Get Whole Year of Sins Forgiven Inshallah!

The Fast of ‘Ashura (The 10th of Muharram)

**Note: **The 9th of Muharram is tomorrow Tuesday the 6th of January and the 10th of Muahhram is on Wednesday the 7th of January and 11th Muharram is on the 8th of January inshallah!

For the UK Sehri and Iftar times are:

9th Muharram Sehri ends 6:08 Am and Iftar is at 16:07 pm
10th Muharram Sehri ends at 6:08Am and Iftar is at 16:08
11th Muharram Sehri ends at 6:07Am and Iftar is at 16:10

Mu’awiyah ibn Abu Sufyan (Radiyallahu 'anh) relates: I heard the Messenger of Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) say: “It is the day of ‘Ashura. Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) has not made fasting obligatory for you. But I am fasting. He who likes to observe fast among you should do so, and he who likes not to observe it (does not have to) observe it.” **[Sahih Muslim] **

**Abu Qatada (Radiyallahu 'anh) relates that the Holy Nabi (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) said **that the fast on the 10th of Muharram atones for the sins of the preceding year. [Sahih Muslim]

Abu Huraira (Radiyallahu 'anh) reports that the Holy Nabi (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) said that after Ramadan, the fasts of Muharram have the greatest excellence. **[Sahih Muslim] **

Alhamdulillah, Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) has blessed us to see another year. The first month of this year is Muharram. In this month is an excellent day—the day of ‘Ashura—which falls on the 10th of Muharram(this wednesday the 7th of January). The Holy Nabi (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) recommended that we fast on this day, by his Sunnah. He also indicated how we should observe the fast of ‘Ashura.

Hakam ibn Al-Arat (Radiyallahu 'anh) relates: I went to Ibn Abbas (Radiyallahu 'anh)… I said to him: Tell me about fasting on ‘Ashura. He said, “When you seen the new moon of Muharram count the (days) and (begin to) observe fast on the 9th.” I said to him: “Is it how the Holy Messenger of Allah (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) observed the fast?” He said, “Yes.” **[Sahih Muslim] **

Hazrat Ibn Abbas (Radiyallahu 'anh) relates **that when the Holy Nabi (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) said: **“If I survive till next year, I will definitely observe fast on the 9th of Muharram (as well).” **[Sahih Muslim] **

**(Note: **What the Holy Nabi (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) meant was that he would also fast on the 9th as well as the 10th to which he was accustomed. **We also should try fasting on the 9th and the 10th of Muharram.) **

The Historical Significance of ‘Ashura

Hazrat Ibn Abbas (Radiyallahu 'anh) reports that the Holy Nabi (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) arrived in Madinah and found the Jews observing fast on the day of ‘Ashura… **They said: **“It is the day of great (significance) when Allah delivered Hazrat Musa ('Alaihis-Salaam) and his people and drowned Pharoah and his people, and Sayyidina Musa ('Alaihis-Salaam) observed fast out of gratitude. And we also observe it.” The Holy Messenger of Allah (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) responded: “We have more right, and we have closer connection with Sayyidina Musa ('Alaihis-Salaam) than you have”; so Allah’s Messenger (Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim) observed fast (on the day of ‘Ashura) and gave us orders to observe it. **[Sahih Bukhari and Muslim] **

‘Ashura is a day of great historical significance. On this day: Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) accepted the repentance of Sayyidina Adam ('Alaihis-Salaam) after his exile from Paradise; Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) saved Sayyidina Nuh ('Alaihis-Salaam) and his companions in the ark; Allah extinguished the fire in which Sayyidina Ibrahim ('Alaihis-Salaam) was thrown by Nimrod; And Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) spoke directly to Sayyidina Musa ('Alaihis-Salaam) and gave him the Commandments. On this same 10th of Muharram, Sayyidina Ayyub ('Alaihis-Salaam) was restored to health (from leprosy); Sayyidina Yusuf ('Alaihis-Salaam) was reunited with his father Ya’qub ('Alaihis-Salaam); Sayyidina Yunus ('Alaihis-Salaam) was taken out from the belly of the fish; and the sea was divided as the nation of israel was delivered from captivity and Pharoah’s army was destroyed. ‘Ashura is also the day when the kingdom of Sulaiman ('Alaihis-Salaam) was restored; Sayyidina Isa ('Alaihis-Salaam) was raised to Jannah; and Sayyidina al- Imam Husayn (Radiyallahu 'anh) (the Holy Nabi’s, Sall Allahu alaihi wa Aalihi wa Sallim, grandson) achieved the honor of Martyrdom.

