Re: fundraising events calendar
** Rotterdam, The Netherlands **
Date: Saturday Oct 22th at 5pm
Location: Fundraising dinner at Restaurant Zainab Roshni Mahal organised by "Minhaj Women Youth League"
Entry: € 15,00 (including food)
** Rotterdam, The Netherlands **
Date: Saturday Oct 22th at 5pm
Location: Fundraising dinner at Restaurant Zainab Roshni Mahal organised by "Minhaj Women Youth League"
Entry: € 15,00 (including food)
Dallas Event
Hidaya will be shipping a container from DFW in the next two weeks InshaAllah. We will be accepting warm clothes, blankets etc. at the Irving Masjid on October 29th and 30th.
Please pass on this flyer via email and print-outs to as many people in the DFW metroplex as possible. We would like to get this task done as soon as possible since there is a dire need to winter clothes, tents and other items in Pakistan.
We will also need volunteers to help with the collection of donations and loading of container on October 29th and 30 from 10AM to 4PM. I would appreciate your help and cooperation even if you can spare 1 hour out of your time.
Fremont / San Jose / San Francisco
PAKISTAN ASSOCIATION OF SAN FRANCISCO
PAKISTANI AMERICAN FUND RAISING
Fund Raising to be held for Earthquake Victims.
Friday 21st, 2005 ( 5:00 PM to 7: 00 PM )
Venue= Mehran Restaurant
5774 Mowary School Road
Newark, CA
Tel = 510 668 1111
For more Information Contact.
Dr Khawaja: 510 908 9215
M Akhtar : 415 756 3664
M Anwar : 925 216 9678
Regards,
YKKB.
BALTIMORE, MD
The Islamic Society of Baltimore (ISB) is accepting donations of the
following items:
Blankets
Sweaters
Tents
Medical Supplies (ie Bendages, Medicines, etc)
Jackets
Coats
Hats, Gloves, Scarves and Shawls
Tools
No Food
Please drop these items at:
Masjid Al-Rahmah
6631 Johnnycake Road
Baltimore MD 21244
Tel: (410)747-4869
Time is of the essence. Please drop off your items as soon as
possible.
The prophet (PBUH) says:
Meaning: The muslim is the brother of the muslim, one will not put
his brother under opression. Whoever is in his brothers needs, Allah
is there in his needs. And whoever helps his brothers in a calamity
in this world, Allah will help him in a calamity in the judgment
day. And whoever covers a muslim in this world, Allah will cover him
both in this world and in the hereafter. And Allah is in the aid of
his slave as long as this slave is in the aid of his brothers.
Best Regards
Islamic Society of Baltimore
Tel: (410) 747-4869
Email: [email=“[email protected]”][email protected]
Web: www.alrahmah.org
Los Angeles
Media Advisory City of los Angeles partners with pakistani community to help with earthquake relief effort:
Councilwoman Jan Perry Spearheads Effort to Raise Awareness of Devastating Disaster and How it Has Effected Thousands Throughout Los Angeles
Los Angeles—Councilwoman Jan Perry will join her colleagues on the City Council and the Council of Pakistan American Chamber of Commerce to update Los Angelenos about the efforts that are currently underway to help the tens of thousands of people who have been deeply affected by the recent earthquake in Pakistan. The Chamber will also share the latest news and how the earthquake as impacted many here in the region. The International Red Cross will be on hand to explain how people throughout Los Angeles can help with relief efforts.
Who: Councilwoman Jan Perry, Ninth District
Councilman Tom LaBonge, Fourth District
Councilman Eric Garcetti, Thirteenth District
Arif Mansuri, President and CEO of the Pakistan American Chamber of Commerce
Other Local Elected Officials
Representatives from the International Red Cross
When: Wednesday
October 19, 2005
2:00 p.m.
