Getting married yo! (advice from Men)

not anytime soon.. :frowning: insh’Allah within 2 years!

Dear brothers who have become shaheed already, please tell us what to expect. How to prepare for the life to come? any advice much appreciated thanks.

aunties, if you’re reading this, nobody is stopping you to post (who can?)..

This will be interesting:khumar:

Re: Getting married yo! (advice from Men)

I want to hear from the uncles too. :chai:

Yeah me too :khumar:

cp , u sound scared .
nothing will change , inshallah , except for yr control over talking & spending money

not scared hsap, just wanting to get heads up from the MEN since I don't got any older bro or cousin. ;)

i’m going to have ‘must be able to cook biryani’ on the bride checklist :sadiyah:

you wanting specifics?

Cut the chase mate ... tell us what exactly ya wana hear .. we will deliver it....

Shall we start from ‘ what are you supposed  to be looking in your future partner ‘  or you have done with this part ?

The most important master piece advice from a psychiatrist:
“Marriages improve when a spouse learns to shift away from his or her own personal desires and listen to the needs of the husband or wife.”

Psychology Today: Secrets of Married Men

I am done with the first stage of "what qualities to look for in future partner".

Just wanting to know how life changes, what to expect, etc...

Ohmigosh, Ive got the same thing on my checklist for the groom!!

:CareBear:

CP paa jee hum bi issi kashti main hain...kiya ho ga..kaisai ho ga...aur kiya banai ga akhir hummara:(

yaar tera pata nahiN, pr jo hoga dheka jaiga! :)

"Marriage has no guarantees. If that's what you're looking for, go live with a car battery." -Erma Bombeck

Ya sure you not gona start one of those notorious ’ suHaaG raaT ’ threads :faizy:

haha! :halo:

Oh boy, are we under pressure! :bummer:

CP How your life will change, what you will expect, and how you must react depends on many things, but primarily whether you’ll be living with joint family (even for a few months) or in your own place.

**If with family: **Get ready to hear the things that your wife doesn’t like about your family as well as the things that your family doesn’t like about your wife. I am not talking about big things, but minor things like “I couldn’t cook what I wanted to do because your mother had this dish in mind”…or…“your wife cooked just enough for her, didn’t ask anyone else, and went to her room to eat and to talk to her family. I have always done the dishes at 8 p.m. but she didn’t do the dishes til 8:30 p.m. so I did them myself”…and your wife saying “so what if the dishes weren’t done at 8, I was going to do them when I got a chance” and so on. Hope you follow.

At times you may not be able to openly side your wife even if she’s right. When you do want to go out, family would also wish to go along. If you manage to take your wife out only, then others won’t be happy because “you have changed”. You may not be able to go out with your friends (with your wife) because then your siblings will feel left out. You may not always be able to buy stuff for your wife due to the way your money is being managed (or where it is being spent for the most part).

If living with your wife in your own place: You’ll have more peace of mind. You’ll have freedom to do whatever you and mrs. desire. Go out with friends, go out to eat, buy whatever you want and whenever you want. However, you’ll be away from the family and may need them at times. Depending on how attached you are with them, you may feel lonely. Keep in mind your finances as well whether you are able to afford your own place or not, do good homework before you move out on your own. You’ll have to really balance your time between your wife and family (via phone calls etc.).

That’s what I can think of for now.

excellent post uncle ji.

how many times have you felt the need to just get out of the house and enjoy with your friends :D ?

Don’t ask :hinna:

Oh I forgot to mention the BEST PART: When your mother comes to you and complains to your about your wife, she will say “Mein apney betey sey baat kar rahi hoon, mrs. sey kahney ki zaroorat nahi”. When your wife complains to you about your family (mother), she will say “mein tou buss aisay hi aap sey baat kar k dil halka kar rahi hoon, apni ammi sey kuch matt kahiye gaa”.

THAT USED TO DRIVE ME NUTS :frusty2: because I couldn’t SOLVE the problem. I hate to just LISTEN TO stuff and not do anything about it. I mean if something is bothering you, for God sake do something about it :frusty: