Funny rishta stories!!!

Okay so I hear sooo many rishtay stories and I thought we’d all collect the funniest and the plain stupid:smack::

1. An elder cousin of mine had an aunty come over one day and she was snooping around and asking weird quetions:blush: and then she got to my cousin and was like 'I’m looking for a wife for my son (he was 35) and my aunt was like well my cousin already has a rista:p. The the funniest thing the auntie turned to look at me and was like ‘hmmmm’ and my mom was like ‘she’s 16, she needs to study!’:smack: Oh that lady was hilareous:D

2. A friend got set up by her parents and said no to the guy, apparantly the guy was too scared to tell his parents that he was in love with another girl :oso poor guy asked my friend to please say no’:D, well obviuosly she refused but poor girl had watched so many asian soaps that she went out and gave his parents a lecture on ‘true love and istening to their child’:smack:

3. my first and only rishta, I was like 19 and in my 1st year of uni! and the poor guy was 24 and was looking at the TV all the way through! :smack:I thought it was hilarious and when his mum spoke the poor guy was like ‘yes mum, yes mum’:smiley: They were for looking for a girl to get married to in the next year and I had 3 years of uni to complete and my masters or PhD and needless to say that went down hill. But I swear to god I couldnt stop laughing :smiley: when he came in my 8 year old brother was like there is a guy downstairs and his wife and sister, the ‘sister’ was his aunt and the ‘wife’ was his mother but dang she looked young, I wish I age that well:biggthumb

Re: Funny rishta stories!!!

god they r hilarious stories...but why was it urs firt and only rishts..didnt understnd dat bit ...

:D…and the second story is really like a story out of a Pakistani Drama:cb:

I have had some funny ones too..One time I was really really sick…I got hospitalized and had to get iv’s.Anyway this young dr came for chckup and you know how usual weird questions are …Oh God …still grosses me out when I think of all the questions he asked…anyway later he sent a rishtaa…I was furious…but my Ami and my khala couldnt stop laughing:bummer:
I have others too …funniest was this:D

cool..he really sent rishta.for u?? how lucky,.i wuld hve luvd it uuuhhaa

so my funniest rishta turned even funnier when i was looking through this girl’s wedding album in the bridal pics thread (the much controversial zuneera album) and i saw a pic of the guy who had sent a rishta for me last summer!!!
http://picasaweb.google.com/zuuny84/MehwishSajjadSWedding/photo#5162457727953709778

ok so here goes: i went to my cousins wedding in canada last summer. at his valima, the aunts of the bride came and sat down at our table out of nowhere. they started chatting with my mom about how they are from VA etc etc. next thing you know, their son comes over and the aunty goes to me, oh yeh mera beta hai.. me being lost in my own thoughts, i am like uh um okkk.. and didn’t pay attention to what was going on. a few mins later, i notice this younger guy standing right in front of me taking pics with his camera. i turned to my cousin and shes like omg hes clicking your pics.. so i went upto him and i am like, what the hell are you taking my pics for? he goes ohh ummm no i didnt blah blah. i am like ok, can i see your camera? i took and yep about 2 pics were in there that i deleted. soon afterwards, that auntys daughter comes over to me and asks me to step outside with her because she needs to talk.. i am like uhhh ok. so i stand up and i notice their khaandaan crowded around our table just blatantly smiling at me. i walk outside and she goes, so you probably know whats going on right? and i am like umm noo? she goes oh here, this is my brother, he wants to talk to u because my mom wants to send a rishta. now let me tell you why that AMUSED me more than anything else- i was already engaged. so she walks off and the guy is like, oh so you really dont know whats going on, right? and i played dumb saying no.. whats going on, why dont u tell me? he starts asking what i do.. what i study.. how old i am.. etc etc.. and then he goes, so what do you do for fun? i am like oh i love travelling especially to miami. and hes like, oh thats nice.. why miami? i said, oh because my fiance lives there so i visit him and my inlaws often. the guy just STARED. and then i picked up my ring finger and said, ohhh i get whats happening here.. well sorry, i am taken :slight_smile:

when i walked back inside the hall, his family was STILL talking to my parents, smiling and chatting away. 5 mins later, i see them all evacuate the table and pretty much avoided me for the rest of the night. oh man, seeing this guy’s pic again made me laugh out so loud.

alhumdulillah, my fiance was my first guy since high school and my first rishta too :slight_smile: even though i did cry on the phone while i was telling him about what happened at the valima. it just scared me later that omg, what if i wasnt engaged.. i cant believe i would have had to go through all this nonsense.. now its funny :slight_smile:

13??!!! thats nuts.

lol @ shay... thats hilarious!

:rotfl: poor dude!

lol @ shay's post.