Where: South Lawn, City Hall
First Street between Main and Spring Street
Eva Kandarpa
Council District 9
(213) 473-2308
(2130 359-3084 (cell)
Arif Mansuri (CPACC)
(310) 890-0551
City Of Los Angeles
Council District 9
Regards,
YKKB.
Los Angeles: 22 October 2005.
All friends from Los Angeles and near by counties please be there.
In conjunction with the South Asian Festival of Los Angeles (SAFLA), Islamic Relief will be hosting an emergency fundraising Iftar & Dinner on Saturday, October 22, 2005, at the Anaheim Convention Center.
Islamic Relief has been designated the lead charity on the ground in the affected areas. They have full-time staff and teams working day and night to assess the situation, provide much needed essentials, while acting as a conduit of information to the outside world--AND to continue this invaluable work, they need our help.
The event will start at 5:30 pm; Dr. Muzammil Siddiqi, Islamic Shura Council of Southern California Chair, and Noor Muhammad Jadmani, Consul General of Pakistan, will be speaking. Isha`a and Tarawih prayers will be held, along with a special dua'a for the victims.
Asking all organizations to sponsor at least one table $250] and sell tickets to their members--tickets are $25 each. We encourage all student groups to also participate in this worthy cause.
To RSVP, or for more information, please contact either Huma Ahmed (SAFLA) or Marya Bangee (Islamic Relief):
Marya Bangee Huma Ahmed
909.576.2713 310-408-4134
[email protected] [email protected]
We need everyone's help and support--this tragedy is too enormous for us to face individually.
Regards,
YKKB.
Houston, TX
Dear All, Assalamu-Alaikum w.r.
This is an Update from the Houston Task Force for Pakistan Relief that will Insha Allah send Containers for the needy to Pakistan.
For the FIRST Container, we are collecting the following items.
TENTS
BLANKETS
COMFORTERS
SLEEPING BAGS
WARM Clothes (heavy jackets, sweaters, woolen stockings etc.)
Bed sheets and towels (basically linen items)
We are requesting that you donate these items (good usable quality that you may already have) and deliver them at the address and times given below.
If you don't have these items, and you plan to purchase then we suggest that instead of purchasing these items, you donate the money.
In addition please make a donation of any amount you can to help cover port clearing and distribution costs in Pakistan. Please be assured that a complete accountability and transparency of the funds will be available to all.
The check should be made payable to Pennies for Education and Health and mail it to:
Pennies for Education and Health
South Asian Earthquake Relief Fund
3050 Post Oak Blvd. Suite 550
Houston, Texas 77056
Alhamdu-lillah, the following 5 masjids have been designated as collection points.
Listed below are the masjids and the person responsible for setting up the boxes, monitoring the collections during the week and transporting the collected items next weekend to the ICS location.
South Zone - Taha Hussain
South West - Yemeen U Rahman
Mission Bend - Yemeen U Rahman
Al-Farooq - Gordon Mohammad Holmes
North Zone - Zaheer Sahab
South East Zone, Hwy 3 Masjid
The Directors of each masjid have been courteous enough to lend this space to us.
DATE/TIME:
Saturday and Sunday October 22-23, between 11 a.m.-4 p.m.
We also need volunteers to help us in this task. If you can help Saturday or Sunday, please call Sr. Rana Farooqui or Adeel Khan.
Rana Farooqui (713) 453-8388
Adeel Khan (713) 303-9540
PLACE:
International Courier Systems
6160 Westview Dr.
Houston, Texas 77055
(713) 688-4599
DIRECTIONS:
From the Galleria area ( inside the 610 loop ) Go on I-10 west, Exit Silber Street.
Make a right turn (GOING NORTH) on Silber.
Make a right turn on Westview
Go about ¼ of a mile and ICS warehouse is on the left.
We need to maximize the valuable shipping space for these items; HENCE PLEASE DO NOT BRING ANY other CLOTHES, ETC. FOR THIS FIRST CONTAINER. We will Insha Allah be collecting those items for future containers.
