GEO - new Pakistani TV channel?

Dr. Evil,

I beg to differ.

1. Prime will have major competition with Indus and ARY. Thus, its not necessary that people wont get indus or ary because they'll have to upgrade. Some may just drop prime entirely. If I like Indus/ary better, I'll be dropping Prime. Many others might do so also.

2. Indian competition is going on even now. And yet, Prime has been fairly successful and they're still gaining subscriptions.

3. I agree that there will be people who wont buy the channels because they're pakistani, but I think that with Indus and ARY expanding, many of those people may switch over...these private channels have a completely different flavor from PTV and it'll appeal to the crowd that's avoiding PTV now.

4. It depends ENTIRELY on the marketing. If the channels market themselves right, they'll go places. Marketing at Indus and ARY is fairly decent and they've already gained good repute in Pakistan. Geo as well. For example, on the Int'l preview channel, the "highlights" for Prime were "Khabarnama". Do you think this kind of advertising is attractive?

5. If Indus/Ary/Geo will be showing cricket matches, then you'll see a lot of subscriptions. Plus, the programming is just better on these private channels. You have a variety of stuff to choose from, unlike Prime, which has Cinemascope, Rivaaj, Your Choice, and Sur Street - of which only the first two are worth watching.

I think they'll be pretty successful out here, and they'll give the Indian channels good competition.

As for people like your mithai friend, if you pump some enthusiastic patriotism into them, or at least try, that'll do a whole lotta good. I had a group of friends who used to turn their noses up at anything "pakistani". I have them addicted to Junaid Jamshed and Faakhir now. :)

Well said and Well done PCG :k:

I would love to be wrong. If you ppl think that three Pak channels will do good out here then by all means start them, i'll (my family) will be surely the one getting all three (no we won't even throw ptv).

As far as pumping patriotism in their head is concerned then don't even think about it, lol you'll sure be labeled narrow minded, nationalist and all that crap. They have build quite alot of excuses and defense system for themselves which they'd like to call "openions".

Then I said when our product is equally good and place is convienient, still you talked crap about it, at that i kicked him out of the car and drove home, he probably had to walk or take the buss (yeah i know i'm evil)

lol, that's was the most lovely part.

Ok doc I agree with you to some extent, but I think once they start those channels, they'll do good. Prime now has almost 20,000 subscriptions, and that just in one year.

Second, I agree with PCG to some extent too. But PTV still has the edge over private channels. And that is that PTV dramas are much better than the private ones. Even the big news papers like Dawn, Dailytimes and big Pak entertainment websites review only PTV dramas. They do however, give attention to private channels other programs regarding pop, films quiz shows etc. Recently the biggest quiz show is being aired from ARY called Kiya aap baney ga coror pati, hosted by the one and only tadaa Moin Akhter (the set it self cost more than ten million rupees). But then again PTV bounced back with it's own Baat Ka Sawal which is giving ARY show run of it's money.

So if they start those channels i'll get all of them, no matter how much they cost and dropping any channel (Pak channel) is simply out of question, each apparentaly has something unique which the others can't offer.

They have build quite alot of excuses and defense system for themselves which they'd like to call "openions"

ik tu yeh bhi bohut museibat hai. Aaj kal har aira ghira natho khaira
apney apney "openion" uthaiey phir raha hai, lol. God help us

Yes, but PTV programming is not exactly a duplicate of Prime. PTV has a bunch of channels like ptv world, channel-3, etc...Prime is only one channel. So Prime's performance is different from PTV's.

I think in terms of Dramas, prime is great. But it sorely lacks in everything else. Saturday nights - rivaaj and cinemascope - are the only thing i watch anymore, beyond my fav dramas.

Here are the name of some shows:

Ham Sab Umeed Say Hain, Pachas Minute, Aalam Online, Piti Hoi News

I like the last one :)

PCG when u r in America how do u know about all the pak tv channels like how do u get them

Dr Evil wrote...at that i kicked him out of the car and drove home, he probably had to walk or take the buss (yeah i know i'm evil)

SHAME ON YOU !!!. You took him to the shop in your car. It was your responisibilty to bring him back with you regardless of his views. You could have told him about your stance later and ended all relationships. But for you to leave someone stranded in the middle of a trip is really uncalled for. Shame on you!

piyo aur jio...GEO

It was your responisibilty to bring him back with you regardless of his views

these views, personal openions etc people use as scapegoat or to justify what is wrong. Ghalat baat ghalat hai, whether one says it, hundred or millions, what's wrong is wrong. Poeple can not justify themselves by saying it's their openions and they're entitled to it.

As far as my friend is concerned, woh kahtey hein na kay "laaton ke bhoot baton se nehein mantey", he is a true example of that. But, we have put that behind us, eid occasion you know.

Just wanted to differ with Dr. Evil on the subscription plan he has devised. Well, my boss gets like 8 Arabic channels for only 29.99, and he's not even subscribed to basic Dish Network service, so his entire bill is just $35 bucks. So I think it's quite possible that we can have 3 or more Pakistani channels for like 25 bucks or less. Or u could always get ur receiver "fixed"... ;)

hehe, pak 99 - that's true, i'm sure they'll have those "deal" packages where you can get a bunch of channels for a lower price...

khiska hoowa: we dont get any channels in the US other than prime :(
However, jang, dawn, and a bunch of other websites (usually newspapers or magazines) write artiles on these channels. Also, most of the channels have their own websites. Its all about the research.

Re: GEO - new Pakistani TV channel?

anyone remember GEO? :bummer:

its still on but just a different atmosphere. Mushy killed it

i miss the debates :(

watch it online on www.geo.tv and click watch geo tv online and there u go watch geo news live

from a pakistani reader in US: I am a doctor and having much more insight about whats been going on the country for the past 50 plus years more than the lay people would know......... now since i started watching GEO i came to know how cheap, degraded, traitor-pakistanis are i feel ashamed. Am astonished to hear the falsely based propaganda aired by ours own media channel GEO, who blatantly state about the nations constitution and the state authority, being insulted each other minute....if pakis tend to be this way about their nation than how are we going to expect any respect in the world, are these barbaric politicians aware about how bad our economy is affected by this?
do these greedy, dying to be on the chair, and money hungry people love pakistan a single bit?....i really dont think so....
a true patriot will never do something like this....
u ppl are blood sucking leeches who want to kill this land....till not a single bit is left.

Pakistan is the first country in the world which got its independence in the name of Islam......r we muslims from any way??..... these ppl only talk the language of money.....money is their god........it is high time that something should be done about this.......

^-- huh what? :confused:

you blaming the politicians or GEO for all this… or both or the whole nation.