doea anyone remember those posters…in which you had saddam’s pictures along with Zia-ul_Haq’s with that really famous shair wirtten on it…i forget it, if sb rmemebers plz quote it..
well this guy was revered a lot when he was alive..
besides he is held responsible for quite a lot of permanent changes in pakistan…mostly all negative…but somehow can ureally get away with things he did, unless at some level you have good and genuine support, power or character…not military leaders can pull off 10 yrs like him…mushy is too calculated and cautious, zia-ul-haq was brazenly autocractic…
u have to be something when his detractors only say **** like “america made him, used him like a pawn, and then discarded him”…well that just tells abt thekind of local power he had…everyone knows if some american conspiracy hadnt removed him, NO ONE IN PAKISTAN could have…he coulkd just come up with some ****ty cabinet of chamchas and had the cheek it to call it an Islamic majlis-shoora whatever…
he even took out a referendum abt remaining in power…it went like do you want
“whatever or do you want Islam”…it was implicilty assumed wanting Islam meant wanting him…
not many people know his period was a lot abt economic growth, but that could easily have been due to foregin aid flowing in due to afghansitan…
whatever, what do people think of him…can anyone say he was a great leader?..
he is one guy nobody remembers due to his ethincity…he was no Sindhi zulfiqar bhutto, working for liyari’s uplift…or punjabi nawaz sharif…or karachi’s beloved coward, altaf hussain…or any of the anglicised generals tryin to form coalitions with all the feudal powers just to remain in power and make all thier grandons rich…
oh and plz sb tell me what that shair was…that poster was like across every school van some 15 yrs ago…
that shair also had mar-de-momin in it....thora sa aur zehan pai zor dalain...i am too bad with shairs, may be u can remmeber....
it had had a zanjeer and kalashankof printed on it that poster.and i think zia-ul-haq praying a dua with hands raised....
^ but wasn't it meant to hide some major form of corruption.....some papers related to american aid to afghanistan got burnt there or was it to hide the amount of arsenal that america had provided to pakistan?......
dismissing PMs, he could get away with anything....
that incident was not really an achievement, some say he got killed becoz of it...
Oh, and the guy was so brilliant, he went to the flood site in Hyderabad once and said that if every person empties one 'paani ki baalti' the flood would recede!
And how can we forgot his utter solemn promise to the nation about holding elections within the 3 month time frame. Mr. 'Dingi Much Tey Kaani Akh' stayed there for over a decade (screwing up the nation royally) until saddar sahib ka tayyarra hawwa me phat gya! I dont know whose teeth they buried in his final resting place next to Faisal Mosque.
Ok, there is no need to go on calling him names, the man is dead, lets give him some respect. I am not a big fan of his but we need to discuss/study his years objectively and find out where things went right and where things went wrong.
Getting foreign money coming in. :k:
Fighting someone else’s war
Making Islam a guiding light :k:
Using Islam to oppress others
Having an economy with a 6% or so growth rate :k:
Increasing the national debt 2-3 fold .. way uncool!!!
you need to do some research ahmadjee, how the hell did zia get foreign money in, he didnt get nothing in, instead all foreign investments from before left and took there investments out wen he came in power.
Ive heard people saying they feel like going to his final resting place and spitting on it, but they are not even sure what they have buried beneath, patah nahee kis becharey ke daantoon ko daffan kar diya hai, thinking they belonged to zia, maybe it was chewedviagra or that american ambassador's teeth. He has to be the most hated leader ever.