Worship Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) as much as you can on ‘Ashura. Whoever fasts on this day is like one who fasts all his life. Whoever clothes a naked person Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) will release him from a painful punishment. He who visits a sick person, Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) will grant him a reward that will not be decreased. Whoever places his hand on an orphan’s head, or feeds a hungry person or gives water to a thirsty man, Allah will feed him a feast from Paradise and will quench his thirst with Salsabil (a wine that does not intoxicate). And who ever takes a Ghusl on this day will enjoy excellent health and freedom from sickness and indolence. Whoever provides generously for his family on this day, Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta’ala) will be generous to him throughout this year. And whoever applies Kuhl to his eyes will never suffer from eye-sore again, **Insha’Allah al-Aziz **

Please lets also pray for our brothers,sisters and children being massacred and dying in Palestine! They are in a desperate situation and they need our support,aid and dua’s because dua’s are readily accepted of a fasting person especially on these 2 blessed days!

Please donate as much as you can for the pleasure of Allah and to help our brothers sisters and children who are in a desperate and helpless situation to Ummah Welfare Trust on 01274390396 or www.uwt.org or Human Appeal 0161 225 0225 or www.Humanappeal.org.uk as Allah loves that one spends from that which he loves and Allah increases the sustanance of the person who gives much charity! Jazakallah

O’ Allah! Bless us to perform good deeds and gain their reward on ‘Ashura. Make the new year one of unity, cooperation and success for Muslims in this city and around the world. Ameen.
%between%

Re: Get Whole Year of Sins Forgiven Inshallah!

Jazakhallah for this information. I was hoping someone could confirm this.

How can it be classed as authentic hadith despite it coming from sahih muslim.. How can Prophet Muhammad PBUH say stuff about Muharram or Ashura or 10th of Muharram as particular when Prophet Muhammad PBUH died before the event of Karbala even took place?

Im guessing your shia! The significance for this day is mainly because of the time when Musa(AS) and his people escaped the wrath of the Pharoah aswell as other events! I'm not going to start a debate between shiah and sunni here that was not the purpose of this thread! It was just meant as a reminder for people of the special fast of Ashura! Thanks

Mashallah ...such a gr8t day ......jazakallah hu khair .......i ws searching fr thz hadith since 2 days.......thx once more.

If possible plz can u quote any hadith which talks abt fasting frm 1st- 10th moharram ....n rewrd fr tht.

It must be noted this refers to MINOR sins, the major ones require sincere repentance ( taubah ).

The above hadiths don't say anything about Karbala since they are Sunni hadiths. Shias have their own hadiths in which the Prophet predicts about Karbala, but that's a different topic altogether.

But you are right in one respect, hadiths were made up centuries after the Prophet's death, they each should be taken with a truckload of salt.

Sahih hadith from Buhkari,Muslim Abu dawud etc have been thoroughly tried and tested for 1400 years by the best scholars! So they have done the job for us in regards to confirming authenticity of these Hadith! These hadith have chains of narrations that are unimaginably long! Thats what makes them so authentic! I would recommend that people actually study the science of hadith in order to understand rather than just make opinions up with limited knowledge!

We are not fasting because of Karbala. Ashura is a day of forgiveness from Allah, tha day He saved Bani Israel from the Pharoah

Abu Hurairah reported: "I asked the Prophet: "Which prayer is best after the obligatory prayers?" He said: "Prayer during the middle of the night." I asked: "Which fast is best after the fast of Ramadhan?" He said: "Fasting during the month of Muharram." [Muslim].

Hadhrat Abu Hurayra Radhi-Allâhu ‘anhu reports that Rasulullâh Sallallâhu ‘alayhi wasallam said “After the fasts of Ramadhân, the best fasts are those observed during Allâh’s month of Muharram.”

Hadhrat Ali Radhi-Allâhu ‘anhu narrates that he was once sitting with Rasulullâh Sallallâhu ‘alayhi wasallam when a person asked, “O Rasulullâh Sallallâhu ‘alayhi wasallam! Besides the month of Ramadhân, in which month would you advise me to fast?” Rasulullâh Sallallâhu ‘alayhi wasallam replied, “If you wish to fast in any month after Ramadhân, then fast in the month of Muharram because this is Allâh’s month. It has a day in which Allâh Ta’âla had accepted the repentance of a nation and in which Allâh Ta’âla will accept the repentance of others also.” The nation whose Taubah (repentance) was accepted on a day in this month was the Bani Isrâ’eel. It was on the 10th of Muharram (Âshura) that the Bani Isrâ’eel (the Jews) and Hadhrat Moosa Alayhis-Salâm were saved from Fir’aun and his army.