PLEASE FORWARD THIS E-MAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS AND ANNOUNCE IN ALL THE MASAJIDS.
Jazak’Allah Khair!
May Allah (swt) reward all of you immensely. Aameen.
The Houston Task Force
Los Angeles.
RELIEF GOODS FOR PAKISTAN EARTHQUAKE AT
KING FAHAD MOSQUE
Frid (Oct. 21st )
7:00pm – 10:00pm
Saturday (October. 22nd)
11:00am – 10:00pm
Accepting Following Items Only:
First Aid Kit and General Medications - For Adults and Children
***USED PANTS AND SHIRTS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED ****
Place goods in plastic bags and then in a sturdy box.
May Allah reward you for your efforts and good deeds.
Regards,
YKKB.
Toronto ON.
Received this from Pakistani Professionals Forum Canada:
Event: Dinner of Hope (fund raising dinner/iftar for earth quake relief in Pakistan)
Time: Sunday, October 23, 2005
1224 Dundas Street East,
unit # 18, 19
Mississauga
(905)848-3388
Ticket Price: $50 per person (tax deductible receipts will be issued by IDRF and funds will be matched by Canadian Govt)
Contacts: Zia (416)669-9152
Asfandyar (416)271-5343
e-mail: [email=“[email protected]”][email protected]
By now everyone must have seen and heard about the devastation brought about by the Oct 8th earthquake in Pakistan, India, Afghanistan and Kashmir. Pakistan has been severely hit, killing countless people. The situation there is very tragic and all efforts are needed to prevent further deaths. This is a humanitarian cause … please open your hearts and help in whatever way you can.
A “Dinner of Hope” is being held on Oct 23 (Sunday) to raise funds for the victims of this earthquake in Pakistan. Tickets are only $50 and ALL proceeds from the sale of these tickets will go to International Developments & Relief Foundation (www.idrf.ca). tax deductible
Sponsors are paying for the venue and food and so making it possible for all proceeds from the sale of the tickets to go towards the relief cause.
120 people are expected and the Canadian Government will match the money raised.
Tickets have been kept a reasonable price of $50 to encourage students and adults to not only donate but to come out and listen to the IDRF representative coming to this dinner. They will inform the guests of how IDRF is helping people in Pakistan, what the current situation is over there and what more needs to be done.
If unable to come to this event please make a donation instead, by writing a cheque to “IDRF” or by going online at:
https://secure.csfm.com/idrf/
Thank you in advance for your participation. Pls invite all your friends from every religious and cultural background because this is a humanitarian cause … not just a crisis for Pakistani’s.
Your Team,
Dinner of Hope
Toronto ON.
Another one from Pakistani Professionals Forum Canada:
**DIL TORONTO GALA
FUNDRAISER EVENT **
**Sunday, November 20th, 2005
**The Granite Club
2350 Bayview Avenue Toronto ON M2L 1E4
Join DIL GALA at the Granite Club for a Dinner and
Fashion Show with
HSY
Awarded Pakistan’s best designer of the year 2005
Developments in Literacy (DIL)
DIL was founded in 1997 in California, USA with the prime objective of the empowerment of the girl-child in Pakistan, through a focused literacy drive. In keeping with this focus, DIL has opened 200 schools for children in all provinces of Pakistan and has 9 chapters worldwide.
Please join us for the DIL TORONTO GALA being held to run two schools in Orangi Town, Karachi.
For information on DIL, please visit our website at www.dil.org
For tickets call:
Hashim @ 416-833-4113
Ticket Price $100
Long Island City, New York.
Pukar Fund Raiser by
PHELAY PAKISTAN
Today: 23rd Oct 2005
Iftar Dinner
AT FIVE STAR BANQUET HALL
13-05 43rd Avenue, 21st Street.
