Getting Married

If you were, where would you plan your wedding? Hotel? home, masjid?

Only refering to muslim orientated marriages.

But hmcq the nikka is always done in the home or masjid, and usually the after party or reception is in the hotel or something.
Or am I mistaken? Well thats how I think it should be.

^^ agree with cat lady here... u cant get married in air if u can arrange a qazi paratrooper......

Re: Getting Married

nikah at home or masjid… preferably masjid.
lekin man i hate summer weddings in Khi, especially ager lawn main hoan tu. baarish kay mosum main u get all those bugs that are annoying as hell. so, nice hotel fo me. :queen:

Well what do we mean by Nikah. As far as I know, there is nothing against the imam coming to the hotel (indeed I have seen it happen several times) for the nikaah and the kabools. From what I have seen at weddings in the US thats the standard method. Its only in Pakistan that its in homes. And as far as I know theres no after party... its all in one place... the only after party is the valima.

What i was refering to was having the whole thing in one place. Masjid makes it more sober and religious... Home more intimate and hotels more expansive and celebratory.

*Originally posted by hmcq: *
Well what do we mean by Nikah. As far as I know, there is nothing against the imam coming to the hotel (indeed I have seen it happen several times) for the nikaah and the kabools. From what I have seen at weddings in the US thats the standard method. Its only in Pakistan that its in homes. And as far as I know theres no after party... its all in one place... the only after party is the valima.

well i meant kay nikah taking place like a few days, or a day ahead of the rukhsati. which seems to be the trend these days.

Hmcq are you referring to the wedding reception? I would have my wedding reception held at a hotel or a banquet hall, most probably at the Hyatt Regency, Sheraton, Marriott, or Hilton since these hotels in my area have very nice halls. In terms of banquet halls, in my area, the Bridgewater Manor and the Garden Manor in Aberdeen are gorgeous. I would like to hold my mendhi at a smaller place, perhaps a motel hall or a desi restaurant. My parents and I have discussed this issue already so that when the dulha comes along in my life, the research into halls, etc. will already have been done. Saves alot of hassle trying to visit halls and decide on this that and the other thing. Best to get it out of the way in advance.

:Pretty:

:slight_smile: One must salute your advanced planning :k:

Sabb kuch tayyar hai :queen:
Bass dulha ka intezaar hai :mudhosh:

Indeed Faisal. Well, preparation is always a sign of good organizational skills but advanced planning comes in handy as well.

Faisal you deter us from the topic :nono: :slight_smile:

Well ok may be I am getting this all wrong since I have never been married but from all the videos and actual weddings I have seen of friends and relatives, there is no difference between the reception and the nikah and the wedding (unless we are talking the christian wedding). I mean generally my understanding of the nikah is one of two things - signing the wedding contractual papers/wedding certificate which would state the two parties, their representatives or the people present and the haq mehr. Or I would understand Nikah to mean the “qabul hai part” and the imam praying for the couple.

In either case, I have not really seen the “Nikah” and the wedding reception been seperated. So I am not sure of how people are dividing things up. The only place where the wedding reception has occured seperately is where people got married and there was no rukhsati cause of one thing or the other (generally occurs in the import/export hubby/wife sort of weddings, where the person is not able to come over right away).

Salaam,

Since I am getting married in December Inshallah, I thought I'd throw in my 2 sense :)

Alhamdulilah the nikkah will be held in the masjid that I grew up in. It carries a lot of sentimental value as my family was one of the "founding" families- one of the first families that was with the masjid as it was built from the ground up.

The next day after the nikkah will be the wedding reception for myself and the walima reception for my brother---we did it together to cut the costs of having a repeat event with the same ppl.....also the hall is big enough to allow us to have men and women segregated..btw this is in a restaurant's banquet hall. My walima will be taking place the following day at a hall--actually two halls--both men and women will be segregated.

Its simple hmcq, do what you like, there will allways be ways that others will do their wedding, reception mehndi, its doesnt matter if you have all these formalities in one function or seperate. As for Nikkah it can be done anywhere, you may do it at home or at a masjid, I know that most people in the west do their Nikkah at a masjid and people that marry in Pakistan do it at home as the imaam will come at home to perfome the Nikkah.

