"Gali Galoch" in a household.

we all believe and say in threads that abusive language/profanity is unacceptable in a household.

But, did you guys grow up in a home where profanity was used? Was it used to degrade or discipline you? What did you think of it?

yes, it’s sort of a spin-off of that thread.

Re: "Gali Galoch" in a household.

No profanity used in the household
and even as we got older words that were even slightly would get a glare from dad followed by "language please"
I was shocked when i went to some friends homes where swear words were thrown around between siblings or from parents.

Nope..no swearing at home no matter what...

gali galoch ye kya hota hai bhai?:D

no gali galoch at home

I dont even allow Slangs in my household

No I never witnessed such language in my house and never will Insha Allah !

It's a NO NO NO under any circumstances

Re: “Gali Galoch” in a household.

I think the cat heard swear words at home. :smiley:

i never heard any b-word at my home.

Not maa/behn types but yes, there was and I hated it. It's funny because my mom's side of the family is totally anti-gali galoch but my dad's side of the family can be quite crass and it rubbed off on my mom, too. Again, these aren't maa/behn types but still galis nonetheless. As for my siblings and I, we never swear amongst each other, ever. The worst I've ever said was "ass".

Definitely don't ever want a trace of bad words to enter my house once I'm married and have kids of my own.

Might sound like a rotten fish amongst all you decent no-gali-galoch household people. But yeh, there was plenty of gali galoch when abba ji was really pissed off (at us or at other people). In addition to that there was some serious arse kicking involved as well. He maintained a strict fauji discipline at home so there was no profanity apart from what he used :hehe: Plus no profanity was ever used for the ladies (amma and my sisters). Us siblings, we knew all sorts of gaali’s, hardly ever used any on each other.

While I was growing up, I mixed with all sorts of crowds - at fauji get togethers, gyms, snooker clubs, arcades, playground etc - from those uppity snotty diplomat family kids who would eat with a napkin in their lap and a servant by their side to playing-football-in-shorts-and-bunyan-and-swearing-constantly kids of JCOs/NCOs. I was quite well versed in gali galoch from quite an early age, spent evenings at arcades and snookers, got into street fights while I was growing up, so there was plenty of gali galoch all around. And me and my buddies, we actually used to laugh at kids who would get all upset when we would swear at each other.

As you grow older and mature, you just learn to behave appropriately in different social settings. Now, I enjoy using all sorts of gali galoch when I am hanging out with my mates, but I know how to behave when there is an elder or a lady in the circle.

Never at my home alhumdolilah.

I dont use any gali galoch with friends either.They care not using it in front of Moulvi sahib :)

Does calling my sibling Kameena, choora, chawal, edit stupid, idiot, moron Count.? Im probably the only one in the house that uses these words. :devil:

:nono:
yeh galian thori hai,ap aur zor shorse inka istemal kare :smiley:

what is Galli Galoch :konfused:

lol you sound ike my sister.

Tush!

none in the house.......learned all from the 'outside'.....

is ‘khabees’ considered a gali? :halo:

My dad doesnt use gali waghera at home. I've maybe heard him cursing one or twice in my life.

My mum on the hand, very uncharming, uses lots of gaalis.

@Jaanwar… bro…now get ready for future references to your upbringing :rotfl: