I am not a GEO supporter but will stand up for freedom of press in Pakistan. Imran should have supported the principle of freedom of press instead of trying to score some brownie points with the army and ISI. Shame really.
Freedom of press / speech comes with a sense of responsibility. We need responsible media not just free-of-all-ethics media.
So now when Geo is banned, there'll be no one working on Raw/CIA/Mosad etc agenda.
Wait, why is cable TV showing indian movie "Agent Vinod" on their channel number?
This is just the start of the censorship, aggay aggay dekhey hota hai kiya, fire or no fire. They will even chew and spit those out the ones who are their favourite "darlings" now and dancing to their tunes.
Oh wow, suddenly army is the bad guys and IK an establishment lackey. Yes that right, this the same guy who few weeks ago was being abused by left, right and centre for "not supporting the all mighty and al righty army" against Taliban, by same posters who now accuse him of being a civilian COAS. Some posters make gold fish memory look like a better off feature. Yes, what happened to conspiracy theories that IK is a thorn in army's way, they can't stand that playboy blah dee blah dee blah?
Honestly, get over it. You wanna whinge about IK on every given opportunity and indulge in character assassination exercise than stick to the whole yahoodi agent fluff and add the illuminati tarka to it, in my eyes that most plausible theory.
I don't care if this post gets deleted or edited, but honestly seeing the hopelessly bitter, gossipy, uninspiring, failed and defeated mentality of old members kind of tells you why Pakistan is where it is. The previous generations and their duddy thought process have failed Pakistan! In today's afternoon, I met this uncle who said with utmost confidence and authority that "nuke Pakistan and start all over again". I was like WTF (in my mind of course). The uncle repeated the same thing like five times with total seriousness and I still couldn't believe my ears. So, Pakistan is one of the youngest nation on earth atm, and the only way Pakistan's generation can go forward is by not looking back, and that basically includes not paying a heed to pessimistic and sullen oldies.
, I met this uncle who said with utmost confidence and authority that "nuke Pakistan and start all over again". I was like WTF. The uncle repeated the same thing like five times with total seriousness and I still couldn't believe my ears.
You shoulda told the geezer that we can nuke Pakistan with you and your loved ones back in Pakistan.
Oh wow, suddenly army is the bad guys and IK an establishment lackey.
Suddenly?? IK has always been an establishment guy. But he walks on a path where he has got a soft corner for Taliban too. So this Geo thing provided him the biggest opportunity and he jumped on it. so now its a win-win for him. Everybody happy with him. Wut a Geader, i mean leader.
Oh wow, suddenly army is the bad guys and IK an establishment lackey. Yes that right, this the same guy who few weeks ago was being abused by left, right and centre for "not supporting the all mighty and al righty army" against Taliban, by same posters who now accuse him of being a civilian COAS. Some posters make gold fish memory look like a better off trait.
Good observation. Kissi pal IK ko nahi bakhshtay loag.
Suddenly?? IK has always been an establishment guy. But he walks on a path where he has got a soft corner for Taliban too. So this Geo thing provided him the biggest opportunity and he jumped on it. so now its a win-win for him. Everybody happy with him. Wut a Geader, i mean leader.
Then likes of you moan why Pakistani awaam cannot look beyond conspiracy theories? If a Mullah calls someone a Yahoodi agent, he's so bloody out of fashion. But likes of you brand anyone as establishment agent, that counts as sacred knowledge? I absolutely loath the whole reality of Pakistan as a garrison state, but I'm not a coward nor a troll to use personalities and institution as proxies to attack army. I can confidently name and shame army independently whenever the situations permits.
So much for being an establishment guy, he's ruling an only province with a coalition. Couldn't even secure a healthy majority from areas where everyone's favourite ISI hails from. The guy who's "always" been an ISI agent, single handily exposed and embarrassed Pakistan military's - persistently and so unapologetically for an entire decade - for their material and diplomatic surrender against the USA. Lambasted their Afghan Jihad policies. Criticised their lion's share in the budget. Devised a non violent movement to get rid of a mighty general. Pretty much discredited all major operations and wars in Pakistan history, and compelled army to think in terms of politics and diplomacy for long term national security. Yes right, he's an ISI agent. ISI/Army has hired him to destroy their PR.