*Originally posted by sweetpie: *
Hmcq are you referring to the wedding reception? I would have my wedding reception held at a hotel or a banquet hall, most probably at the Hyatt Regency, Sheraton, Marriott, or Hilton since these hotels in my area have very nice halls. In terms of banquet halls, in my area, the Bridgewater Manor and the Garden Manor in Aberdeen are gorgeous. I would like to hold my mendhi at a smaller place, perhaps a motel hall or a desi restaurant. My parents and I have discussed this issue already so that when the dulha comes along in my life, the research into halls, etc. will already have been done. Saves alot of hassle trying to visit halls and decide on this that and the other thing. Best to get it out of the way in advance.

:Pretty:

Sweetpie, where do u live, u must be rele close to me cus I live pretty close to aberdeen n i used to work in bridgewater
My sister got married in the Garden Manor, its rele beautiful n they're pretty helpful too....

I think u should also add Ramada Inn to ur list, i recently attended a wedding there n the hall was fantastic...for a mehndi i would recommend Chutney Manor, its a pretty decent sized hall but still provides a pretty intimate setting that suits a mehndi...

as for myself...a hall for everything...the nikaah is usually held in the hall rite before the festivities begin

*Originally posted by larki_punjaban: *

Sweetpie, where do u live, u must be rele close to me cus I live pretty close to aberdeen n i used to work in bridgewater
My sister got married in the Garden Manor, its rele beautiful n they're pretty helpful too....

I think u should also add Ramada Inn to ur list, i recently attended a wedding there n the hall was fantastic...for a mehndi i would recommend Chutney Manor, its a pretty decent sized hall but still provides a pretty intimate setting that suits a mehndi...

as for myself...a hall for everything...the nikaah is usually held in the hall rite before the festivities begin

I dont live near there, but whenever I go aberdeen, I simple love it. I fell in love in scotland and specially with Aberdeen a distinct city in north!
its not related to the topic though.

I would like to have in a big castle well its a wish though.

but realistically shadi can be good at any place if the arrangements are good enough.

hotels are good all in one package. nikkah can be done on mahndi night at home. or on the wedding day on the spot ;)

ahem

anyways…Hinna u getting married?congrats babes:flower1:

haseeb

The plan had been to have the marriage ceremony in a masjid during the day time with close family and friends present, and then a reception in the evening. That is how I wanted to do it, that's how my sisters wedding took place, but then I realized a few things which made me change my mind.

by only limiting the marriage ceremony to a few ppl, I may exclude people who really wanted to be there for me, these may not be immediate family, and they may not even by close to the rest of the family but they feel close to me. I could not exclude them...or create friction by asking a few to attend a not others.

secondly, if there is a good imaam, he can say a few words about how marriag elife should be, the mutual respect, and caring, rights and duties to one another and to one anothers' families, which is not only a good refresher for many muslims in attendance, but provides the non-muslism to hear how we are supposed to live, and thus learn a little in the process.

lastly, I was very sure about what "I" wanted, had it been up to me it would have been a very small ceremony with only the people I knew present..

but there are others involved..and before i started issuing my preferences I had to factor in their plans as well... which i did and based on that changed how I wanted things to proceed. No friction, no issues, everyone was happy and alhumdulillah our wedding is still considered the most fun wedding in both families

my parents, and my inlaws they wanted to invite their friends and colleagues to share in their happiness. It would have been selfish of me to not consider what made them happy. So I gauged the discussions and did not bring up things which would have blocked some of their plans.

I think it all worked out for the best. It was so good to see everyone having a good time, it was the first time in my life that I saw my dad (reportedly a regular dancing machine during his days at uni in the UK)dance..and there was just no stopping him..

In the end, the place, the menu, the music..although they add to the event, thats not what makes it memorable and fun, its the people.

nikkah - prob at home or in the mosque with just close family and friends
Mehndi - in a hotel
Actual Cermony- barat & stuff - prob in a hotel or somewhere outside if getting married in summer
walema - in one of those big ships :D

yup..I’m getting hitched… thanks gal! :slight_smile:

why the ahem :konfused: