getting driving lessons from spouse/relatives

Lol D 6Chora.

Honestly parents overreact way too much.

When I had just passed; my mom’s entire posture while sitting looked liked as if she was bracing for an impact. :nahi:

Annoyed me SO much to say the least. My dad on the other hand was cool as a cucumber!

Honestly around my family women, Mum, cousin esp, I get so nervy and make SO many mistakes that I never usually would for some silly silly reason. :smack:

Re: getting driving lessons from spouse/relatives

Aw, its just nerves! Dont think about them being there...

SCREEAAMMSSSS

I was just out practising driving with mama and for the* first time everrr *she said I WILL PASSSS MY TESTTTT :e6: aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa :yahoo:

Ok so “officially” I learned it from my father , total army style . With all the anger and what not :smiley: . . . but this is not the whole story :wink:

The real learning was in the afternoons of summer break . I use to sneak out of house with the car keys . Push the car out side so no one will hear the car engine . Start the car and have fun :cb: . . . Honestly that was the real learning . With the fear that what if I got caught and being extremely careful with the car . Plus it was so adventurous :cb:

Boys will be boys :rotfl:

My brother (then 13 yrs old) literally begged my elder sister to let him reverse the car into the driveway, saying he had practised it with his friend’s dad… my aapi (is way too nice) allowed him, he danced around happily, sat in the car, reversed it and straight into the wall :omg:

He never asked for it again!

:omg: Mums are so cute! I can totally imagine mine doing the same :rotfl:

I was taught drivingg wid my dad and guess what buhat gaaliyaan pareen, lekin now there are only 3 ppl in this world dad is comfortable sitting with in a car and I am one of dem :smiley: That in itself is one of the biggest complements to my driving :smiley:

My mum (who is not a driver) had me place a copy of Dua-e-Safar in my car. She will always give sadqa before we leave home to drive somewhere and the entire time she’s seated in the car, unki hont hiltay rehtay hain, reading one dua after another. Oh, and don’t interrupt her when she’s reading her duas - you get the cold mommy stare. She spends the entire time in the car communing with God, asking that we be delivered to our destination safely.

And I’ll bet a lot of you must get if you’re going 5, 10, 20 (or 30 :D) over the speed limit - the “tum gaari chalarahi ho ya havai jahaaz!?!?”

^ :rotfl: I SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO know what you mean!

My mom will be reading safar ki dua and reading her tasbeeh and IF you talk to her…she wont talk back…she will just go “mm” for yes and “mm mm” for no. Aside from that, you get the look…over the reading glasses…:hehe:

I learned driving by myself. In fact my father never owned a car before I became 16. So he bought the car and question was who will take car from dealer to home. A friend of mine drove it to our home, parked outside and went his way. Same afternoon when everyone was takign a nap, I sat on the driving set and though “ok, i’ll not drive it just start it and listen to some songs” but I ended up taking it for a trip.

A june afternoon in Karachi mean all the small streets were empty and I took 15 min ride, and came back, parked it and went into my bedroom and on my bed pretending that this never happend. Everyone got up at around 4/4:30 and gathered for T. Choor inside me was making me speak a lot like how will be bring car into home, no body knows how tot drive etc etc and mom dropped a bomb shell “you should bring in. if you can drive it for 15 min on street, tu tum garage main park bhee ker saktey ho” :mudhosh:

:hehe: ^

my khala (in pakistan) learned to drive from our driver... once i was in the car with them and at one occasion our driver was really minminaa-ing 'baaji gear change ker lain ..baaji gear change ker lain speed change nahi ho gii' and my khala screamed at him... 'tum khud kiyon nahi gear change ker laytay..dekh nahi rahay main gaari chala rahi hon' ....

Bichara - ek taraf uski jaan aur doosrey taraf uski rozi-roti - karay to kya karay.

hahahahhaha shak. hahahahah. "BISmillahhhhhhh"

hahahahahaha.

aram naaal, aram naaal

hain.. hum donno hi bichaaray car main…

my other khala learned to drive (in early 80’s) from my mamoon … one day my mamoon came back home very angry after giving her the lesson and said to nanoo ‘buss bohot ho gaya… main issko ab gaari chalana nahi seekhaon ga’..nano asked why .. he said ’ yeh mari naak katway gii iss shahar (city) main… saamnay ghada gaari wala aa gaya tou yeh jaldi say sheesha uttar ker haath hila hila keh rahi hai ‘bhai peechhay ho..bhai peechay ho gaari aa rahi hai’ .. aur main cheekh (scream) raha hon “horn doo.. HORN dooo” …

^ :D

btw women driving a car was almost a crusade in 80s :)

:rotfl: super hilarious . :k:

I had 3 lessons from a driving school which got me comfortable with sitting in the dirver's seat. After that, it was just whoever was in the car with me. Be it mom, dad or brother. I don't remember any of them actually yelling at me or losing their temper. My Dad drives for a living so hes a patient instructor but I didnt really drive much with him. My brother helped me before my test, and he was very patient and calm and gave instructions that I could follow very easily.

I have noticed recently though, that as my Dad is getting older, the picking on my driving is increasing as well LOL. You shouldn't make a right turn like this, why are you tailgating...etc etc. I pretty much ignore :p

LOL wow. I took drivers ed back in high school in the city and im soooo glad i did! i ended up moving to a small suburban town a few months later where i HAD to know how to drive to survive. My mom practiced with me for a few months and I ended up getting my license at 18. She was the bestttt teacher ever, never yelled at me or made me nervous. Alhumdulillah :)

:smiley: :smiley: :smiley: I passed today

I guess all the giving out by mom was worth it :phati: She was phoonking ayat-al-kursi on me all the time before the driving test! That certainly had a role to play in me passing!

:sadiyah: