Gentleman

Let’s say your wife gets WAY more religious. She changes her clothing, drops her job because she says women who sit at home are more closer to God, stops doing her hair and going out to nice dawats for you, starts wearing niqaab, you can’t even see her face in public when you go out with her.

And now let’s say all this change happens, and she tells you - who doesn’t have a beard: you need to grow a beard.

She starts believing that pictures are haraam, and throws out your camera and you’re now not allowed to take pictures of your own kids. You figure out ways to sneak in pics using the camera on your iphone, and she finds out you do that, and she gets into an argument with you and tells you she told you not to take pics of the kids.

She asks you that every year when you save up for a family vacation, you guys have to go to Saudi for Umrah. You say, how about Paris this time? She says absolutely not, it’s a haraam city, you guys have to go to Saudi instead. So you begin to look for ways to travel through work to keep up with your hobby of seeing the world.

When you met her, she wore regular fashionable shalwaar kameez, had her hair done nicely, make-up on, etc. And now she just wears burqa and niqaab when she goes out, because she took some religious classes and got inspired by the clothing of her teachers, and so she believes this is the right Islamic way to do things.

When you go for jumma, she notices your shalwaar, and asks you to hike it up, so your ankles show.

How would you deal with this?

By the way, this is not hypthetical. My cousin did this to her husband. She pulled all these changes on him immediately after the marriage. She had become religious prior to the marriage, but decided to hide all this so she could continue on with the marriage. Then after marriage, she changed completely. She was inspired by classes by Farhat Hashmi.

She doesn’t let her husband take pics of her kids. In fact, I’m not allowed to take pics of my niece and nephew. I once did secretly, and she pulled me aside and made me give up the picture.

Re: Gentleman

Actually, I thought to address this to the guys of the forum, but if you're a lady, how would you react if your bhabi did this to your brother?

^ thts personal matter of bro n bhabi , I will stay out of it

The post seems overdramatized to me.

Everyone with enough knowledge would know this is not Islam, but purely stereotyping of religious people. Yes, such people exist, but they are a minority. I see many things in your describtion of her, which are her personal ideas, and doesnt have anything to do with Islam.

For instance the niqaab. Its not mandatory. You mentioned she was fashionable before, she can continue with that for her husband. If she doesnt its her choice. The vacation spot, again a personal preference on her behalf. Islam doesnt dictate which countries you should visit, at least no the last time I checked. And most importantly, if she had really understood Islam, she wouldnt have pulled the last trick (hiding her "religious" side before marriage).. I think the last point just shows what wrong with this whole concept.

About the pictures. I dont have enough knowledge about this, but they are her kids, so you dont really have a right to take a picture of them without her permission. Their dad, well he is another story altogether.

First you had this relative who wanted to take divorce because her Husband turned to be more Islamic and now you've got another cousin who turned out to be a Kattar Muslim and her husband is portrayed as bechara. I wish your relative's husband and your cousin would have married together on the first place :) They's make a complete couple.

Coming to your point, as I discussed it with your previously, only entering into Islam completely is not enough. You NEED to have the inspiring guts to make others do what you are doing.

A partner is the one, who is closest to you and lives with you 24/7. Whether you are a girl OR a boy, once you have committed yourself with Islam, and if you understood its true meaning, you would NEVER impose it on others. Do it yourself. Pray five times, Avoid pictures. Avoid unnecessarily banna sanwarna that can attract others. Be good to people around. Stop back biting. There is NO way when you keep doing it and your spouse won't notice. Koi to din aayega when he/she will feel shame to disobey Allah.

Islam danday ke zor pe chalanay ka naam nahin hay.... Our Prophet P.B.U.H never asked the lady to convert to Islam who used to throw garbage on him. He just acted politely. Its just she got inspired and converted to Islam.

Rahi baat so why should a Man instruct his wife, then I have mentioned it previously too.... Mard ghar ka sarbarah hay, Hay to Hay! Uska darja buland hay, jiska ziker Quran pak main hay, and we can't object a single verse of Quran Pak. Now if he asks you to do something within the limitations of Islam, You are supposed to obey him. Yes.

Wow PCG. This definitely sounds like someone i knew VERY well. Lets just say..i would have HUGE problem with woman like that.

I will either then use my right to have additional wives as well as muttah and misyar. Also to beat her.

I mean if she can impose debatable religious stuff then so can I, right?

piece sissoo,

i will be taking the biwi # 2, 3, and achaar

This whole assumption sounds so not possible. It's a known fact that men are always always way way way more religious than women.

Totally believable as I have seen it happen left and right in our community.

OTHO. it is no different from a man becoming super religious and wanting/demanding his wife to observe purdah, etc etc.

Well than he has been had off. Simple. Almost lied to...Poor Guy.

need more information.
on scale 1 to 10, how pretty this wife is ?

PCG

I am sure wo bachun ko cartoons dehkney ki bhi ijazat nahi dety hun gi am i right:frusty:

Bcuz meri bhi cousin same yehi kerti hain…is mae koi borayi nahi hai achi baat hai perda kerna islam ke rules ke mutabiq zindagi guzarana.mager bachun per intni Restrictions achi baat nahi hai…:nahi:

Actually everything I wrote is 100% my cousin. Sadly. Her husband just does what he's told.

Story is true, not made up.

In terms of TV, they’re not allowed to watch TV for the most part. I never asked about cartoons actually. Right before getting married, she herself had stopped watching TV including even Pakistani dramas, because she thought it was all haraam and decided for entertainment that kids cartoons were only halaal enough. I know this because I saw her watching cartoons one day. Then I tried changing the channel and got a lecture on how everything on TV is haraam.

:rolleyes:

it happened to my childhood friend. Funny thing is his wife's own brother are all clean shaved and stuff.
And my friend looks like Bengali couple, like muteen-ud-din-with-a-shuttle-cock-wife type.

^ Did he want to appear like that to people? Or was it forced on him?

He was mama's boy, very accustomed to listen and obey a woman.
So wife came held his lagam and took him her way.

I wasn't there to stop all that. so...

If you were, I'm sure he'd be riding motorbikes on the freeway with tatoos as yourself