Gang rape victim gets Glamour award

Someone has to start the fight. Cheers for Mukhtaran Mai! the New York-based magazine Glamour has selected her for this years “Glamour Women of the Year Award”.

‘It would be interesting to watch whether the Pakistan government would let her go, because a couple of months ago she was denied permission to visit Washington for a conference convened on women issues.’

http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/7242_1525655,00180007.htm

Rape victim is glam woman of the year!

Pakistan gang rape victim Mukhtaran Mai, who attracted extensive international media attention by launching a tirade against her attackers, has been chosen for this year’s “Glamour Women of the Year Award” instituted by the New York-based magazine Glamour.

The rape victim would be given 20,000 dollars as a donation to set up a women’s centre in her town Meerwala.

By her strong resolve to fight for justice and bring the accused to book, Mai has set an example in the traditional Pakistani society where women generally decide against going to the police to save their “family honour”.

According to the Dawn, the magazine has invited Mai to receive the award in a ceremony on November 2, but she has been asked to stay in the US from October 22 to November 5. It would be interesting to watch whether the Pakistan government would let her go, because a couple of months ago she was denied permission to visit Washington for a conference convened on women issues.

In a letter to Mai, Glamour editor-in-chief Cindi Leive explained that the magazine honoured the women who had struggled for the cause of women. “For 15 years, Glamour magazine has saluted inspiring, high-achieving women with our annual Glamour Women of the Year Awards, and past winners include Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton, Diane Sawyer, Madeleine Albright and many more. We are honoured and thrilled to add your name to this distinguished list. I’m also very pleased to let you know that Glamour will make a donation of 20,000 dollars to help you start a women’s centre for your town, and we are also asking our readers to contribute to a fund in your name,” she added.

Re: Gang rape victim gets Glamour award

Pakistan government ko har aurton ki chezon mein kis kushi mein tang arani hoti hai...

*claps its about time someone does that - i salute mai aunty...

she is nothing but a trained idiot from NGO,s...she deserves "worst character woman" award or BIIGEST DRAMABAZ AWARD

acha? sach mei?u personally know her?

it is very surprising why th thousands of women grtting raped in the streets of new york or london or any other western never get any such award.

or for that matter all the Indian women who get raped all the time: the rate is one every four minutes.

What happened to her was disgusting and wrong, but to malign the whole nation as a result is also wrong.

i cannot understand y just pakistan is criticized??? ...last year,there were 95000 registered rape cases in america....thousands of women r raped in other western coountries....
we have **** like asma jehangir,mai and the like who r directly supported from pentagon..and thts a known thing...
mai really deserves "biggest loser woman award"...

^ You are right
Also, the thread started qoutes Hindustan times as his source. This is the same "Unreliable" and "Biased" news paper that posted the news of "India Iran gass pipe line cancellation" when it was not.

Besides the thread starter forgot this.....

A Brahman, Kshatriya, or Vaishya Man can sexually exploit any shudra woman.
Manusmitri IX.25

ISI should kill her .

Fk you googlly, its becasue of messed up individuals like yourself, that women like her are raped and then cut off from society. She deserves this award becasue she dared to speak out against the fcuks who did that to her, she deserves much more becasue evidently she is more man - as a woman, then you ladies can ever hope of being.

So what if its a hindustani news paper? You people are more stupid than you previously appeared. Really, discusting.

While I have every sympathy for Mukhtaran Mai and salute her courage in fighting for justice, this "award" is somewhat ill-thought. Where is the "glamour" in rape?

You moron “Glamour” is the name of hte magazine. Ive been reading it for years and it’sd iffernet in that it’s not all the fluffy crap thats out there (Cosmo, marie claire etc). Its acutally relevant. I agree wit Hiccup here.. :rolleyes:

And how many women actually approach the police after rape? 1 out of 1000 if not less?

Hopefully that will change now and most women will have the courage to step forward.

She must NOT be allowed to leave the country. She must be given courage award right here in Pakistan and must be given all due respect. Off course culprits must be punished severely.
If on the other hand if she disrespects Pakistan or its society in media or public then she must be held accountable like a traitor.

Absolutely agree and a law against ‘honor killings’ must be created. In fact the honor killer must be executed.

I personally dont see any problem in Mai going to the U.S. or anywhere else for that matter to get an award/donations for her schools. I believe, that when we actually stop people from going abroad in the name of national security/defaming national pride, is only going to cause more uproar among the women's organizations and is only going to invite more bad publicity. These kind of issues are better left alone; let the HRCP, women's organizations, and the Mai do what ever they feel like doing.
It's also true, that more women are being raped in other countries than in Pakistan; but those women are not being raped by the law enforcement agencies or on the orders of local town councils. The problem in Pakistan is that these women were raped by the people who were actually suppose to protect them. We have to accept the fact that unfortunately, there are some loopholes in our judicial system, where the culprits get away. An ordinary citizen, regardless of their sex/ethnicity/religion is not getting justice in our Land of the Pure. The government seriously needs to work on the rotten judicial system, we have in Pakistan, and also the 2003 police ordinance needs to be implemented. Otherwise, we are going to see more cases of these kind in the future.
If a person is shot to death in New York, its just another story. Now imagine, if a person was shot to death by a NY cop; now we have a story. It's going to cause an uproar, all over the country... Just my nine cents.