Jazakallahu khair.

Sahih Bukhari is a book of narrations and hadiths of the Prophet Muhammed PBUH. It was compiled a couple centuries after the Prophet by Sheikh Muhammed al Bukhari, and admittidely it is quite beautifully compiled. To maintain authenticity, there is a chain of narrators for each hadith, to pinpoint where the hadith comes from and who had originally narrated the message. It traces down to early Muslims, companions of the Prophet Muhammed PBUH, his family members and his wives.

For the time period, it was an excellent compilation. Bukhari is claimed to have memorized about 200,000 hadiths in his life, and contained about 6,000 hadiths of what he believed were the most authentic. They concern everything such as interpretations of the Qur'an, parables, morals, the legal system, war, the day of judgment, prophecies, the future, etc. It was a rather useful tool, and until today, it can accurately shape the attitude of the Prophet.

But. Is it perfect?

There are many who claim this book is absolutely perfect. They see how Bukhari spent his whole life travelling the world and collecting hadiths, and rationalize that because of the effort, the book has to be "sahih" or authentic in every sense.

We must remember that the only perfect book is the Qur'an. Although I agree Bukhari is a great source, and I do agree that it is probably mostly authentic. It may be our best, but definitely not completely Sahih.

Example as quoted from Sahih Bokhari:

Volume 4, Book 55, Number 581:

Narrated Abu Huraira:

One day some meat was given to the Prophet PBUH and he said, "On the Day of Resurrection Allah will gather all the first and the last (people) in one plain, and the voice of the announcer will reach all of them, and one will be able to see them all, and the sun will come closer to them." (The narrator then mentioned the narration of intercession): "The people will go to Abraham and say: 'You are Allah's Prophet and His Khalil on the earth. Will you intercede for us with your Lord?' Abraham will then remember his lies and say: 'Myself! Myself! Go to Moses."

You could already see what is wrong here without me explaining. Basically, on the Day of Judgment, people will all be asking Prophet Abraham for intercession because of his high rank of “Khalilullah” or “Friend of God”. Then, Abraham will “remember his lies”. Now this nauzubillah suggests that Prophet Abraham had lied during his lifetime. As a prophet and holy representative of God, how can one conceive that Abraham had lied during his life? There is nothing in the Qur’an to suggest that he did.

Still another is:

Volume 4, Book 53, Number 334:
Narrated 'Abdullah bin 'Umar,.........

I would consider this one particularly disrespectful towards Rahmatullil Alamin, so any one curious, can consult sahih bokhari and look this one up by themselves.

isnt it interesting that religion always finds short cuts to reduce your sins? I mean washing one year's worth of sins would be such a relief, if one could do it with a couple of fasting. does that mean the fasts are better than the ones in Ramadan even though the ones in Ramadan were sanctioned by God?
a year's worth of sins would have many things. that could include taking away someone's rightful property, killing someone etc. or are those sins not included because they fall in the category of "Huququl ibad". if they are not being forgiven, then that is not the full forgiveness being guaranteed, is it?
or maybe we might just want to say about Huququllah. what if a person does not pay his Zakat, does not pray all year long, drinks heavily all year long and then fasts in the ashura. will his sins be washed?

oh wait, logic is not supposed to apply to religious matters, right? but still those questions will spring to anyone's mind, atleast to a thinking mind anyway. they dont spring in a religious mind because religious minds are never thinkers.

Peace janaan

You seem to know quite a bit about Islam, but it is a pity that you do not let what you know soak in. Religion does not find any short cuts, you are viewing with from the wrong perspective. Knowing our shortfalls we need these life lines and you see we are proof that even with these life lines we still do not manage to get the reward offered. Rather people see the lottery as a chance to be rich and waste money on it week after week, but when there is an opportunity of surety people still don't turn up. So you see this short cut you see is not short at all, but it is highly required for our shortfalls.

In Ramadan should we be successful to find and worship on Laylat-ul-Qadr then that reward is worth 83 years worth of worship. So this one day does not compete really with Ramadan.

The Judge to your last question is God. With the guidance that we have we should not drink at all and we should observe all our duties, despite doing all these we are still sinning and we need forgiveness.