Jokes aside, from all that, there's only one thing I can conclude - those general must be some serious IK fanboys to have him in their team despite his anti military rhetoric. The Cupid's Bow has struck them hard.
I mean Geo gets shut down for running Zaheer ul Islam's picture, and Immy boy gets scot free for bad mouthing the army since 2001. Life is not fair.
Thanks, I’m obliged with the notion “likes of you”
I’d already given your answers, IK couldnt be successful due to clear two reasons, he didnt hv enough support among voters. Its one thing to produce mass troll on social media, and another to have a common man vote for them.
I’m not a fan of anyone in Pakistani politics but can absolute guarantee if total free elections are held today, IK will again not be successful.
Second, his soft corner for Taliban. How can establishment bring a person in center who is so much close to the elements that have been literally destroying military forces for last few years. Yes, they do need IK to hushush popups like Geo. They cant do everything on their own.
It’d be a conspiracy theory, had IK not alleged Geo for rigging right after Army went against them. To me he’s no different than Mubassir Luqman or Hazrat Zaid Hamid.
Btw, I heard that IK has summoned a meeting to discuss what his next Dharna will be on, as Geo has to be taken off-list now. or May be he should do it on Babar Sattar now.
It does seem that all your posts for IK and Army are fundamentally hate driven, you've been criticising them for sake of criticising. But if you'd have had sufficient knowledge about the institution you'd love to mention in every single post of yours, you'd know military really doesn't need any politician to nurse their wounded pride nor fight for their right. Besides, why would they need IK to do the job when the real deal lies with the PMLN? IK doesn't control PAMERA nor Geo walas are knocking on IK's door for another life? Yes IK has taken advantage of the situation, but to say army knocked on his door for some assistance shows a complete lack of knowledge about army's long established influence and reach in civil organisations. I can give you first hand personal testimony against military men's rarely opposed and rarely disclosed influence in all types of civil organisations. So there's a difference between holding army responsible for their direct actions, and opportunistically using personalities and organisations as proxy to attack them. And it is true that after a while you tend to get quite sick of typical 'I-don't- -support-any-politician- or-any- party- but- I- love- to- show- acidulous- and- habitual- contempt- for- everybody- and- everything- I- see-' type of self styled cynics. It's pointless, and it is because of such people and their obnoxious obsession and appetite for character assassination that the true spirit of journalism is dead. No one wants to see news these days, everybody wants to read conspiracy theories, enjoy defamation campaigns, devour all fancy rumours. You don't like Imran Khan you want him to be shredded into pieces via pen, someone doesn't like Hamid Mir, they want him to be taken out via bullet. Political extremism is the new 'it' trend in Pakistan.
Besides, it's comical to see hypocrites who few weeks ago were singing songs - "Go Pakistan Army, Go ISI. Kill Taliban, ignore Imran. We are with you, we trust you, we are proud of you" have turned army and ISI into dirty words. Just like all previous dramas and controversies, Imran will once again come out clean and more powerful as a result. Those who are harping about his association with military and ISI the most have no idea that in a country like Pakistan, this is probably the best thing you can do someone to raise anyone's public profile, lol.
Define successful? In a democracy, no should really expect a 'total' success. At least and at most, a hung parliament was expected in last elections.
Funny you mentioned Imran's views on Taliban, this once agains reminds me how ceasefire is long overdue but neither the posters nor every two penny freelance writer is wailing about negotiations - yes you guessed it right, it's because Imran's not associated it with any more. Army is suddenly the bad guys because they are now associated with Imran. So really, in Pakistan it's becoming fashionable to throw fits about any issue for heck of it, only when Immy The Great becomes associated with it.
Now we know who the real boss is in Pakistan, also it is evident on whose tunes IK is dancing. This is the guy who wanted to clean politics in Pakistan is now showing some of the worst traits of his personality. Instead of defending freedom of press he joined hands with the old dictators. Shame.
I need to go to cricket forum to see if the boyzz (Inzi's smilie would've been perfect here) have blame IK and illuminanti and ISI for Najam Sethi's suspension.
If not, I'll shall be the first one to leak the rumour. :D Might as well, eh?