Bechari larki controversey mein awein phass gaye

Shay...lol funny story...so which one is you in that album :P :D
The girl in white or green... I don't think you can be the ones in blue but who knows :D so which one is you? :D

lol no no, i am not in the album! the potential ex rishta is.. the guy on the right wearing a suit. i was going through this girls album and i saw his pic and i just :rotfl: i didn’t expect to see his pic on gs of all places :slight_smile:

Okay so I was in pak abt 2 years ago
We were going over to my grandmothers house as usual, no biggie.
Ammi said there’d be mehmaan there so wear new kapray (lawn or cotton, nothing fancy, just new and pressed and clean). I consider myself pretty well groomed (always sahi kapray, never leave hte house if my hair is greasy/oily etc) so I didnt think anything of it and we left…

We got there and shortly after hte guests arrived..i was sitting in the sitting area, kinda bored (as usual) and the guests (2 guys and tehir parents) went into the drawing room w/ my parents, and for some reason…it popped into my head, what if this was a rishta setup? :rotfl:

So then after a while they come in… and dayum the guy was…well…not bad looking lol. aunty se milli hoon, she stared at me for like..forever lol… it was weird. The guy sat with his brother and father across the room while the mother and my mom and aunts talked and stuff. She asked me the usual Qs, what do I do, what are my hobbies etc, and I told her the usual stuff…

So then what happened, i forget how the convo started, oh yeah, she mentioned something abt her female relatives who live in UK and are actively involved in the masjid life, unlike women here who never go to a mosque… and me, being the jack-A who has to give an opinion on EVERYTHING, said “yeah that’s really good…its really hard to be Muslim in western contries b/c everything that’s forbidden to us is totally out in the open here, we learn more self control living here”. [btw i still believe that]…

She was so cool about it, she’s like yeah ur totally right, and nodded along…and my mther wasn’t shooting me any evil eyes or pinching me either so i dint think i said anything wrong or bad…
It ended okay i guess.. I don’t remember very many details, but i only remember it b/c it was the first/only formal rishta setup thing i went through…

They never did call back, and hubby always says i scared them off by speaking :smiley:

oh gosh! i have a few to share but dont know where to start :smiley:

EDIT: it’s not nice to make fun of people :bummer:

I wonder if some guys can share few ''FUNNY'' stories too

For guys hmm.. well my brother is only 21 but our relatives have always kept an eye on him since he was 14-15. There are mA alot of girls in my mom’s side of the family (9 aunts, 24 cousins) so basically every khala wants my brother to marry her daughter.. regardless of the fact that some of their daughters are only 5 and 6 :confused:
Anyway, so this is what they say, when there is such a goodlooking, qabil, parha likha amreekan larka, why shouldn’t we keep him IN the family? Why should a girl from outside benefit instead of our daughters? mA he landed a great job with UTC in just his junior year and he has been offered a permanent position there when he graduates in a year so since then, the hold on him has become even stronger. Every khala is competing and my poor brother is like, NO WAY! my cousins are like my sisters! My mom has supposedly narrowed down on one cousin even who’s only 13 (!!!) but according to mom, 8 years is normal difference. Now this cousin is in Pakistan and if someone asks her, who are you going to marry? Her answer is, Ammar Bhai. It’s funny to hear that but at the same time I feel like the family is leading her on from all sides when they shouldn’t. My poor brother feels so stuck now.

a while back i guess some auntie was interested in me & casually came over with my mumani one day...her goal was to check me out more and see how I am, and talk to my ammi. Me being me...hehe had no idea. I was I think studying for exams at that time, and I remember her coming over and casually having chai etc. I came out and was completely myself, which at that time was very loud/friendly/talkative/opinianated. Anyways I found out later she was after my mumani to get my mom to give my rishta to her sons.....who she claims are super duper holy...gosh to each their own, but id be trapped!!!
plus i knew of her sons at the other campus of my university..plz...she referred to her sons as sooo shareef, religous....etc...so great
and from what I know they were dating...the one that she was asking for was going out/partying/girlfriends...etc. Which I am not judging to be a bad/good thing...but when you say your son is oh so holy....and have no idea what they really are like...whatever.....ammi said no to them....but apparently she was upset.....
once at the masjid, some event...she made a comment out loud when I passed by....i forget what i twas in urdu...that meri ammi...isko(me) haath bhi nehi laganay dethi....i thin it meant that my ammi wont even give them a chance
dude there are 50000.....gals in NJ...pick any of them since ur sons are so damn special......GRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!

oh and another thing, that got me a laugh....is that they are the same "CASTE" as us....and dont marry outside of their caste.....WTF.....so she was set on that too, jeeeeeeeeeeez.

hmm dese stories r all common nthng special..thngs happen

^Then I suppose you have something extra-ordinary and extra-special to share? Please do so :)

Afro-Sheen- Don't you just hate how people don't stop saying how they will ONLY marry within their 'caste' and never outside it? It's a major rule in my mom's family and my youngest aunts have turned down the best of rishtas only because the guy is from a different 'place'.

That’s kinda sad not funny… and it sounds like a few other famillies i know…:hinna:

Its such a pathetic thing to be stuck on, zaat.... IF they're living in pak, i can understand, but NOT in the west, it just doesnt make sense.