Funding Dilema

I am not sure which forum this topic belongs to.

Here is the problem, last night my local muslim community raised around $50,000 in funds for expanding our local mosque. After hearing about this, I was absolutely furious because it would make much more sense to give as much as money possible to the earthquake victims in Pakistan. Many people donated money, and most of them are highly educated muslims. I was surprised that no one objected to this fundraiser. Is it just me or these people are thinking utter nonsense.

This is a desperate situation, most likely more people will die due to lack of medical aid, food, clean water etc. The masjid expansion is also an important project since our masjid is getting overly crowded but this is a long term project and funds can be raised anytime, rightnow we all need to be concentrating on the disaster.

So who is right?

Re: Funding Dilema

I am surprised to say the least.

Were they even aware of the earthquake?

Yes, those idiots performed "Duaa" for the dead after taraweeh but not a single penny went to the earthquake disaster.

Do they have any idea about the loss? Thousands of people have lost their lives. Hundreds of lives are at the edge of life and death right now. Thousands of people need to rebuild their lives. How are they gonna do it if their own people don't help them? What worst could have happened if they rather prayed outside the mosque in a parking lot? Allah miyan would have listened to them any where. You should have spoken up.

Bhai there is no need to get furious :slight_smile:

Pakistanis are very generous people. You can expand the masjid and also help countrymen.
The more you spend in the way of Allah, you get it back multiplied by 70 or even more As it is the month of Ramzan the reward will be even more :k: Inshallah

There is devastation. but there will be no shortage of supplies once the roads open they will reach the injured and homeless. becuase people have already contributed and they will do more. Just pray to Allah that he make it easier for those who have lost their loved ones and their homes.

In our Mosque there were so many fund raising during the time of Tsunami and I am yet to hear a single fund raising for the earthquake recently in Pakistan. Infect there were so many fund raising during the hurricane just to show the goras that we muslim care for the chiristanity. I even heard the imam and other people saying this is the time to show we muslims care for others and put a good impression in the eyes of western. There are still many different fund raising going on for all other issues but nothing for the earthquake. Its been I guess 2 days since the earthquake and if I don't see anyone standing up with the earthquake donation box. Really sad.

But I saw a lot of people donating through different organizations that are being held through GEO, ARY and PTV Prime, 99% of the donors are Pakistani.

In the early 90s, our local masjid used to be a house. Mashallah se, they got so many donations and now they have built a proper large structure beside the house that can hold many people and also has ample parking.

Although it is now a 'proper' masjid, the leaders are determined to build a minaret although one is not needed at all. They have raised thousands upon thousands of dollars for this minaret .... yet everyday, they keep asking for more donations to fund this project. In my opinion, they should give every single penny that has been raised so far to various charities, particularly now for this earthquake.

They won't though. They want a minaret instead. Believe me, what they have right now is superb and they don't need anything else. To me, I see it as begging people for money for all the wrong reasons and they have no shame in doing it.

^^

Well said brother. This philosophy of my mosque should look the most beautiful is not limited to Islam alone. Being a catholic, I have noticed the same in my fellow catholics in my parish. We had a big enough church and just because the neighbouring parish rebuilt their church there was a clamour in our parish for building a bigger church.
The church immediately began appealing for donations and sacrifices(give up one meal for the church today) from the parishoners. This went on till one day one of the parishoners stood upto the rest of the parishoners and slammed these idiots.

What I am trying to say here is that somebody needs to make a begining and others will follow. Hence you make a stand and the rest will follow. Everybody else is feeling the same way, but is afraid to make the first step

get a few brothers together with your buckets…AND DO IT URSELF!
seriosly…if they aint gunna do it..u do it.
its all good saying it here…but why didnt you say something at the time?..maybe Suggest that they give atleast half to charity? wallahua3lam.

but really… if you want people to help them, you cant just expect them to do it..trust me they wont :frowning: you need to get up and do it yourself…make sure you get up in ther faces:) and tell them to give money NOW!:blush: lol..in a nice way of corse!
the oldies usually feel ashamed…when the youth are the ones raising up and doing something!..thats why they tend to give you more money:biggthumb Alhamdulillah. its all good.

so yeah inshAllah..stand outside your mousque..after each prayer and get them buckets full!
show them that your serious. print out posters and flyers and stuff…‘EARTH QUAKE APPEAL’!..
muslims are one body..when one is in pain we are all in pain.
lets get up! and help the Muslims all around the world!
bismillah!:salute:

MashAllah, TabarakAllah, Allahuakbar!

You can always initiate a fundraiser at the masjid yourself. The guys who initiated it at our mosque are no PhD's in fundraising.

Are the people in your mosque predominantly ARABS?

^^

Arabs actually have no problems with how the structure looks...For them a covering of cloth can serve as a Masjid, failing that they do their congregation anywhere...Parks, fields, parking lots...

It's the people of the subcontinent that always go out of their way to build extravagant structures...

This Masjid I go to, a Barelvi Masjid, after asking for donations from the Jumaah congregation for the Earthquake victims, immediately asked for $8,500 for the renovation of the overhang of the Masjid and $10,500 for the parking lot to be repaired...Because there are potholes and 'winter is coming'...

I mean, I can walk under the overhang which is in shambles, I can drive my car over any pothole in the parking lot...

But hey, come on...What is more important?

^ Arabs also have no problem with whatever goes on in Pakkistan

^ dunno what your trying to say .
but if its what i think...then your wrong.
we arabs have concern for all the Muslims!
arab, paki, black ,white....watever.
dont come here claiming we dont care.

some people yes..arab and asian alike..dont care about ALL Muslims...but alhamdulillah most do.

u get the biggest amount of help in the disaster from arabs yet u unthankful lot shall never learn…

blinded by hatred and jealousy…

Well- It is on the discretion of the donator what he thinks is more important-

Chief Mufti of Jamia Ashrafia lahore pakistan have said that Rather then going for umrah this ramdan - we should help the victams-- donate that money to Earth quake victims--Compare this the given situations- But still we dont know what was the real situation at your mosque--

Start fundraising your self--

About arabs-- They have donated large amounts to eath quake victims and are raising more-

No, its predominantly Indian.

They have decided they will do fund raising for the next two Jumma and will donate all of it to the earthquake victims. Finally.

Mosalla I went to on Friday prayers.... after Prayers, the "brother" stood and started fund-raising for.... "brothers, its for Allah, they are our foundation, we have to provide them with Islamic school its our responsibility, for Allahs sake brother, your reward will be multiplied ..................." and I couldn't stop thinking about the earthquake victims if they were able to eat, if they are able to offer any prayer at all, if they have fair enough of dress, if they are healthy enough, do they have covering from winter................. :(

Armughal
Fear Allah
and Bao Bihari

We have been part of fund raising compaign and almost all people who donated were Pakistanis, there were hardly any arab or indian who donated.

hmmm sounds like the masjid i go to :slight_smile: If it is the same then yes they have raised alot of money for Minaret project somwhere around $200,000 which is very expensive (this is for a minaret and a seperate entrance to the basement)

They have a little green box for earthquake relief. The reason for this? well the management is from Indian Muslims (I don’t intend to start any india vs pakistan arguement, i am just presenting the facts) and yes all they said was at the second day of the earthquake .. “brothers and sisters in pakistan are in need, donation box will be at the door” and never again mentioned it. Never even made a special dua for them.. sad story but true. khair Allah ki rehmat her kisi per ho, the masjid is doing great but they need to expand their horizons.. and approach other muslim communities with open heart.