Getting Married and moving to Dubai!

Hello fabulous GS ladies,

I’ve been a silent reader for quite sometime now. GS is amazing especially the wedding section. I am getting married in December (2009) inshaAllah, and moving to Dubai from Canada! wedding’s in Pakistan though.

Any one here moved to Dubai from Canada/us/uk? How was the transition? How’s life in Dubai? People, universities, job market, shopping etc?

Other question is- How much time designers require to get the bridal ready? I’m going to Pakistan in September, will there be enough time?

Your inputs will be much appreciated :slight_smile:

Re: Getting Married and moving to Dubai!

Congratulations on the upcoming wedding and advanced welcome to Dubai :)

I love Dubai. That's all I can say.

hey... my sister was born and raised in the US and moved to Dubai at the age of 27 when she got married... and now she would NEVER consider moving back to the U.S....i myself have been to dubai 5 times (i go every summer to visit her) and the best way to classify Dubai is that its the best of both worlds...you can find everything there that u can find in the U.S. ..but the fact that ur living in an Islamic country is wonderful... hearing the azaan, having a masjid at every corner, and being able to eat ANYTHING is unbeatable at the fast food joints without having to worry about whether its zabiha, well thats unbeatable! :P good luck, i wish u all the best!

^I agree with each and every word of her’s:cb:

The best thing is being able to get all best of both worlds. I love how we still got the neighbourhood kind of feel amongst the pakistanis in Dubai and also we have the masjids and azaans. Holidays for all the muslim events. Holidays for all the non-muslim events:yahoo: Shopping is great, people are great over here. Especially the pakistanis! Places are great. Life is great:cb:

oh plz don't remind me...i can't wait...hopefully next year jan or feb for umrah and dubaiiiii here i come :)

would you like to meet me? :hmmm:

oh sure aisha, agar appp ijazat dain :)

LOL yahan ijazat mangney wali kaunsi cheez hai:)

if you want to then why would I mind:cb:

alright, i will definately let u know when i plan my trip.

ok that would be great. :)

hey is it true that how long u life in Dubai u dont get the nationality or u can only stay there how long u work means no work no stay in dubai?

well, im a emarati citizen myself my mother is arab and my dad is a mix of persian, turkish and so forth, but we have a hint of mughal from his side, and all i can say is that no person that is not of emarati blood through fathers side can ever become a citizen of that country inless the goverment and his highness grants you pardon and gives you citizenship which usally doesnt happen to just any person, but without all that as long as you have your residence in that country you can live there for as long as you want as long as you stay within the laws and so forth, but every 7 years or so you have to renew your papers for residency and have to prove that you can provide and after say 10 years or so there they grant you permenat stay without all the hassles but the thing about their laws is that they can take anything back at anytime.

dubai and the u.a.e is a wonderful place to live, it has everything like everyone so far as been saying, its a bit pricey but you get your moneys worth thats for sure. the standard of life there is to its highest and oh another thing if you do marry a person whos male and of u.a.e citizenship and national then basically you yourself can become a citizen regardless of where you came from so thats the only way a non blood u.a.e born person can become a citizen but if a male was to marry a woman, then basically he would get permanet residence but never citizenship inless shes from a offical family and she can get him pardon through his highness.

and over pakistan is only an hour and so away by flight most indian and paki families fly over home over the weekends which are friday and saturdays and spend it with family then fly back to dubai fallowing sunday for work. and the amount of cultures that have mixed in dubai are amazing so you wont ever feel like your away from home ex: paki, india or whatever but you will also have the modern world mixture there so its just amazing.

Dubai has all the things US/Canada has.. and everything India/Pakistan has.. so it's not really different. :)

wow shahji I love your post! welcome to GS! :)

^ Just very much HOTTER!!!

dubai has a higher percentage of mailay desi compared to canada though. You dont have to deal with them normally but be prepared to be stared at like anything if you are a girl.

as they say its a mix of arabia, the west and pakistan, and that maila part of pakistan seems to be at higher levels there. Not to say that locals themsleves are not prone to act like construction workers.

and the universities are just okay, but that is usually good enough for most

Whats maila?

cheap chichoray people

================

Thank you very much Aisha.

Thank you ClassyGal :) You are certainly right about azaan and halal food both are unbeatable.