Long Island City, New York 11101
For Information and contact call:
Mujahid : 516 459 2439
Shahid : 917 439 5240
Asif : 917 515 0613
Eid Milan Fundraiser
We are having a potluck Eid Milan get-together to collect funds for earthquake relief. All proceeds will be immediately tallied and donated online via host’s credit card to Oxfam, so you know where the money is going. Everyone straight is invited – married couples, singles, kids. RSVP via pm for address.
Date: Saturday November 5th
Time: 6pm – 9pm
Donation requested: $5 per person over age eighteen.
Los Angeles, California
The October 8, 2005 earthquake in northern part of Pakistan has now gone into the history books; however, the suffering of the poor people of the beautiful Kashmir valley continues to create misery for millions of its residents. As always, join our friend and host of the “Courtyard”, Mr. Debo Kotun at 1:00 PM, this Saturday, 10-29-05, on KPFK 90.7 FM.
The participants will be joining in from Pakistan, Los Angeles and other US cities. I hope you will tune in, and I encourage you to call in with your comments and/or questions.
to tune live stream via web click here
PAKISTAN’S EARTHQUAKE!
THREE WEEKS AFTER THE 7.6 MAGNITUDE EARTHQUAKE DEVASTATED PARTS
OF PAKISTAN AND KASHMIR, HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE ARE STILL DYING DAILY.
WHY? AND WHAT CAN BE DONE TO PREVENT MORE DEATHS?
JOIN HOST:
DEBO KOTUN
AND
GUESTS:
MINSTER OF STATE, DR. NASIM ASHRAF, FROM ISLAMABAD
COUNCIL GENERAL OF PAKISTAN, NOOR M. JADMANI, IN LOS ANGELES
KHURRAM PARVEZ, FROM KASHMIR
USMAN RAHEEM, FROM BOSTON
DR. MANSOOR SHAH
RAFFIQ KHAN
AND
ATHER ZIA
SATURDAY, OCTOBER 29, 2005
1:00 TO 2:00 PM (PST)
KPFK PACIFICA RADIO
90.7 FM LOS ANGELES, 98.7 FM SANTA BARBARA
AND
A Production of Labalaba Rediffusion Theatre
debo kotun, (626) 29-626-0990, www.labalabamedia.com
Hope to meet you on the airwaves.
Regards,
YKKB
DESPINA Earthquake fundraiser-new york
11/7/05-ny (forwarded message)
Fun, Food, and Films!
Join Desipina & Company for a
Benefit Dinner & Screening of Short Films by talented South Asian artists.
Proceeds will go towards helping victims of the Earthquake in Pakistan
through the Edhi Foundation.
MONDAY, NOVEMBER 7 TH, 2005
7 PM Doors Open/ Cocktail Hour for all to enjoy
8 PM Dinner is served, Let the fun & films commence!
MAHARAJA RESTAURANT
230 EAST 44 TH STREET
SUGGESTED DONATION:
$25 students/ $30 professionals
(While Donations are suggested based on financial ability, a minimum
Donation of $15 is required. No Maximum Donation has been set.)
Don't miss out! Gather with us for some delicious appetizers, dinner, and
the premiere of some fabulous films shot in Pakistan, India (including
Kashmir), and other parts of the world. 10% of the cash bar will also be
donated to the relief effort, so have some fun for a worthy cause!
Seating is Limited. Please RSVP to
[email protected].
Re: DESPINA Earthquake fundraiser-new york
any such events in the UK? I haven't heard of anything other then a concert tomorrow.
mywish i dunno abt events in UK but i would think that with the HUGE desi community there you would be having even more such events...
nopes. u r wrong.
really? i usually see all these indian concerts and stars visiting the UK and feel so bad.....
well, yes there are alot of concerts, infact there is one concert today for the earth quake victimes with the Pakistani singers like jawad and strings, anyway i haven't really heard of dinners and all where you actually get to know and talk to people. saddddddd
heres a couple in London.
event taking place tomorrow … www.southasiarelief.org.uk/main.html … biggest event so far.
and another on the 27th Nov ‘Spirit of Pakistan’. more details here … www.jalebisocials.com