BISMILLA HI RAHMANNIR RAHEEM
Well, my muslim sister,AOA.
My Imaan says, with reference from Quran a Hakeem, that Prophets never lie. They are masoom. They do not speak anything due to their personal wishes or desires. They only say the words that Allah has given them the permission to say so.
As per the verses currently under discussion:
[21:62] They said, "Did you do this to our gods, O Abraham?"
[21:63] He said, "It is that big one who did it. Go ask them, if they can speak."
Firstly, even though that I am not a scholar who could have the authority to do a tafseer bar haq of the Quran. Ibrahim a.s. would not have spoken at all without Allah's will, which appears quite clearly to make it obvious to the kuffaar that they were at the wrong. My belief does not allow me to gulp it down when someone would be disrespectful towards the Chosen ones, who are elevated to the highest. Subhan Allah, saying that he lied as in lied, naoozu billah astaghfirullah.
Further is the fact to support this claim, if you yourself would spare sometime in reciting Quran e Majeed with its translation and see with your own eyes, that on atleast one occassion Allah Himself has said that Prophets speak only truth. I pray that once you have for yourself seen the Ayat, the waswasay from your nafs will be gone Insha Allah. If you still have not found that in a months' time or so, please let me know and I will happily assist you.
My foremost belief tells me to maintain the tazeem of my Rasool Muhammad Khatamun Nabiyyeen PBUH, along with the other Prophets from Allah, who were 1 lakh and 24 hazaar in number. And Prophet Ibrahim is no ordinary Prophet, he is the ancestor/jad of a series of prominent Paighambars, including for the Last Prophet PBUH. If we consider him a liar Nazu Billah, it would be a stain understandably on the credibility of any Prophets that came in his blessed progeny.
As far as believing on the ahadith books are concerned, I believe only on ahadiths that are confirmed as genuine both by shia and sunni scolars. It therefore includes some from books like Sahih Bokhari and some not. And some are quite disrespectful towars Hazrat Muhammad PBUH.
After having read your replies, I gather that you have a lot of faith on Al Bokhari. For this reason, I paste a riwayat from it, if you read between the words that what happened in this event three days before the Prophet's rehlat.....
*Volume 7, Book 70, Number 573: *
Narrated Ibn 'Abbas: When Allah's Apostle was on his death-bed and in the house there were some people among whom was 'Umar bin Al-Khattab, the Prophet said, "Come, let me write for you a statement after which you will not go astray." 'Umar said, "The Prophet is seriously ill and you have the Qur'an; so the Book of Allah is enough for us." The people present in the house differed and quarrelled. Some said "Go near so that the Prophet may write for you a statement after which you will not go astray," while the others said as Umar said. When they caused a hue and cry before the Prophet, Allah's Apostle said, "Go away!" Narrated 'Ubaidullah: Ibn 'Abbas used to say, "It was very unfortunate that Allah's Apostle was prevented from writing that statement for them because of their disagreement and noise."
Now this event concludes that to stop the Prophet PBUH from writing the guiding one last tehreer, people did the jisarat to say that they needed nothing else except the Quran to guide them !!
IHDIN AS SIRATAL MUSTAQIM