type of job and they would be allowed to go..

My parents love me dearly but are not listening to my feelings and see me a rebellious daughter.. I am serioulsy lost.
My dad has become quite ill in the past year and the guilt that something might happen to him because of me is killing me which may lead me to submit..

I have done istikharah but didn't really get a sign.. will it be a good idea to do it again?

Sadiyah.. I did want to pm me but this is my first post so I am not allowed to

i dunno, mine was pretty easy .. ‘sorry, just bought the house, finances are disturbed off for about 2-3 years’

badabeem badaboom..

i hope i change mind in that ‘2-3 years’ :hehe:

Do Salat-ul-Istikhara again. Also try Salat-il-Hajat(sp).

Nuzzie im srry to hear that.. :frowning: :hug: My first impulse would be to tell you tht ur in ure late 20s (im assuming) its time to grow a backbone and get a good job and career n all that.. but i also know the parents being sick, the guilt and all that crap.. hope everythin wrks out for ya :hug:

I m not in this sort of situation but i m sure i will be. These days ma mom has started to talk about my rishtaas and everything. Personally she wants me to get marry in Pak and then sponsor the guy here, which i do not wana do. I wana marry a guy from here who already knows the kinda lifestyle here. I m just scared she would get me married the way she got ma sis. My sis never had a prob with it. She didnt even meet the guy or talked to him (only looked at his pic). My dad had told her that she could say no if she didnt like the guy when she goes to Pak (which sounds so silly coz she arrived like two weeks before the wedding).She totally trusted my mom. Anyway i hope nuthin like this happens to me, coz it will arrive a lot of issues at my home and i wouldn't even regret to say no. I dont wana hurt my mom but i just cant marry a guy from Pak. According to my mom almost all guys over here are messed up and i tried telling her its not only here but all over the world

Thanks everyone ..
Musicmaniac... It gets on top of you all this pressure..so if I were you I'd start getting prepared.. and don't go into a relationship if you are not in one.. just amkes things a billion times worse..

I am rebellious by nature.. but only to the point of fighting my corner but cannot tolerate my parents pain even thoguh I know the pressure they are putting on me is wrong... as even though they love me deeply they have different values which I cannot align to..

I would be truly unhappy being married to any of the guys i wrote about as they don't really speak english and are of very very conservative/ dihati backgrounds whereas I am more open minded and like to enjoy a lifestyle that is active.. like travelling/Learning new hobbies.

I want a relationship where me and my husband are close, can hold hands and enjoy our lives..be natural and I guess free to express our views and feelings.. rather than a guy who just cannot understand me and forceful.

If I marry one of these guys I will be conforming to values that I don't necessarily believe in.
I am 26 so am looking forward to settling down but with the right guy..

We are originally from Kashmir and parents are very conservative .. My dad let me go to uni away from home and is very open minded in certain things but my mum repeats the stories of "all these 18 year old girls who go Ak and get married and come back without an uff to their parents.." what is worng with you.. Badnaam kar rahi ho poori family ko"

It's horrible .. I'm just scared of damaging my parents health..

So what do you guys think? Should I tell them that i want to marry but to the right guy..

Too much information here.. My bhabhi is from AK but quite modern and fits quite well in England but my brother is very unhappy with the marriage and he won't even talk to her..

Now it's no fault of my bhabhi (she's also my cousin) and I love her to bits but it didn't work out ..she is now stuck in the uk and doens't want to tell her parents as people will point fingers at her dad who's the DHQ of the local hospital.. i realise how atleast I am not married and these are things I fear so if I want I can change these things...whereas she is in this mess..

Funny thing is she really liked my brother from the beginning and look at her kismet..

My parents don't see this as a lesson when they know that I am a million times unhappier with marrying a guy from back home who I don't have an understanding with.. than my bhai had with marrying my cousin...

Sorry long rant but it's been burning inside me for over a year and a half.. Feel a lot better :)

Hinna Thanks... I will try to do Salat-ul-Istikhara again

Exactly same here..:)

I would suggest you to tell your parents that you don't have anything against marriage but you are not comfortable with the two proposals they have for you. Let then know that you prefer a guy who is more educated, social, etc; more like you.

I feel really sorry for your bhabhi but you definatly don't want to marry any man just for the sake of getting married.

You can also talk to your father and tell him what you think.
You should not blame yourself if your parents are aging or sick. So I would say again tell your parents that you don't have anything against marriage but you want a guy who is compatible with you.

As far as the khandan and people are concerned, they will always stay like that, they are never gonna change so don't ruin your life because of them.

I know lot of people say do istikhara but sometimes it comes out ok/good but things don't workout. So when you say there is a lot of difference b/w you and the two guys then I don't see any reason of doing istikhara and commiting yourself in such shaky relationship.

anyhow wish you all the best...

26? My mother wants me out the house by 21. Wish her luck.

: killsherselflaughing: