We used to edit them as kids so they’d be like: ‘Na moonh na naasan, mein vi ice cream kassan’ and ‘Na moonh na naasan, mein vi Bradford jasan’ (we’ve got relatives in Bradford, and forever argued about who would get to spend their summer hols there).
Not sure of any punjabi ones, but i’ve got a patwari one that annoys the hell out of me …
Something like:
‘Guthi savhay rakh’ → Exact Translation → Sew ur pockets up → Meaning → Dream On.
and sadi nikki piyari sobi thinks she is a gori. snap out of it dear:) If you can edit ThaiTh Punjabi sayings you are as Paki as one can find in Bradford:)
Asif some of those are really funny.
kannak khait, kuRi pait, aa jawayea manday kha (wheat isin the field, daughter is in the womb and already inviting son-in-law to supper.)
Sadi Sobi I have alwats foiund your posts interesting. But this was reaaly sad and kind of pissed me off. Me and I am sure many guppies would agree on this. I mean you might be British but this is a Pakistani forum and I mean this isnt big but ridiculing in such a way isnt healthy. Sure you are British and aap ko aap ki Nationality mubarik ho but please dont bring other people down and dont hurt others feelings.
Chan Ji and Ali Ji - sorry my mistake. I was meant to say that some of the paki sayings are weird. Lke how can ‘guthi savhay rakh’ be related to ‘Dream On’ ???
Just cuz I call u weird does not mean that I think I’m superior to you guys and it sure doesn’t mean that I’m being magroor, it just means that some of your customs (and sayings) sound weird to an outsider.
Choraa thai Kaparay, Dangaa thai Gaaj (translation: stolen cloth, long bamboos as yard sticks) Stolen property is measured by huge yardsticks or what is not earned can be given away withou any thought.
"Satay Khairaa"
Every thing is fine, no need to worry.
Khooti Tehsiloo ho aai...(donkey has been to a big city), used for somebody who is bragging without any substance.
Sobi com'on don't lie to me. Your words speak louder than that. The very fact that you are very proud of being gori baarooN means that you are as desi as one can get:)
Did someone already list this saying? : jithoN di khoti othey aan khaloti:)
The thing is no matter what you achive in yourt life are where you run to...your past always catches you...stands in front of you.
[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited May 22, 2001).]
Chann Ji, U have no way of judging whether or not I am gori. Just cuz i've got adequate knowledge of the customs and languages of Pakistan does not mean that I'm a paki. There are so many white kids around my end who can speak better Mirpuri than i can - cuz that's the street lingo.
What I'm trying to say is that just cuz you can speak a certain language does not mean that you originate from that particular country.
Chan ji, a zebra is a zebra...a khoti is a khoti and a miss with a british accent is a miss with a british accent...please be kind and don't mix all these.
Khooti Tehsiloo ho aai...(donkey has been to a big city), used for somebody who is bragging without any substance.
Chann Jee, MeiN tussaN ki buddha kissa akhaN? Ur actually my favourite ‘older guppy’ so you can say whatever you want and I won’t get offended.
U remind me of Mr Gahir - he was this old Sikh guy who used to work with my father. I used to sit on his lap and do guthaN with his beard. He wouldn’t let any of my other brothers or sisters touch his beard but I was his favourite
I give it to you Boss (I really should edit that last bit before you attach all sorts of rude connotations to it - but I can’t be arsed). That last comment was really quite very funny