Oh you talk about logic? What is the logic in giving your totally wrong and false opinion on a matter that you have NO knowledge on?
These hadith show a person of the mercy of the lord and that the lord is willing to show his forgiveness and mercy to his creations and they refer to the forgiveness of MINOR sins ONLY which as we know we commit unimaginable amount of throughout our life! Major sins can ONLY be forgiven by sincere repentance with the intention of not doing it again but if we hurt others then that can ONLY be forgiven if those people forgive us! Allah knows what is in our hearts and why we do things and EVERYTHING that we do! It does'nt mean that all get our good deeds will be accepted or sins forgiven that is entirely upto Allah!But what we can do is try our best and do every good action with full sincerity with the intention of ONLY pleasing Allah! You think anyone can fool the lord? You think he does not know what is in our hearts and why we do every action?
Don't limit the abilities of the lord and don't rant on about something you know NOTHING about! Because your making youself look foolish!

I remember i asked you a question in another thread and you still have not answered it! What is your religion and if you have'nt got one then what do you believe in?

It should not be of any interest to you what religion I am from. and please dont speculate anything on it either. I am a skeptic. I dont want to believe everything merely because someone is telling me that it is coming from God. and contrary to what you say, I am not going to take these ahadiths on their face value. there is a reason for this.
the way for judging the accuracy of a hadith, amongst others, is that it should make sense to your aqal. and also those ahadiths which talk of too high punishments or too high rewards are not to be accepted. that criteria is narrated by Syed Sulaiman Nadvi, so i did not invent them.
the ahadiths that you have described have such things. and therefore i have asked you questions.
if you want everyone to do Jazakallah and Subhanallah to what you say, maybe this is not the place to do it. Go to a Jama'at or a mosque or some other place where all the people hold views like you.

Brthr i respectfully disagree wd u...alhumdulillah sahi bukhari is a very authentic buk...da only thing is we need to make a proper understanding about it. ...we shld always see for any more hadiths related to a particular one so that it clears all our doubt. we should not make any bigotry without proper understanding.

Volume 4, number: 578

Narrated Abu Huraira

Abraham did not tell a lie except on three occasions. Twice for the sake of Allah when he said, "I am sick," and he said, "(I have not done this but) the big idol has done it." The (third was) that while Abraham and Sarah (his wife) were going (on a journey) they passed by (the territory of) a tyrant. Someone said to the tyrant, "This man (i.e. Abraham) is accompanied by a very charming lady." So, he sent for Abraham and asked him about Sarah saying, "Who is this lady?" Abraham said, "She is my sister." Abraham went to Sarah and said, "O Sarah! There are no believers on the surface of the earth except you and I. This man asked me about you and I have told him that you are my sister, so don't contradict my statement." The tyrant then called Sarah and when she went to him, he tried to take hold of her with his hand, but (his hand got stiff and) he was confounded. He asked Sarah. "Pray to Allah for me, and I shall not harm you." So Sarah asked Allah to cure him and he got cured. He tried to take hold of her for the second time, but (his hand got as stiff as or stiffer than before and) was more confounded. He again requested Sarah, "Pray to Allah for me, and I will not harm you." Sarah asked Allah again and he became alright. He then called one of his guards (who had brought her) and said, "You have not brought me a human being but have brought me a devil." The tyrant then gave Hajar as a girl-servant to Sarah. Sarah came back (to Abraham) while he was praying. Abraham, gesturing with his hand, asked, "What has happened?" She replied, "Allah has spoiled the evil plot of the infidel (or immoral person) and gave me Hajar for service." (Abu Huraira then addressed his listeners saying, "That (Hajar) was your mother, O Bani Ma-is-Sama (i.e. the Arabs, the descendants of Ishmael, Hajar's son)."

Brthr i respectfully disagree wd u...alhumdulillah sahi bukhari is a very authentic buk...da only thing is we need to make a proper understanding about it. ...we shld always see for any more hadiths related to a particular one so that it clears all our doubt

Ms. Khan, what you are essentially saying is that we should look for the hadiths that conform to our beliefs. and if we can not find them, then we should make our own interpretation ( "proper understanding") to make sure they do conform to our beliefs.

These threads are not for you! Because you are clearly not a beliver of Islam i know that for sure!You should ONLY be posting in comparitive religion threads! This thread was ONLY created for Muslims to remind them about the fasting of Ashura! So next time DON'T enter these threads and start making your apostate FALSE VIEWS of things you have NO understanding and knowledge on and your not even wanting to understand and research it properly for yourself but instead ALWAYS produce apologetic statements!You have no rights coming into a thread which is aimed at Muslims and try to ridicule Islam! If you want a debate then go to a comparitive religion thread or make a comparitive religion thread that you can debate in!But your not welcome in threads like this at all!

or in other words you want to say you dont like to be shown the light. the inernet is not your domain. and i will keep posting things whether you like it or not. i have not gotten personal with you. you dont like me commenting, dont start your threads.