Getting married and where to live? (merged)

Re: How to tell parents?

cat-woman is right, this is a serious matter and you should be discussing it with your parents asap.

Re: Getting married and where to live?

give me his number… and i will do it for you.. free of charge…

lol@ ashtray's comments.

n u didnt mean it?? thats sad!

Hmmm…I dont understand the big deal or the seriousness of the matter, please forgive me. I mean children grow up, and move away if they have to, for work or school or marriage, whether it be a girl or a guy. I am sure the concerned parties can talk it out and everything will be fine InshaAllah. But Impulse, for waht two cents my advice will be worth, I think you and him both should talk it out, make sure you both agree with the place to live at and then discuss it with the parents. If it concerns you , like it should, that how often will you be able to see your family etc etc, talk it out.

InshaAllah things will be fine. Communication is the key and is tarah to hota hai istarah kay kamoun main :smiley: :hugs:

Moving to Pakistan when you've grown up abroad is a really big thing. Don't think with your heart, think with your head. Will you be able to make a home there and raise children there? Think of the economic situation, the health situation, the pros and cons of living there, and most of all - the facilities your children will have or not have...

It takes balls to move back to Pakistan and actually commit to living there. Most people I know have not been able to take it.

it takes balls to live in pak… how are millions of paki women doing it???

impulse, if u get advice from ppl full of sh(i)t u get this kinda garbage. world is beautiful. if u r in love always follow ur heart.

Uhm if htey're not brought up there i imagine it would be quite difficult. even my mom, who spent 30yrs there, never was crazy bout leaving, has a hard time adjusting when we go.. me being raised here would have a hard as hell time adjusting to life there, the ppl, just everything.

how are millions of paki women doing it

I am talking about girls raised abroad. Not the current residents of Pakistan - most of whom have been raised in Pakistan.

How can you marry someone you have never even met?

Lollypop man...thats harsh...

Fact is...moving to any new place is a big step...PCG didnt insult Pakistan...she brought up the idea that it is a different environment...so her comment isnt full of ****...she is correct...it does take balls to move to pakistan...it takes balls to make a move generally...

For me...simply moving out of London or to another town is a big step...i'll be leaving my friends behind...the things which are regular to me like going to my local restaurants, shops etc will be strange to get used to...I like the comfort of knowing exactly how things work where im at...i like being the king of my castle...i dont want to build a new one...

Moving country is an even bigger step...new language...new culture...new people...you will have to make new friends and you will miss your family and friends back home...certain things you take for granted wont be available etc...

Its not a change i reckon i could make but then maybe you are different...i have the utmost respect for people that pull it off...but i know a few that have tried and returned becuase they couldnt get used to the different lifestyle...but then people adapt differently...and maybe you can do it...

So give it a lot of thought...go live there for a little while...see how you like it...living is a lot different than a holiday...live there for a few months or a year with the option to come back and see if its for you...

Jumping in at the deep end is not advisable in this kind of instance...i recommend that you go live there but dont make it permanent unless you are happy...always leave the option to come back...

Insh'allah you make the right decision for yourself and things work out well for you...

Like catty said, get your mom to visit his place and check out his family and lifestyle before committing to him.

In a previous post of urs I recall reading that u got home sick after staying in PK just after 10 days…this is a life long comitment…i would think of all the advantages and disadvantages before taking such a huge step…not trying to discourage u, but just think about it…putting ur feelings for him aside…

use ur brain i'd say .. if ur any familier with paki culture and there everyday life and ur ready to take the risk of rolling the dice of ur life over ur love then GO NUTS else just back off and wait for some other dude walk by you.

p/s: life in pakistan isnt that miserable but it sure wont be ideal either.

My older sis did and has been living there for 10 years mashallah. It is possible pyari :slight_smile:

Do you see yourself being able to adjust ? Completely different mentaility ...thats what you have to think. Some pple can do it other pple cant. Its a good life IF the finances are there.

ok...let me tell u something else.

even long before I met him, I used to have at least 2 hours long discussions nearly everyday with my friends about why I hate living in UK and why I would want to move to Pakistan. They all know why I dont like living here.....and having been back to Pakistan twice this year....I think I have realised that I can easily adapt to the city life there....but there is no way I can stay in a village in Pakistan.

so being as I was considering living in Pakistan way before I met him.....maybe thats why Allah made me meet him ?

Re: Getting married and where to live? (merged)

IMO, it really depends on whats best for you both as a couple. No matter what we strangers say you really havce to decide for yourself.

Factors to consider-
his career options
your career options
lifestyle choices

I think otherwise you can travel back and forth easily so the above are the top concerns.

You can try somefin (don't burn the boats when one of you move) and then take 1 step at a time :)

Talk to him in general and see what the guy's reaction is. It will come down to both of your decision (or it should)

Impulse...
Maybe you dont like living in the UK...but moving to a new country is a big step...

You may have stayed there for a little while...now a couple of guys said they loved Pakistan...used to go for 6 weeks in the summer and stuff...and based on that they decided to move...and they have since come back...holidays are one thing...living is another...so live for a while and then come back if you dont like it...just leave that option...

But like everyones pointed out its up to you and you know whether you have the ability to adapt to a different environment...i personally would find it hard leaving family...friends and a lifestyle that i am used to...

But good luck in whatever you do...