so lets hear it, what strange jobs have you done while in college.
My funniest one is to dress like an islander and bang on my conga drums for an alumni fundraiser event for the university, some luau theme thing. a few hundred dollars for playing a total of 15 mins during opening, close and when they brought the food out was not bad, plus I got some free gourmet food..not too bad.
Other one was as a dj assistant who occassionaly got a chance to do small sessions at two dance clubs in philly, one being a mostly lesbian club.
lets see, running a private airport pick up and drop off service for foriegn students was another one.
hah the way we made spending money. I always respected my pals who worked their butts off not for play money but to put themselves thru college.
Re: funniest/craziest/strangest side job while in school
I had to program an old 'unit record' machine using real circuit boards (not printed circuits) literally pulling and plugging in leads into a board. Fun part it decoding the cards to see which prof made how much!
yup - it was biz school but did their payroll the way they had done it a decade ago!
I havent had a crazy job yet but I have the laziest job right now. I am a student assisstant at teh chemistry stockroom at my uni and all I have to do is just sit there. I get free internet, I can print all the stuff I need to print and no interrruptions. Just once in a while a student comes along for gloves or locker combo and thats it. :D
Collecting charity for UNICEF in the university community centre. I had to wear a big orange box all the time. Very Spongebob Squarepants’ish. This was volunteer work though.
Making videos of chemical engineering students performing lab experiments.
Working for IMS (instructional media services) taking care of projectors, vcrs, dvd players, tv’s etc in all classrooms across campus. It was an overnight thing so after we finished we’d hook up a laptop to the projector in the main theatre room and watch movies or play games on this screen.
i propably have the busiest job. I work at zellers part-time. only week ends… its ok because I have my own department. I work in the electronics department, so no one comes and bugs me or pushes me around
working at the computer lab. hehe. i have absolutely no knowledge of computers. so, that was a blast. let's just say being touchy worked wonders and was better then knowing C or C++. ahh poor boys had to explain wat java was and that visual basics was not a hint at sexual harrassment. hahaha good times
volunteering at a Convalescent home was fun. at times I'd sit and chat with the buddhay folks for hours about world history and life...only to come back the next day and have to introduce myself all over. they were too cute.
TA positions are fun. hearing the endless array of excuses is something ...like Lussi, i've lived on the edge with econ and poli sci
i used to be a student worker in a restaurant.. so aside from the fun stuff like pouring sauce out of huge jars into those tiny plastic containers and being the safai wala, I had to stock drinks in those huge refridgerators that you walk into. only i didnt know there was a special jacket for it, so the first three times i spent about a half hour in that ice box in a t shirt.
i worked there for a month, and by the end of it i was so sick of it i didnt even bother cashing the cheque cause it would have meant seeing the boss again whom i had had a fight with. so basically all of that was community service.
much fun indeed.
the other side job i had at the time was teaching a chinese guy named The Ming Thing (he just called himself Ming) a graduate course in Analysis of Algorithms. Payed pretty well, 25 bucks an hour. Only thing was, I hadnt taken the course myself. So it was basically me reading the book and then teaching him from it.
ok where to start...hmmm. I worked on a garbage truk collecting recyclables - newspapers, glass and cans. After spending half the day in the back of a dump truk, we'd go to the recycling center and smash up the bottles.
I was a bus girl, clearing tables in a restaurant, a waitress in a few restaurants, newspaper delivery gal.
Also a dancer in a 70's style disco revue, an aide for the nursing dept at my university where the nursing students would try to bribe copies of tests out of me.
I worked as a gas station book-keeper. I worked in the mail room of a large insurance company. Engineering aide at Grumman Aircraft. Whatever it took to get me thru college so that I could now be - guess what?????
I once made $50/hr back in early highschool. but could only work for 1hr in a week. used to perform in local parades. shukar hai they gave us costumes everytime w/ a mask, or else i never would've done such a thing
One of the craziest jobs ive had was being the sales agent for Kirby vacuum cleaner, basically it was a three man crew, my boss, his bro (both pakistani) and me.
We were on the road most of the time, knocking on people houses and offering a demo of the Kirby (it was a pretty good vacuum cleaner but very expensive as well). Once we got the invitation to come in, I would set up the thing and do the demo, vacuum and shampooing the carpet etc and my boss and his bro would negotiate and sucker them into buying it.
My boss would usually go into poor neighborhoods for some reason esp Compton which was 95% Black back in those days and Bell Gardens which is 98% Hispanic. Some of these houses had extremely dirty carpets and it appeared they had never gotten their carpet cleaned in years, i mean the carpets would be literally tar black. These were some really filthy mofos. Some of these kallu families would take advantage of us and have us clean the entire room, shampoo and all, and then decline to buy the vacuum. In other words they got a free carpet clean job. Anyways, from there onwards, I would just vacuum+shampoo just a small patch of the carpet in the middle of the room only. Now the carpets were all tar black except for the small clean patch in the middle. The suckers had to think a few times before declining and kicking us out
I had to do a crash course in Ebonics and Spanish to deal with the potential buyers. I worked there less than 6 months and quit.
Nothing too whacky, except the one time when i was a Computer Lab Assistant and i had to go remove a female student from the lab because she was masturbating....while there were a ton of others in the lab too.
LOL, yep i call it the infamous “Tum FOB Ho” event. First and only time I have been called a FOB on my face in real life.
The aunty looked at my name tag, saw my desi name and started talking in Urdu “Tum logoN ko yahan kay asooloN ka nahin pata, yeh pakistan nahin hai, yahan customer ko kaisay treat kartay hain woh tumhain nahin pata. Tum FOB ho. Tum log naye naye Pakistan say aaye ho …” I was dumbfounded man and simply nodded to the aunty and let her vent her frustrations at us FOBs (by that time I had figured out what FOB stood was thru IRC).
Next day, aunty’s cute daughter strolled in and I couldnt argue with the daughter. I was dumbfounded again, but for a different reason