From Rasoi ghar to Kitchen

With the passage of time, we started using new terms (from new languages) for Rasoi and items used therein.

Lets discuss, what are the names of Rasoi and items used in Rasoi in sub-continent’s and nearby areas.

Share names of Kitchen (Radh-no in Sindhi) and following items:

Tawwa (Ta’o in Sindhi)

Bailan (Vailan)

Chakla (not that red light district wala) :emmy: Its Chak-ro in Sindhi

Chamach (Chamcho in Sindhi)

Handiya (DegRi in Sindhi)

Re: From Rasoi ghar to Kitchen

I did not grow up with the word rasoi in my home.
It was called baawarchi-khaana. :snooty:
Only heard the word ‘rasoi’ in Indian movies.

Chakla, Bailan, Tawa, Chimta, Handiya, Degchi, Chamcha...

Pressure cooker, blender, microwave oven, oven, juicer.... madran Kitchen....

Bawarchi Khana....

Cooker is pronounced kukkarr. :hehe:

Daigchi is also called Pateeli.

The original desi word was Rasoi.. Bawarchi-Khana came much later (probably with Mughals).

fry pan

They say it 'bighona' as well. different names degchi, handia, pateela, bighona, etc

Never heard bighona.

Sansi

[to hold hot pateelis]...it it looks like "( )" this with a handle. it sits around the rim of the pateelis [deGhchiis]

PaTra

it's a wooden flat plank with two short legs at either end for support.

Kalchhuli

it's a bowl like small frying pan with a long handle...ideal for frying egg [suuny-side up] one at a time or baghaarofying daal

filHaal itnaa hii...ba'd meN mazeed likhuNgaa. iA.

i think the word is 'bhagona'...i used to call it bhagola when i was a kid. :D

deGhchii aur bhagona do muKhtalif zuruuf haiN...deGhchii has a narrow mouth while bhagona has a wide mouth [as wide as it's base]. :)

pictures please

GhaRonchi (Ghara-manji in Sindhi). Have you people ever saw that?

http://www.pendubande.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/ghara.jpg

Rasoii is a Hindi word and in India Muslims never use this word…we always called it baawarchii Khaana [jab k baawarchii nahiiN huaa kartaa thaa, biwii/maaN/bahen hii baawarchan thiiN :cb:]

ham log poorbii zabaan meN “choolhe” [a place where the choolha is located] kahte the.

ziyaada tar log Ghalat talaffuz ke saath “babarchi-khana” [khana as in food] lahte haiN.

those locals who converted to Islam, might have used that for decades.

Familiar with none of these. :)

i had this in my house in the village and i’ve seen so many different types of it as well.

ham log ise ghiraoNchii kahte the…

we also used to have wooden stand for mid-size maTkaa for drinking water. it had 3 legs hence the name “TIPAAYII”

burger kiya jaane desi-pun :snooty:

Do you know what is ‘jhaan-wa’?

Yes… Pani ka matka… I saw it in neighbor’s home who was Sindhi…