Why do you call it frontier?
I’m itching to say something naughty but I won’t
Cos this recipe is from the North West Frontier Province of Pakistan hence frontier karrahi.
Re: Frontier Karrahi
*Originally posted by funguy: *
aik adnaa si koshish... mere kitchen say aapki screen tak...
[thumb=H]karrahi115041_9555032.JPG[/thumb]
Funguy Bhai,
I did try your recipe today and was Gastronamitacilly (SP) in food Heaven, Bloated with meat and Burping Tomatoes all over, waah kiya baat hai, please do share any other simple and tasty recipes you may have.
Aejaz
Frontier Karhai .. is actually made with the Animal Fat (charbi). If you go to namak mandi, they dont use cooking oil, they just use the fat.
Very little spices used but i dont think the food is all that healthy, with the meat cooked in the fat. But its very delicious...no doubt about that.
Nice work. I want some. Very impressive ![]()
Aejaz bhai - I am so glad someone actually tried my recipe out. Thanks man. And it's great that it turned out pretty good.
How long did it take to cook?. It shouldn't have taken more than 45 min to an hour.
Did you eat it with naan and salaad?
And I will definitely post a few more of funguy's signature recipes. In the meanwhile you may try this same recipe with chicken instead of gosht.
Sharaabi - yes you are right but back home they use lamb meat which has lots of charbi. I am not a big fan of lamb as it as this slight smell to it. I use goat meat and so I have to add a lil bit of oil.
This recipe is the exact copy of what i have been
taught, (to make karahi gosht ofcourse). ![]()
And I will definitely post a few more of funguy's signature recipes. In the meanwhile you may try this same recipe with chicken instead of gosht.
I have tried this recipe for Chicken Karhai before, but it would always get messed up. The addition of tomatoes a while after the chicken is added, always causes a big mess. The chicken's all ready but the tomatoes are still secreting their water. The masalaa looks all kacha kacha, and the chickens all cooked.
That looks do dang good!! And I am fasting. I love karahi chicken/gosht because it is so easy to make ![]()
Aejaz bhai - I am so glad someone actually tried my recipe out. Thanks man. And it's great that it turned out pretty good.
How long did it take to cook?. It shouldn't have taken more than 45 min to an hour.
Did you eat it with naan and salaad?
Funguy Bhai,
In fact I had been craving to try that recipe of yours, but only problem was I didnt know where to buy Halal Goat Meat in FL, and as soon as I found a Resource I gave it a Shot.
Now you tell me I should try it with Chicken!!!!!!!
It took me about 1 hour, and I ate it with the ready made desi frozen Naan, (Had No other options - Biwi abhi bhi NJ mein hai).
Anticipating other recipes Men can cook and feel good about it.
Aejaz bhai, are you still in punta gorda? Which other city is close to you?
*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
I have tried this recipe for Chicken Karhai before, but it would always get messed up. The addition of tomatoes a while after the chicken is added, always causes a big mess. The chicken's all ready but the tomatoes are still secreting their water. The masalaa looks all kacha kacha, and the chickens all cooked.
It will always come out this way , If you are CUI (Cooking Under the Influence)
*Originally posted by Lusi: *
Aejaz bhai, are you still in punta gorda? Which other city is close to you?
Lusi,
Yes I am still in Punta Gorda, and Inshallah my Family will also be joining me in about a week to 10 days time, lets see other cities around here are,
- Ft Myers is about 30 miles south of here
- Tampa is about 100 miles north of here
- Miami, Orlando etc are also not too far, but I dont know the exact milage.
So Fort Myers is like 35-45 minutes from your city. I have found these two desi stores a in Fort Myers. you can call and check with them. They might know if any others desi stores are in that area.
India Bazaar
5240 Bank St,
Fort Myers, FL, 33907
Ph: (941) 939-0797
India Palace
11605 S Cleveland Ave
once i had this nwfp chicken and damn man...munou tey sihttah hein sihttah lagee rahee for a couple of days..
I tried this recipe
it was really tasty.. hubby loved it .. yumm yumm
thanx fo sharin..
[thumb=H]DSC03515_5055411.JPG[/thumb]
Re: Frontier Karrahi
I tried funguy's recipe yesterday and it was really good. 5 ingredients in total, how much more simpler could it get?? And it tasted really yummy! Thanks for sharing fungo.