I have one basic question about Islam which I hope someone can answer in a coherent and logical manner. I do not want to hear any digressions like “Israel is the devil”, “Death to USA” or “Monkey pi$$ drinking Hindus”. Those high on testosterone/estrogen please stay out. This is a serious topic and I hope it continues to be so.
With all due respect to Allah (SWT) and his Prophet (PBUH), I have the following doubts in mind:
Why does Allah seem to prefer Arabic language?
There are Japanese Bibles, French Guru Granth Sahibs, Zulu Bhagavad Gitas but why no non-Arabic Quran ever? Why do Muslims have to pray only in Arabic, a language that only a few non-Arab Muslims can understand? If Arabic were the perfect language, why didn’t Muslims ditch their jaahil languages and start speaking only Arabic?
Why does Allah seem to like only Arabic names?
In another thread, a lot of guppies argued that names like Abdul, Abdullah etc. are preferred by Him to those like Harbi (?). What’s in a name? If Allah was our Creator, then why would He worry about something as non-essential as a name? During Qyamat, wouldn’t He be more interested in our actions (sins/virtues) rather than something so superficial as a name? Wasn’t Gandhi better than Idi Amin? So only because Amin is an Arabic word, Idi will get heaven and Gandhi will burn in Hell?
Once again, let me reiterate I don’t want to see people indulging in ethnic/linguistic/religious bashing here. If you are not smart enough to read and understand this bolded text, please stay away. It’s my sincere request.
Thanks in advance to all the people who are going to clear my doubts.
Desi yaar… we can pray in any language. He hears us all equally. He is so good that he can hear without you even saying anything. That’s why he’s the boss. This Arbi Sahrbi is only a colonial imperialist garbage spread by Araboobs.
Matty, i like it better when you post with your original nick. Emphasis on Arbaic is there for the Muslims to really understand/comprehend Quran. Sure there are many english translations, but if you really want to understand Quran its best to learn Arabic.
I am going to give you an example, will you recommend that people read Shakespeare work in Urdu, Punjabi, Chinese? What was it? Did you say NO.
P.S I am not comparing Shakespeare work with Quran. I just used an example to make a point.
Kaleem, your argument is a load of crap. The Greek classicists are all either British or American… so are Russian and German humanists…they are mostly English or American. So you are telling me that Dostoievski can only be read in Russian? Well, there’s a friggin graduate degree in Russian Lit in every little community college in the US. You are making it sound as if people are just blindly following Arabic without knowing its meaning. I think that’s what you are saying.
Kaleem, what is this fascination that you have with thinking I have multiple nicks? I am not Desibanda or anyone else that you think I am. Are you AK47 or another fundo muslim ashole? I don;t htink so? You are smarter than that. Act it.
I think we need to airlift him out of texas and into NY where he can have fresh air and not live in a bipolar GWB world. Where on one hand he is casting the ballot for bush and on the other hand he is screaming at people who are goig after Iraq and Afghanistan.
Matsui after you are done reading Bhagavd Gita in Pig Latin can I borrow that version, I missed a few chapters.
DesiBanda/Kaleem/Ak47/agent Smith....damn now I am totally confused;
The three religions were dumped on humanity in ME, orginally there was aramaic and other languages so Torah or the tablets that moses carried down were written in the language of that time, as the years went by and Arabians evolved and started communicatring with their tongues compared to sign language they came up with arabic, thats all.
Kaleem/AK57/Agent 46 they are right in saying its better to read quran in arabic since it was delivered in arabic.
But the infatuation with arabs with names, language and other amongs indian muslims is crazy.
Kaleem, what do you mean by the statement that Quran is better read in Arabic? So Allah intended Islam only for Arabs??? Or is He showing favoritism toward his Arab sons (and daughters)? If the Quran is supposed to be a general book that applied to all human beings then why restrict it to Arabic alone???
And I forgot to add, I am not some multi-nicker’s secondary id. So Kaleem stop being a retard and realize that sane people could agree on something without really resorting to cheap tricks like multi-nicking. You might be doing that in order to forward your Al-Qaeda bunker theology but thanks we higher mortals are far from that. super-
Ya allMatsui, Madhanee, Asif_k, Shaikh Sahib, Sgt Garner, Wane listen to me. I dont think its such a big deal what name a person gives to his/her child. I think Allah can care less, its the deeds that matter so what is the big hoopla. Just let it go. Let people choose what they want. That's all.
BTW: Come on down to Texas. I will show you what fresh air, wide open spaces and texas blue sky looks like. You guys do know that sky is blue right and there is a big ball of fire....called sun. Do you guys have that up east? :)
desibanda bahijaan, thank you for letting me know that I am trying toforward Al-Qaeda bunker technology. You really look sane when you question people on wht they name their kids a certain way. Yeah that is a quetsion that higher mortals will spend their time on. Has the winter in maine too harsh? Do they let you out every now and than?
^^ We are on the third rock from the sun,which planet are you communicating from?
Whats a big ball of fire are you already describing hell to desibanda/ak47/rvikz/madhanee.
I dont understand. There are translations of the Quran in virtually every language I know about. Bring me a Japanese Bible and I will bring a Japanese Quran.
That is a more pertinent question. Theres a number of views on this. One explanation is that we do not pray namaz any way we choose. We pray according to rituals prescribed by the Prophet. An equally valid question might be, why pray 4 rak’ats during the day and 3 at dusk. Why not seven? Does Allah prefer 3 over 7? While there doesnt seem to any logical harm in praying in another language, for example Quran’s translations, or deviating from tradition in other matters, we’d be messing with a tradition handed over to us by our Prophet, that we KNOW is correct. so why take the risk? Btw, you should know that there are Muslims who do not pray traditionally based on this same argument.
No, certain names are ‘preferable’, and as Faisal pointed out, not all of them are Arabic, but all certainly have Islamic signicance. And that is the only reason for their preferance, that they represent some Islamic ideal, some Islamic figure. This does not mean that any non muslim name is sinful, Muslim names should have good meanings. Javed, Zeeshan etc are all Muslim names without Islamic or Arabic basis.
First of all desibanda, your attitude does not seem like you wish for answers to any of these questions. Seems more like you're just looking for an argument.
Qur'an was revealed in the Arabic language because that was the Prophet's (pbuh) language. So even a child can understand the concept behind it being in Arabic. Why do we pray and try to keep the Qur'an in Arabic if we don't understand it that well? You only need to look at the books that were sent down on other prophets to get an answer to that question. See what happened to the Torah and the Bible when they were translated in different languages. Their whole meaning changed. There was unimaginable deviation in the religions just because of the different interpetations of the texts in different languages. Allah (swt) has promised to preserve the Qur'an and He will INSHALLAH. And even though we have translations of the Qur'an in every language, you can only get the true blessings of the Qur'an in arabic.
Moses (as) had his stalk, Jesus (as) had the blessing of Allah (swt) so he could bring back the dead ... Muhammad's (pbuh) miracle is the Qur'an and you only need to read it to understand that.